We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT times !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #30 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Convenient and beautiful location in Sanya with a very friendly atmosphere, I obviously had a great time ! The hotel organizes some outdoor activities and excursions, I had the chance to go for a day at Houhai for sea activities and we had an awesome time. Will DEFINITELY be back !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinziPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

It's a sensible choice if you won't spend all your money on those 5 star hotels! We choose the double room because it's really cheap, but what we get has far more exceed our expectation! Tidy, tidy, tidy! That's very important! Very beautiful view at night from our room. There's a long balcony outside with tables and chairs. I love this place! You got some drinks, sitting outside at night, talking with people and seeing the whole city views.....that's lovely.....After back from a tiring day, Vincent and I like to stay in the game room playing pool or watching movies... I just want to say every thing is so lovely here, the decorations, layout and the owner Justin. He knows everything about Sanya and is very willing to help...like where to eat the best and cheapest seafood aha! Anyway, we got a very sweet memory in Sanya! It's a nice city ! We will come back and stay here as well! Thank you Justin.

Room Tip: I don't the other rooms, but we both satisfied with the double room. tidy, good view, comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tt-say-hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just went here with 10 friends for vacation. If you are looking for a 4+ star vacation resort, this hostel is not for you. However the experience that you can get from the super friendly staff is unmatched. Justin and Pablo know all of the best local places to get things like massagers, night clubs, and watersport activities. In addition, they do their best to make sure that you dont get ripped off by tourist traps.

The lodging itself isn't much to say, but it is comfortable and homely. The Hostel staff treats you like family, making your stay at the raintree hostel a very personal experience. You come to considering Justin and Pablo as your friends who come to define you experience in Sanya.

If you are looking for a fun time in Sanya, I highly recommend that you hit up the Raintree Hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trapizoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintreehostel, Owner at Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

hey guys, thanks for the great time we had in Sanya, really happy you know you guys. hope see you some other time in Sanya or USA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hello everybody!
This hostel is just awesome. With taxi you are in less than 5min at the beach and pay only 5 yuan. The hostel itself is a really cool place to be at... They have a bar, a billard pool and a nice terrace, where you have a great view over Sanya. But most important, the guys in this hostel are very cool, nice and help you whereever they can, and they can give you serious information about what to do on Sanya and what not. When I was on Sanya it was my birthday and in the evening they even made a birthday cake for me! What a surprise!
For that cheap price the rooms are quite good, you can also wash your clothes there. And you can also order very delicious food in the hostel for little money. All in all, a place which I would definitely recommend to everybody!
Michael

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mduke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintreehostel, Owner at Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thanks Michael, it seems you are traveling around China, Best wishes for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

i highly recommand Raintree Hostel is the best hostel for the surfers in Sanya, the hostel owner- Justin is a surfer too, he has a bunch of surfing friends who come from all over the world. Justin knows all the surfing spots on the island, introduces me lots of cool friends there. i really had way much fun to stay there with Justin.
Raintree hostel is the one of the hostel i have ever stayed in China, very professtional, english speaking stuffs always help me out with their big smile. i feel like a home away from home. price is reasonable, every where is clean.

thanks for all your guys again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinaloneywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintreehostel, Owner at Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

thanks man, we really had great time in the water ")))

wish you luck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

It's the place to stay for the convenient location, great people, clean rooms, wonderful bar and nice game room, I just want to say everything is great.
The staff there are friendly and honest folks. Rooms and toilets are being clean regularly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend anyone from staying there.
P.S. if you don’t want to go out to eat, the Chinese food is worthy to try, YUMMY!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank Amanda-Tian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel is amazing! All the staffs are really friendly people and they will provide you all the information you need. They make me feel like at home! Rooms are very clean and comfortable while the balcony bar is absolutely great to chill, relax after beach, meet new friends or research a job on internet. The hostel is really close to everything, just 5 min. walk from the Bar Street, bus stop and supermarket. Coconuts are everywhere! If you are also interested in surfing, ask Justin, he is a surfer, very passionate about his job. I definitely recommend it!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank Lee-jie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Palmena Apartment
#117 of 1,373 in Sanya
17 reviews
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
MGM Grand Sanya
#18 of 1,373 in Sanya
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel

Address: F4 Shanshui Yuntian Plaza, No.46 Hedong Road, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: $13 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel, located at the centre between Sanya downtown and the famous resort beach Da Dong Hai. The hostel, facing the Sanya River, is surrounded by mangroves on both side, which is also known as “The Egret Nature Reserve”, which parallels with flourishing raintrees on each side of Sanya River East Rd.It is only few steps away from the newly opened international shopping mall (supermarket, karaoke, sushi bar and local special products, bar street, and duty free superstore famous for luxury brands. Cross the river and there is a popular market named “the first market”. It is well known as the cheapest market, not only for the local snacks, tropical fruits and seafood, but also for all kinds of daily necessities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing