We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hardware not matched by software.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Sanya Resort
Ranked #19 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hardware not matched by software.”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rooms were large and had the basic amenities that you would expect from a five-star hotel. Service was a bit patchy depending on how harassed the staff were. There was a marked improvement in service standards after the busy weekend, Overall, service level was not on par with other Inter Continental asian hotels.
One thing that irked me was the lack of attention to details. Service stations at the restaurants looked terribly scruffy and even dirty, Staff uniform was also dirty. When I asked a staff who was standing around for children's utensils, she pointed vaguely to a table across of the room instead of offering to bring them to our table which is what you would expect for other Inter Continental hotel. It was not like she was busy with something because she continued to stand at the same position chatting to another staff behind the counter, Staff at Inter Continental Club were not particularly helpful or warm. We arrived between the tea and happy hours but no one stepped out to ask if they could help us. They just continued to go about their tasks without making eye contact. Tables at this "exclusive" area were not cleared promptly and we had tot request for this to be done.. At the club level of other hotel chains, this is the minimum and usually one gets a little more pampering which was absent here.
In summary - good location and hardware not matched by service standards worthy of other IHG hotels in Asia.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stlow27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey R, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear stlow27
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. Your detailed feedback will help us to improve the consistency of our service standards .I apologise for the service shortfalls that you experienced during your stay. However I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the facilities at our Resort. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    118
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
92
71
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

If There would have been no construction work around the beach and hence killing a bit the atmosphere off could give 4*...compared to intercontinental koh samui hotel breakfast more good and evening have the executive lounge really nice .. Suite room great with outdoor shower and a lot of great Italy designer lotions...overall the beach view is just ok and swimming in sea not really nice therefore 3

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey R, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear bumsii
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. It is nice to hear that you compared us to the Intercontinental Koh Samui which is also a spectacular resort. The Serenity Coast is a new luxury destination in Sanya and there are some new developments nearby as you mentioned . We hope that you can return in the future so that we can exceed your expectations and gain a full five stars from you. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is one of the flagship resorts of Intercontinental's resorts in Asia, the resort occupies over 130k square meters and has its own beaches and a number of beach restaurants, the resort even has a Chinese restaurant built on the piers extending to the sea.

We have stayed two nights at this resort. The resort offered special discount for ambassador members to upgrade to the club room, so we upgraded our room to the club floor with less than US$100 per day. The club lounge of this resort is worthy, the breakfast and happy hours are better than the club lounge of many other IHG hotels. In addition, the lounge is around the beach but also in a quiet area, thus making the lounge a very cozy place.

Although the resort has been built for years, the rooms are still well furnished, especially the balcony and the bathroom are very spacious. We even had a Jacuzzi pool at the balcony though it was too cold when we were there.

The location of the resort is relatively isolated so that the beaches are mainly for resort guests, whilst the resort is also not far from the Sanya downtown.

In all, we have stayed a very wonderful two days at the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popodino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey R, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear popodino
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. As an Intercontinental Ambassador member it is our pleasure to have you staying with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the Club Intercontinental benefits and the serenity of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was really a fantastic resort, my 5-year-old son is very happy with the pool and kids club, especially entertainment room. This was a very relaxing stay which was made by the pleasant staff and the comfortable rooms and hotel facilities.

Upon check in, the staff were very pleasant to provide welcome drinks and candy for kids. The room was quite big and clean, private and homelike. The kids club provide many attractive activities, my son loves all of them. The free shuttle bus service to Dadonghai area and duty free shop made it convenient to see different parts of Sanya. There was also a small supermarket within a very short walking distance, convenient for buying some snacks when necessary.

Breakfast is very good and delicious, there are so many fresh fruits and many kinds of food, you could also sit outdoors, facing the sea to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast with your family.

I will strongly recommend not just only my friends, even those who is looking for quite place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey R, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Nancy Z
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and the service. It was great to see your 5 year old enjoying the kids club and the games room. I will pass on your kind feedback to our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Pleasantly surprised even we expected the consistent intercontinental service but still must admit that this particular resort excelled. On its own private beach with different areas with resaurants and bars, pools and spa catered for every need. Only downside was the other guests seemed too excited running around shouting loudly spoilt the place could be a piece of paradise on the island.

Room Tip: Those water rooms overlooking the pound with huge verandah could be very relaxing without noisy neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey R, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Ynhchina
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and Resort facilities. I apologise for the unruly behavior of some guests. If we know about this we speak to these guests and ask them to be more considerate of others. Happy Chinese New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Four magic days in paradise, arriving Christmas day and leaving on 29th December. My family of three stayed in a Club room, which provided generously for breakfast, late lunch, and dinner/drinks - all included in the club room rate.

Billy in the Mediterraneano Restaurant (I think he was the manager) couldn't do enough for us - the service all around was exactly what you'd expect of a 5-star Hotel of this calibre.

Used most of the facilities including the Gym (pretty decent selection of new cardio equipment), and a couple of fun evenings in the Beer Factory where they brew beer on site (try the lager!). Some pool tables on the 3rd floor which I think few people had discovered because they looked brand new.

Best of all - plenty for the kids to do while Mum and Dad enjoy of coffee or sleep in. Hot pool, games room, and kids activities on all day.

Combining this great resort with the first-class golf courses available on the island made for a magic time in paradise.

An unforgettable family holiday experience. Will definitely be back in 2014.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_72n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey R, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear NigelC497

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the room and facilities of Club Intercontinental. Thank you also for your kind comments about our team and in particular Billy Zhu our Restaurant Manager. I will pass on your appreciation. Happy New Year and we hope to spend Christmas with you and your family again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Every winter, we are all going to Sanya for a few days, lived almost all of Sanya's five Stars Hotel, but almost only select this hotel for recent two years, since the rooms are very large, hotel is beautiful, the staff were warm and friendly, the food is also very good. In order to avoid the serious air pollution in Shanghai this year, I was alone with my two babies lives in the past two weeks, one year old daughter and three years old son, in those two weeks, hotel staff gave me a great help, to remember everything I need, offering to help look after the children, the children to drink milk, i need extra water, are all available. Lunch at the restaurant, though on the menu I'd like porridge for breakfast is provided, but the restaurant chef is still cooked for my baby. Kids very happy playing here.my son was crying the day we have to leave, and I promise I'll bring them back soon, to play in the kids's Club, went swimming in the heated swimming pool, you can also go to the beach playing in the sand, Yes, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey R, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Jingduval
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort.
We are very happy to welcome you and your lovely family back each winter. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our facilities and our team. Sanya has the freshest air in China and it is a very healthy place for your young children to enjoy their holidays. We look forward to seeing your young family return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#3 of 1,330 in Sanya
913 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanya Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanya Resort
Address: No.1 Zhouji Road, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#5 Business Hotel in Sanya
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#7 Family Hotel in Sanya
#17 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#41 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sanya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanya Resort occupies one of the most beautiful locations in Sanya – Xiao Dong Hai. Surrounded by pristine white sands and majestic mountains, this resort offers guests inspiring views from every room. Beautiful water features and water gardens throughout the resort create a serene yet stylish ambience. InterContinental Sanya Resort offers 343 rooms including 24 beachside villas, and guests can lounge in four swimming pools, dine in seven restaurants and bars, unwind in our soothing SPA InterContinental or choose from one pillar free ballroom and seven inspiring meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sanya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sanya Hotel Sanya
InterContinental Sanya Resort Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing