We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to be away ..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Sanya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
InterContinental Sanya Resort
Ranked #20 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Place to be away ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I was deliberating between mandarin and IC to b nearer to the city. I finally chose IC and I was sure I made the right choice when I arrived. I had a sea room view and it was gorgeous to b waking up to see the sea. Loved the design of the hotel, loved that the place wasn't packed like other resorts, didn't want to feel like I was in Disney land. Had some problems with housekeeping that never turned up when we asked for it. U're most likely to b isolated from the rest of the world as Transport is difficult if not expensive.This place wouldn't be too suitable for families with kids, not much activities too but if u want a quiet, beautiful, relaxing place. This is it!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babyhush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyRyan, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Babyhush

Thank you for your comments and suggestions regarding your recent visit to the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. You definitely made the right choice in visiting our resort over the other resort you mentioned. Our team will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing holiday. I have relayed your comments about Housekeeping and we will work hard to improve our speed of service. We also appreciate your feedback regarding childrens facilities and activities. We do have a wonderful kids club called Planet Trekkers and we have taken steps to let our guests know more about Planet Trekkers daily activities. Thanks again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Sanya Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    115
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
85
69
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent a week at this beautiful resort and had a magnificent stay. Good restuarants, beatiful pool areas and generally top-notch physical product.

The service was mostly very good, but the property needs to work on consistency in their service delivery. Also, I'm surprised that the staff at an international resort does not speak better Englsh, but if you're used to traveling in Asia it's not a huge problem.

Would I recommend this property to a friend? Definetly!

Room Tip: Staying for a few days? Ask if you can see the view from the room, as some of them have better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian_Nils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyRyan, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Nils
Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. Our team will be very pleased to hear that you so enjoyed our restaurants, pools and modern design of our award winning resort. Your comments regarding service consistency and english language speaking skills have been communicated to our team and we will take action to improve these areas immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Sanya Resort very soon. Geoffrey Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
212 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had no initial plan to stay in Intercontinental. Our earlier trip elsewhere was cancelled and we had to quickly decided where to go. This hotel had available rooms + cost was reasonable, so this was sort of no brainer. And TripAdvisor reviews were quite encouraging. So we thought let's have a try at IC Sanya resort. We did stay in 2 different rooms during our stay (Sky garden & Club floor).

The pros
- Hotel is 30 minutes drive away from the airport
- Sanya town is nearby = easy access to local restaurants & shops
- Food prices are ok (restaurant + room service)
- Rooms itself are quite decent (both Sky and Club room)
- Sea view from Sky garden room is ok (but with limitations, see cons)
- Sky garden room's toilet and bath area is quite spacious
- Swimming pools are decent
- Gym is ok
- Service at breakfast was ok + espresso good enough

The cons
- Nobody helped me to unload my luggage when we arrived
- Check-in itself did not make us particularly welcomed
- Higher floor Sky garden rooms do have ok sea view, but what you see is not that exciting
- Sky garden room's toilet has transparent door & walls = it is like sitting in acquarium
- Club level room felt somehow smaller than announced, toilet could have had more sun light + there was slightly unfresh mouldy odour.
- View from 2nd floor Club floor room was modest & the roof garden itself "was lacking the garden part" (add some flowers, colourful fishes etc. please)
- We had many small ants in room (no big deal itself)
- Twice our key cards stopped working
- I saw small girl around 2 years old running almost to one of the swimming pools from her room, which is nearby the children's slide. Would assume these rooms are not ideal for families with small children
- During first day we had to wait 15 minutes outside, in order to get free table at breakfast
- Breakfast itself in Mediterraneo was very uninspiring
- Orange juice... Well we had at least three different juices during our stay (some directly from the carton)
- Drinks were expensive, but that would be the case in similar other Sanya hotels
- Service was not even close to Intercontinental's normally great service level I have experienced outside China (e.g. nearby Hong Kong)
- Construction nearby did disturb us especially in mornings (affects Sky garden room's main building still for longer period of time)
- I did calculate at least 11 cranes on sight when watching from hotel's seafront
- Nearby area did have some rubbish, which was later cleaned (see the picture I enclose)
- Public beach directly in front of the hotel was practically not swimmable (plenty of rocks)
- Beach was also rather ugly (low tide during afternoon)
- Hotel takes 0 responsibility of any incident related to beach and I could understand that - I did spot lot of glass (assume from bottles) + all kind or rubbish including some pieces of glass (it is public beach, but in practice really connected to hotel property)
- Hotel's Chinese restaurant (Sea Pavillion) looked like some army barrack on top of the sea (shame on designer, see the pictures)

I would not recommend this hotel for somebody who is planning a relaxing holiday in Sanya & is looking for ideal value for money. There are clearly better options available. And I think they all are in Yalong bay. Xiao dong & Da dong bay areas are not nice looking in general + beaches are on bad side. I have never felt it takes too much time to pendel between Sanya and Yalong bay in any case. I would rather select best resort with best beach & when necessary opt to go for town.

Summa summarum: I think IC has made several cardinal errors with this hotel. To us property gave feeling of something is missing. Rather it is wasted opportunity vs. reaching the full potential this development could have. Hotel did also lack the resort feeling. In general architecture was on cold side. My better half was wondering why they have so few flowers in their area? Good question.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms, which are close to nearby construction (western end of main building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyRyan, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Abramis
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed feedback on your recent stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. Unfortunately we experienced some very bad weather during your stay with typhoon warnings. The sunshine has returned now and there are many beautiful flowers blooming throughout the resort. I appreciate your feedback regarding your arrival experience and your thoughts on breakfast. Our team has considered your comments and are working very hard to improve these areas. Again I thank you for your thoughts and critiques, it is through concerned guests like you that help us to continually improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Sanya Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Your jaw drops the moment you step in, and this is just the room. The view simply eyecatching and to be enjoyed from your own private balony or jetted bathtub. I'm still smiling thinking about it. The service is friendly and professional, with smiles and excellent english. This resort was still in the midst of construction, when I stayed with my fiance and friends, and we were wowed when the door opened. The room is one of the best laid out I have stayed in, and everything from the taps in the bathroom to the button console for the sunshades and balcony nightlights, made the stay worthwhile. The devil is in the detail and this room hit every mark.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyRyan, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Ian G
We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your recent stay at the Intercontinental Resort Sanya. It is true what you say that the views from the rooms of the tranquil turquoise coloured sea are breathtaking. I hope they stay in your memory until your next visit. Our team are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed their service and also our unique guest rooms. Please come back soon we look forward to welcoming you back. With best regards Geoffrey Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in Intercontinental Sanya during Christmas holiday for five days. We even celebrated the New Year’s eve there. The hotel was just opened for a few months when we came there. Everything was still so new and was not too organized yet. All staffs were very friendly and they tried very hard to do their best. Unfortunately many of them didn’t speak English at all, such those who took care of the swimming pool, the room cleaning service, etc. Some of the restaurants waiters and waitresses spoke very minimal English. It was a bit difficult to communicate. But we could see how hard they tried to give good service. The cleaning service in the morning was always a bit late. There’s no turn-down service in the evening, which was very unusual for a five-star-hotel.
As an Ambassador member, we got an upgrade to a clubroom. The room had a little bit of seaview but too far in the distance so we couldn’t really see it. It also had a plunge pool in front of the room. But the area around the plunge pool was very dusty. The water in the plunge pool was also very cold.
We got very good breakfast every morning as well as very relaxing tea time in the Lounge Club Intercontinental. We liked to have our breakfast and the tea time there as the club house was directly on the beach, a very relaxing place to spend the time with the family. There were not too many choices but good enough as it came for free.
We arrived very late on the first day. After checking-in, etc. we wanted to have dinner in the Asian Village restaurant. Despite it was almost closed, they were still willing to let us in and order whatever we wanted to eat. We appreciated very much. We also had our New Year’s eve dinner in the Mediterranean restaurant. The buffet was not too amazing.
On New Year’s eve there was a little celebration on the beach for all guests of the hotel. It was very nice and the weather was perfect. We enjoyed it very much.
The swimming pools were all nice. We used the one with warm water more often. It was more crowded than the others but there were always enough towels and sundecks for everybody.
The beach was not so amazing as it was rather rocky, so we couldn’t really swim in the sea. Moreover it was winter time, the sea water was also not too warm.
I used the spa once and it was fine. The spa area was very nice but the offers could be more vary.
Upon check-out it was a bit chaotic. We called the concierge to pick our luggage up but it never arrived in the receptionist area until one hour later. We got very mad because we had to catch our flight and the route from the hotel to the airport was very busy with lots of traffic jam. The front office staffs couldn’t even make the luggage to come faster than one hour.
What we also didn’t like was that the lobby area was always full of smoke. People who were sitting around there mostly smoking. It was very unpleasant for us as we brought a three years-old child and we’re all non-smokers.
However we had a good holiday there. Once we took a local tour with a private tour guide from a private tour company to drive around Sanya, had dinner outside the hotel and saw how the locals lived.

Room Tip: A very nice resort directly by the beach, very good for family holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O-Rular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyRyan, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear O-Rular
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. We continually strive to improve our services throughout the Resort. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities at Club Intercontinental - a hotel within a hotel. We do have turn down service in all of our rooms now every time. I have informed our Concierge team about your experience with your luggage delay and we are taking action to improve this speed of service particularly during busy periods. Once again thank you for your feedback and we all look forward to you returning to the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. With best regards Geoffrey Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just returned from our two-day stay at InterContinental Resort Sanya. Absolutely amazing from start to finish. The GM and hotel staffs here treat us like family and make us feel special. The food was excellent with different flavors of Asian, Chinese and European cuisine, all very good value. This hotel is not far away from downtown but has a private long beach, even though it's not as good as Yalong bay, but it's a perfect location for enjoying sunrise and sunset with a glass of Champagne at Executive lounge. There are a few nice pools surrounding, the ambience is totally relaxed and rustic. If you are trying to escape from stressful reality, just go here and find kinds of peace from your heart

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenYangSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyRyan, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear HelenYang
Our team will be very happy to hear that you felt special and also part of our big family here at the Intercontinental Resort Sanya. We are always adding to our menus with different monthly promotions to keep the menus fresh and creative. As you mentioned we serve complimentary Moet Chandon champagne in our Club Intercontinental so you can enjoy the sunset in style. Once again we are very happy that you "escaped" from your busy life at the Intercontinental Sanya Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. With best regards Geoffrey Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

When we planned our stay on Hainan, first of all we expected to find a calm place where we could spend several days after busy Beijing and Hong Kong. So we chose Intercontinental for several reasons: 1. We stayed in Intercontinental on Bali last year and it was amazing 2.This is the newest hotel - it was opened only a year ago, so it was a great chance to live in a new hotel 3. This hotel stands separately from all other hotels.
When we arrive we were surprised as we were moved to the Water garden room instead of a normal room! The room was so nice. It was so spacious and it is divided into several parts. So we had a big bathroom with two separate showers (one of them was on the open air), big living room and the great terrace with the big sofa and great view to the sea and water garden.
We dreamed about the calm hotel but this hotel surpassed all expectations! It was so peacefull and ...empty. Myabe that was like that because of low season, but all swimming pools were empty or there were maximum five people!
The territory of the hotel is very big and beautiful. It is decorated with different gardens, pools and pavilions.
The breakfast was very nice with plenty of different dishes (mostly asian) with fresh juices and tropical fruits. Also we had a great meal at the Asian Village - the restaurant of asian cuisine with a big choice of dishes! If you want to go outside for a dinner - there are many local restaurants only 5 minutes away from the hotel by the taxi!
The staff was very polite and kind. If you need smth they will help you immediately!
As for the beach...We were a bit dissapointed by the beach as we are the fans of the sea and this is very important for us. The beach is quite big, but there is only a small enclosure where you can swim. And the other parts of the beach are rocky with a big quatity of stones. So if you are looking for the beach resort , I suppose that you won't be satisfied.
Totally I can say that we had a great and relaxing holidays - just what we wanted! Hope to come back again one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyRyan, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Erya82

Thank you for writing such a detailed summary regarding your recent stay at the Intercontinental Resort Sanya. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed the resort for its Serenity and peacefulness. Even when the hotel is busy there is always a sense of space and calmness due to the unique design and architecture. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast with the selection of freshly squeezed tropical juices. The Asian Village restaurant that you enjoyed continues to produce fresh and innovative menus to reflect the flavors of Asia and the Pacific. We hope you can return soon to the Intercontinental Resort Sanya where peace and calm paradise awaits you. With best regards Geoffrey Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanya Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanya Resort
Address: No.1 Zhouji Road, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#5 Business Hotel in Sanya
#7 Family Hotel in Sanya
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#18 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#44 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sanya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanya Resort occupies one of the most beautiful locations in Sanya – Xiao Dong Hai. Surrounded by pristine white sands and majestic mountains, this resort offers guests inspiring views from every room. Beautiful water features and water gardens throughout the resort create a serene yet stylish ambience. InterContinental Sanya Resort offers 343 rooms including 24 beachside villas, and guests can lounge in four swimming pools, dine in seven restaurants and bars, unwind in our soothing SPA InterContinental or choose from one pillar free ballroom and seven inspiring meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Sanya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sanya Hotel Sanya
InterContinental Sanya Resort Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing