We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort to stay if you are in Sanya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
Ranked #32 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great resort to stay if you are in Sanya”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Howard Johnson Sanya is a great place to stay if you are in Sanya. The rooms are generally clean and comfortable. The swimming pools are huge. There is also a heated indoor pool for those night and early morning swims. The walk to the public Sanya beach is around 10 minutes. There is a underground passageway to link the hotel to the beach. The buffet breakfast serves both local Chinese food as well as Western items such as cereals, sausages, ham, bacon, eggs and salads. Although the choice are rather limited. Price for the breakfast is RMB138++. Dinner in the Chinese restaurant was not too bad. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. For 5 adults and 2 kids, we spent around RMB500 to RMB800 for dinner with around 5 to 7 dishes. Although the chambermaids did forget to replace towels etc when cleaning the rooms, you can easily call housekeeping to request for them. In the night when dining at the restaurants, the mosquitoes are really a nuisance, although not a fault of the hotel. You can request the waitress in the restaurant to lit a mosquito repellant coil to be placed under your table. Taxi to downtown Sanya Jiefang Street costs RMB30. The conceirge can arrange the taxi for you. The conceirge can also arrange for day tours to Nanshan and Tianya Haijiao. Costs RMB288 for a full day tour.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    317
    58
    15
    15
See reviews for
71
62
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Spent 12 days here with 2 sons. At no small cost. Total let down as kids club, though supervised (by a non-English speaker) charges 60RMB per hour if you don't stay there with your kids. So not babysitting, just paying someone for what they are doing anyway. For this sum we had one child sent off alone to use a gents' toilet, and then one 5 days later smacked twice! No English movies.
The service directory lists a whole range of "kids activities" e.g. sand castle building, kite flying, treasure hunt but apparently these do not exist and never have. They are made up by the sales and PR dept and no amount of showing this to the managers made anyone feel like they ought to provide what they offer. I got a fruit basket. Big deal. They senior management here simply do not care.
English is very poor in this hotel, probably due to it being a franchise of HOJO with no International Management. The GM cannot even speak English.
Gardens are nice - pools are good though all the mosaic bubbly benches, stone snail fountains and kids slides are inexplicably out of use... Room décor nice, but family suites do NOT have an ocean view as they are titled - they are on the back of the hotel corners, only 2 per floor. (13 floors tall)
The hotel is far from Sanya city (30 RMB in taxi called by hotel or 11 on the meter!), and you can't walk anywhere apart from to the beach (10-15 min) which is public and allows cars, quads, trikes and argo kats to zoom between the water and sunbeds! Pearl and fruit sellers are a pest and I had to ask the hotel staff to clear a bed for me which was occupied by these vendors!
Housekeeping of room was very shoddy – every day something would be left unreplaced, robes, flannels, mosquito tablets, bath mats. One day they hadn’t even made the bed. The wood floors were so dusty off the thoroughfares, you could write in the dust. When you complain, they don’t understand, so hardly worth it. Anyway, my list could go on further but I have to pack to leave tomorrow – not a day too soon!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank limebluepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Our trip was six nights. We stayed first at a resort in Dadonghai for three nights before moving to Howard Johnson.

Howard Johnson is a great resort with loads of amenities. Spa rooms are nice. Fish spa is a must try at CNY 30 for half an hour. Hotspring whirlpool also a must try. The heated indoor pool is very good except some may feel the water is too hot at 37c.

Private tunnel direct to public beach so no need to cross street. Beach sand quality not as good as Dadonghai Bay but here there are motor tricycles that can take you along the beach area. Jetski is a must try as it is quite affordable here is Sanya at CNY 180 for 10 minutes ride. We booked with our online travel agent which also included a free Jetski and 45 minutes spa

Breakfast restaurant is too crowded and food is average quality. It is better to take room service than having breakfast in the restaurant unless your package includes breakfast.

Location is not central so need to take 15 CNY taxi to restaurants which are about 7 km away from hotel but still worth the ride as food are much cheaper and at good restaurants.

Free shuttle to/free airport which is about 15 minutes away. There is free shuttle to downtown but there is nothing to see anyway in downtown.

Overall excellent experience at Howard Johnson Sanya.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We really enjoyed our time at the Howard Johnson Resort. It was nice, clean and had some great views. However, we did have to make a few complaints during our stay and we're not sure they were taken very seriously. We made 2 complaints about the same elevator (in the East Wing by the Hot Spring Pool) because it suddenly stopped and shook at the 9th floor on two separate occasions on our way up to our room on the 12th floor. The second time it happened, the elevator went to the 9th floor then descended to the 5th...we didn't even get to the 12th floor! They told us an engineer would look at it but we're not sure if that happened...scary! So, we avoided that elevator. The breakfast buffet in the mornings was great as were most of our experiences eating at the resort, however, we did have a few negative incidents including being served ROTTEN parmesan cheese which was compensated by serving another paste which was very undercooked and not very tasty...chunks of butter were found all through the carbonara sauce. A second incident at the same restaurant (The Four Seasons Cafe) was having a beef tenderloin ordered medium come out too overcooked - beyond well done! It took an hour for this to be served to begin with and it wasn't that busy - the restaurant cannot cope with too many tables to stay clear if it's busy! The steak was reserved medium but then we were overcharged and it took the staff over 30 minutes to figure out how to fix this problem and the manager was no where to be seen. We also tried the Sunset Caribbean BBQ one night when they had the a la carte menu but were disappointed with the wait time to get some of our food - over an hour and it wasn't very busy - we're convinced they served our food to another table because they were complaining of their bill being too expensive...even though they did eat the food!
All in all though it was still a good experience. The beach could be more relaxing if there weren't women selling pearls or fruit approaching you every 5 minutes but you just have to give a stern "No!" Do not ask how much or touch the pearls IF you want them to JUST GO AWAY!
One huge plus is that the beds are SUPER comfortable! We had some super sleeps and it was hard to leave knowing we'd be coming back to a hard Chinese style bed! :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
2.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
13.8 mi away
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#14 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sonic Resort
Ocean Sonic Resort
#36 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanya Bay Mangrove Tree Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
Address: No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Sanya Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#19 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#29 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Howard Johnson Sanya
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing