We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible place to stay - very run down hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
Ranked #30 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible place to stay - very run down hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The photos look great, the staff, rooms, dinning and the pool is in terrible state. I would recommend to everyone to stay away from Sanya. This hotel is next door to a local tip. Hard to find someone that speak English.

Room Tip: Keep away from the region, no room in the hotel is going to be clean, the locals and the staff of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    316
    57
    13
    15
See reviews for
67
61
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Hojo for 5 nights. It's close to the airport and is one of the better hotels on Sanya Bay.

Hotel has drifted away from western standards in the last few years. Rooms are getting dated, service has lapsed somewhat.

However, the property is beautiful, the gardens are perfectly kept. The 3 swimming pools are excellent.

On the beach side there isn't much going on. Seems like the beach has become more like a highway for people on ATV's. Remnants of Many defunct recreation companies line the beach. Looks like Yalong Bay and the other bays are better options for recreational activities.

One thing to watch out for when traveling to Sanya is the hijacking of room rates when there is some sort of event in town. For instance we had to pay 4 times the highest posted rate for the Hojo for 3 out of the 5 nights we were here.

Folks this hotel is not worth $800 USD per night.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank BD700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

A hotel with OK location in the sense of its clossness to the Airport .. yet the overall outside enviroment is much less "entertaining" compared to its inside / front decoration .. food and room is ok standard but good thing is they have a indoor hotspring pool which helps a lot for those who dont have time to swim in the day time :D

Room Tip: dont pick those near the hotspring pool , that is where all the noise comes from
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakunamatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had a tremendously wonderful time in Sanya at the HoJo Resort. The rooms were great with a great view, very clean! The food was fantastic (esp. the breakfast buffet and Korean Rest.), except the Lobby Bar's drinks were watery and I'd dare not order a "snack" from there... it won't be what you think it might be. The staff was wonderful. When I told them it was our Birthdays they gave us free drink vouchers and put a bday cake in our room! With this stated individuals need to know that just because it states its the Howard Johnson, doesn't make it 100% western. 80% of the tourist here are Chinese, it's in China of course, and the rest are mostly Russian tourist. Expecting English and anything western anywhere in China (other than Hong Kong) is a fantasy. With that said the staff was very pleasant and happy if you could speak a little bit of Chinese and definitely tried their best to speak English when prompted. We will stay here again! No doubt this is the best place to stay in Sanya for the price and location offered!

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are fine. We were on the left so we missed the sunrise (fine with us- like sleeping) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennaalyse14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in a pretty good location. Near Airport which is much better than yalong bay. Staff is nice. Breakfast is ok. Not really western but does the trick.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PEKpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am from South Africa living in Shenyang which is North in China and westerners are very few with minimal English being spoken in the city. Having made a reservation in Sanya I did not expect a western way of life of any sort but at least I expected the hotel to be able to communicate with me.

Not once has anything been straight forward like booking a spa, tennis court etc. The staff just look at you and say they cannot understand, don't even offer to get someone there to help. When you tell them to call someone, you might get lucky and they do, then its still a 50/50 if they understand you else you must make the long journey to reception. I am not fussy and very patient but atleast in Shenyang the people try. The lack of English understanding and willingness to help really makes it difficult and more of a frustration than anything else. (I would expect this from a small cheap resort).

We also booked a seafood BBQ one new years eve where it is advertised that a live Philippine band would play and at 60 dollars I was expecting something good. Food was great, but they took about an hour to replace the salmon which I asked about 10 times to do as I cant eat shellfish, but there was no band and rather a karaoke screen with alot of drunk Chinese men singing so loud it was disturbing. No problems with it but it was not advertised like this and when I asked they, first did not understand, and then just said they sorry. We quickly ate and left as it felt like i was back at varsity.

Overall resort is massive with great pools etc but don't come here if you western....they not interested in you! I have been around the world, live in a city that cant speak English and this is the first time I am not recommending a place so its not that im fussy!

Room Tip: Deluxe sea facing room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clayton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at HoJo Sanya with family. Nice rooms with limited seaview. Location was slightly remote from city centre yet accessible by taxis. Basic gym-room facilities with good breakfast provision. Lots of tour groups from Russia and China yet the breakfast was re-stocked quickly within seconds. Staff were generally attentive. Downside was that there was only one shuttle-bus departure to downtown each day. Bathrooms seems a bit tired, saw some old shampoo bottles at the back end of the tub.

Room Tip: Request for high-level rooms. Those who face the beach will certainly be inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
3.3 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
12.4 mi away
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#17 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Sonic Resort
Ocean Sonic Resort
#31 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
Address: No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Sanya Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#27 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Howard Johnson Sanya
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing