We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanya the good and the not so good”
Review of Banyan Tree Sanya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Tree Sanya
Ranked #9 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Sanya we were there for 4 days. we travel a lot in asia and are living in Dongguan China for many years because our business is there I think we understand luxury resorts as we spent a lot of time in Aman Resorts and also once in Phuket we stayed at the Banyan Tree in a villa with pool
We were supposed to be picked up at the airport, our flight arrived early in the morning no car no one to greet us, finally after calling the resort we got into a taxi and drove to the Hotel. When we arrived the manager was there and she apologized for the mishap, it happens and she was very kind to offer us a spa room till our Pool Villa was ready so we could unwind and relax
The resort is truly beautiful with lush landscaping, our bedroom was spacious and we loved the bathroom with the center isle double sink and outdoor tub
The pool was nice but we felt that it was too enclosed by the tree and really did not get much sun so we never really used it. The separate living room is great and you can have a lovely dinner and relax, my husband is not much of a sleeper so he spent hours in there watching tv and reading
Housekeeping did always a good job, the rooms were always cleaned by the time we came back from the beach
The main pool is typical of most hotels in China, very big but charming and the beach is nice but could use a bit of cleaning, I am very upset when I see plastic even the smaller pieces scattered around and in the water, the hotel management should direct the staff and help keeping the beach cleaner, not their fault it is coming from the see but nonetheless we all should do our part for the environment for me it is vey important
In general everyone was very nice, we understand the challenge with staff and not everyone speaks english and unfortunately we do not speak chinese but they all tried so hard and everyone had a smile we praised everyone from the beach bar and the management and the housekeeping
Although we were there during the May 1st holiday and the hotel we were told was fully booked we saw very few people around the pool or at lunch and dinner
From 6 to 7 you can join the guest and watch the sunset, they serve drinks and snacks very informal and pleasant
What we did not like and we know that this will change but want to mention anyway was the food
Very pricy and not good, the day after we checked in thankfully we were introduced to the new italian chef and he told us about the changes he was making and that is the reason we will come back here because dining well is very important to us
Massimo Miglietta cooked for us a simple fish and it was just what we wanted it tasted so nice we had it again another night
The breakfast buffet was just like any hotels in Dongguan, I understand that this is China so it should have more choices in chinese dishes but for me there was very little to choose from except for eggs and some fruit. The breads was store bought and all the baked pastries really not nutritious and poor quality
For the price of the buffet there should be a variety of home made breads and healthy ones. I like organic food multi grains and I could not find any here, the presentation of the food was not appealing but I am sure that Massimo will do wonders here, he understood my critique
Guest should have the choice to order a la carte if the buffet is not to their liking and I was not able to do so
The room where they serve breakfast or lunch is so different from the mood of the other hotel areas, looks like a generic institutional waiting room with tables, there is not charm anywhere maybe that is why we never saw many guests dining there, i think that you can do better and make some small changes
We loved our stay and we thank everyone who made our stay pleasant. we will come back soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolacohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Sanya, during your recent visit to Hainan Island, and I’m happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. Reading such a detailed review of our property really inspired us. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and the tripadvisor readers and most importantly thank you for the recommendations. Rest assured that points you have highlighted will be addressed with my team.

We glad to hear you loved your stay and that you will be back. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Banyan Tree Sanya.

Tolga Unan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 391 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I drove to this hotel and called the hotel twice for directions
One time I was cut off and amazingly the hotel called me back to make sure I found the hotel
A first for me in china after 30 years!
The villas n pool were the best in Sanya
Only complaint is when we ate by the pool , the food took awhile to get
Seems had to come from the main kitchen
My advice is to keep basic condiments by the pool bar , ketchup etc so do not have to wait
The staff are all very nice n over time will get better n better

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frickyhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Banyan Tree experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was efficient in assisting you in time you were in need. Your comments on the pool bar snacks are well noted and actions will be taken to correct them at once. We thank you for your suggestions and for choosing to spend your holidays in Banyan Tree Sanya.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Regards,
Tolga Unan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chongqing, China
11
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Banyan Tree in Sanya
We were trailing with a large group. I as the others felt they were treated better than everyone else in the group. Very well done and many thanks to the management and staff for making my stay very special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. In Banyan Tree Sanya, we strive to make each guest feel well cared for and appreciated. Our aim is to create an experience tailor made to each guests likings. I am glad to hear that at this occasion, yourself and your group enjoyed our personalized service. Your comments will be shared with the rest of our team for their motivation. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Sunny Sanya.

With my personal wishes,

Tolga Unan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would like to thanks the Management and head concierge (Rocky) for the fantastic service provided during my last Stay.
The food prepared by the chef Massimo was excellent. The room was spacious, clean with a superb swimming pool.
I would like to thank you Tolga the GM for looking after us so well. I will return to your hotel with my best wishes . JP

Stayed: April 2013
Thank PR_HiltonChongqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear JP,

It was a pleasure having you with us. I am glad that to hear that you had an excellent stay in Banyan Tree Sanya. Your review has been shared with the team and your compliments have been transmitted to Rocky and Massimo. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and please do let us know before your next visit to Sanya, we would love to welcome you back to this sanctuary of senses.

With my best wishes,
Tolga Unan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Banyan Tree, Sanya is an amazing resort that provides all the privacy that you want and activities that keep you as busy as you want. The villas are beautiful, well maintained and private. The restaurants are excellent and Massimo is an amazing Chef. Tolga and his staff provided a warm and comfortable style of service that made me feel special throuout my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Banyan Tree Sanya with tripadvisor readers. With only 49 private pool villas sculpted in our tropical garden nested by our private beach, we are able to provide our guests with utmost privacy and a personalized service. Our aim is to make each guests feel special and appreciated throughout their journey with us. I am glad to hear that at this occasion we hit the spot. I will transmit your compliments to Massimo who is indeed an amazing chef. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I, looking forward to welcome you back to tropical Sanya.

Warm personal regards,
Tolga Unan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were in a group golf outing staying three nights at Banyan tree. The room and bathroom was clean and large. The very-private pool was good sized and clean. Our concierge, Rocky, was extremely attentive to the group's needs and all baggage, room assignments, travel logistics were perfectly handled. The grounds are beautiful and quiet. The beach is very clean, and the water calm in late April. We hardly saw other guests, as the total capacity is somewhere around 100 people. The breakfast was varied and fresh, and the one dinner we had at the hotel was elegant and tasty. The staff was friendly and attentive - with "good mornings" from everyone. The only negative I had in three nights was the grounds maintenance crew cutting the grass outside my room before 8am on the first day. I thought that was a little too early.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with tripadvisor readers. I’m happy to hear that you have enjoyed Banyan Tree Sanya. I have already conveyed your compliments to Rocky and he is very pleased to see that his efforts are so well appreciated. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Sanya.

Sincerely,
Tolga Unan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights stay in Sanya as part of a golf outing package organized by Banyan Tree. All I can say is wow! We had 15 people in our group, all expats from Chongqing; twelve golfers. We played at three fabulous golf courses around Sanya. Each course had slightly different terrain. Banyan Tree provided all of the transportation and reservation.

We also arranged to have a private dinner on the terrace next to the lounge bar. The Italian chef, Mossimo (sp?), prepared a very unique 5 course Italian seafood dinner. The food was very delicious in exquisite presentation. Sitting in the evening with slight breeze with soft music created such a wonderful ambience.

My favorite is the private pool villa. We had a deluxe spa villa for my wife and I. Our private pool allow us to enjoy peaceful and relaxing swimming by ourselves. There was a large and lengthy outdoor public pool that we never found time to enjoy. The beach provided several nights of gorgeous sunset. If you love to swim, there are plenty of options. The hotel is quite large but with less than 50 villa. Therefore, you will feel like you have the whole resort to yourself.

The staff was what made it special for me. Anytime, I need assistance or help, I just called the operator ahead of time and everything was ready on-time. One staff, Rocky, stood out particularly. He was always there to greet us even after late night out at nearby bar. He will arrange electric carts to take us from and to our villa. He will ensured our golf bags are properly packed before the game and stored after the game. He always had cold drinks ready for us after a hot day of golf. Rocky's excellent service made our golf outing effortless and very memorable. Special thanks to Tolga on his staff's readiness.

Room Tip: Our villa had a separate living room which could sleep one person. Would be perfect for someone wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marko67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Banyan Tree experience with Tripadvisor readers. I am glad to hear that your stay was excellent and that you enjoyed our facilities and the attentive service of our team. Your comments will be shared with Rocky and with the rest of the team. It always gives us great pleasure to hear our guest’s comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Banyan Tree Sanya.

Warm regards,
Tolga
Tolga Unan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
The Sanya EDITION
#1 of 1,373 in Sanya
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#29 of 1,373 in Sanya
254 reviews
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Sanya

Address: No.6 Luling Road, Luhuitou Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#6 Family Hotel in Sanya
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#57 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $309 - $2,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Banyan Tree Sanya, the first all pool villa resort in China, located at the serene Luhuitou Bay, on the southern coast of Sanya, Hainan Island. With 49 all pool villas set amidst a sculpted tropical lagoon on an expansive 20-hectare estate, the resort is designed as an oceanfront hideaway. It features a contemporary blend of oriental touches and lush tropical design. The resort comes with the awards-winning Banyan Tree Spa and Banyan Tree first hydrothermal complex in Asia. There are signature dining outlets, in-villa dining service and destination dining experience. All the facilities and atmosphere make it a total romantic getaway for wedding and honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Banyan Tree Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Sanya Hotel Sanya
Banyan Tree Hotel Sanya
Banyan Tree Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing