We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible 4 day break from the beijing cold....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Ranked #3 of 1,329 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
beijing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible 4 day break from the beijing cold....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed early November and had a great 4 days break from the cold weather that just started hitting beijing. The rooms are incredible. We got a room with a private 1st floor patio which was really nice to relax in at night and enjoy the stars. The room was very clean, very orderly. However, the plug in the bath of the our room was crooked so unless we left the water on the whole time, we couldn't take a bath. Also, we arranged for a late checkout on our last day and there were repeatedly people knocking on our door asking us what time exactly we were checking out. They clearly needed to open the room for someone else but I felt really rushed and disturbing that people kept asking and asking, even after we told them we had already arranged late checkout.

The breakfast is really great. I loved all the different fruits and fruit juices, and the food variety changed every day. The manager, Quinn, who speaks English fluently, was really friendly and accommodating.

The internet in the room is broadband only and costs way too much, as they do in all 5 star resorts. There is, however, free wifi in the lobby and breakfast restaurant, along with some other places in the hotel, but it doesn't connect very well.

The chinese restaurant is actually really delicious, but the sands bar restaurant wasn't as good as we thought it would be. And the king crab legs on the menu are definitely not king. More like flimsy snow crab. But you can't expect alaskan king crabs in sanya, china....

The infinity pool was disappointing as it just looked into the sand where a bunch of people were playing volleyball or walking around, instead of being elevated more and being able to see into the sea.

Overall, our stay was good, but there is definitely room for change.

Room Tip: The best ones are obviously the villas, if you can fork out the nightly rate. Otherwise, get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tami z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    505
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
172
139
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Three nights wasn't long enough! An outstanding resort in a beautiful location. Spacious room with gorgeous pool and beach views, private balcony, generous bathroom and amenities. The staff were very helpful and willing to go the extra mile. The conference room was air conditioned to a comfortable level, not freezing as many can be, very good acoustics. We were there on a business trip so didn't have much time to enjoy the amenities of the resort, but the one hour by the infinity pool was divine. Sept is a good time to visit to avoid the crowds. There was no pressure on the pool loungers and very few swimming in the pools and ocean. Temperatures in the warm early 30's so a welcome change to the cool of New Zealand winter/spring.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in March 2012, in an Ocean View Club room & had a fantastic stay!

The staff, are truly warm & thoughtful & go out of their way to make you feel special! True 5 star service. Make sure you let them know if you are celebrating a special occasion like a birthday, anniversary etc. The staff organised flowers, a cake & a teddy for my birthday celebration & the staff in the spa sang happy birthday, so sweet.

The club lounge is one of the highest quality executive lounges we've stayed at - 5 separate meals throughout the day, including wines & sparkling wine, beautiful presentation of food & great dessert options!

A big thank you to the club lounge staff, the spa staff & management for a memorable holiday! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle_B_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Pros:
- Friendly staff, good service (changing rooms was no problem, neither was late check out free of charge)
- Spacious, clean rooms
- Restaurants. Even though quite expensive, quality of food is very good
- Artificial beach at one of the swimming pools
- Beautiful gardens

Cons:
- Location. You are forced to stay at the hotel, there is nothing around but other hotels. No local restaurants
- Big resort. If unlucky it will take you 10min alone to walk from your room to the lobby.

In my opinion perfect to stay for a long weekend break.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luuk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

My 3rd visit to this hotel - the last time being 2010 - still a great family destination but rooms/facilities (except beach and spa) starting to show its age. Was upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room which was spacious and easily accomadated our family of four however decor could do with a refresh. The beach is excellent with very few people so sometimes felt we had it all to ourselves! This was a big differentiator for us. Did notice a decline in customer service especially at the buffet for breakfast (good luck with the 2 chefs operating the ommlette bar!!) and also lack of attention to detail ie. we paid for an extra 0.5 day but our keycard stopped working after 12pm! The clientelle this time round definitely heavy on locals where swimming pool manners are not high on the priority list! Ritz still great value but next time may be persuaded to try one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is highly recommended. We have stayed there on for a week on july-august. The service level is great, food is very good. Prices are expencive however its ok for the mentioned hotel and SPA was amazing. We liked everything there, so, its highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFGBaku_Azerbaijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton brands sets a certain expectation and it comes at a price. This hotel was far from it in all regards - except the price! There were repeated problems with the room (bed was dipping in the middle, curtains did not close properly, TV remote was broken, hairdryer was broken, bathrobes did not fit) - I could go on. To add to it, very few of these were resolved at the first request.

The levels of service at check-in were very good, but were not repeated throughout the resort. Service was inconsistent and we were never certain what we would get.

Also found that the cost of food and services was at a premium - to be expected. However, the prices did not match the quality of the food and we were at best moderately satisfied with the food. The spa however was very good and met the expectations of the brand.

The resort is quite large. It was not full, so there was never an issue with getting crowded at any of the facilities or restaurants. However, breakfast did get quite busy on a few of the days.

All in all, this was a reasonable 5-star hotel. But at USD600 a night, this needed to meet all the expectations of a luxury hotel and it came very short. Nowhere near a Ritz-Carlton experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size. Only the views are different. The better the view of the ocean, the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masood_Abdulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,329 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
MGM Grand Sanya
#8 of 1,329 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Sanya Yalong Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sanya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#3 Family Hotel in Sanya
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#48 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 450 rooms with ocean, mangrove and lagoon view, including 66 rooms and suites in club level, 33 villas with private plunge pool. Eight dining outlets "will please discerning palates with signature favorites, seasonal offerings and even personalized dishes and beverages. We also feature a 30,000-sq.-ft. spa and fitness center with 24 treatment rooms; operated by world-renowned ESPA.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Hotel Sanya
Ritz Sanya
Ritz-Carlton Sanya
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing