We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel, smiley staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Ranked #3 of 1,356 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights as part of a conference. The room was large, a bit too far to walk from the bed to the dressing room truth be told, very well appointed and practically faultless. Staff were extremely helpful and always smiling, which makes a change from further north in China.

The hotel is big, you have to walk a long way to the main facilities if you are in one of the outer blocks. But there is a good choice of restaurants. I particularly liked Sands, which is nearest the beach. It has a relaxed atmosphere and very good seafood. The main lobby bar had amplified music on an evening, which was unnecessary and appeared to drive people away because you couldn't hear what anyone said.

The beach is really nice, firm sand, very clean and the water warm an inviting. Golf is available very close by at Yalong Bay. Recommended. Excellent gym at the hotel also.

The only downside apart from the high prices these resorts charge is that you are 20-25 mins away from anywhere that isn't a large resort hotel. Downtown Sanya has some restaurants and nightlife but it is a trek to get there and back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Sanya for 5 days after one week touring China with our daughter 8 years old. The best were the various swimming pools, the italian restaurant (we really did not like the chinese restaurant for breakfast; too overcrowded), the beach and the infinity pool. The worse: sometimes it was hard to make ourselves understood in English!!! as many of the staff did not speak it properly and the scuba diving at the pool for longer than the two hours advertised. Personally we did not stay at the Hilton next door but we went over to rent jet-skis and we did not get a good impression.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devicentem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I only stayed at the ritz here because I heard it ws not the same awful management as singapore. But they seem to be cast from the same stone. The hotel is beautiful. The room is beautiful. The beach is lovely, even though the sea is not clear and blue but ok for swimming. The food is really substandard. I had the thai beef salad, one of my favprite dishes which I've eaten everywhere in the world. Verdict: this may have been the worst ever. The only resemblance to beef is that the original animal had four legs (i presume). Breakfast made me long for McDonalds. The breakfast restaurant is like a zoo. Maybe good food is not available in sanya. Anyway I planned to stay here for three days. But I found out I had to leave a day early so I told the hotel on arrival. They said, "It is our policy to charge you full room rate for the day that you don't stay." Kinda funny in that I'm planning to stay in sanya for a month in january/february and was going to ask them for a monthly rate. But I also have a policy and that is I don't give my business to unpleasant companies. So I'll go next door to the hilton instead.

Room Tip: I got an ocean view room but the poolside rooms looked a little more appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mijev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Second stay my family and I stay at the Ritz-Carlton in Sanya, and we are as satisfied as we were the first time!

Everything at this hotel is GREAT! So I will only mention two things of special note: first, the staff is incredibly nice and helpful, which is not often the case in China; second, the kids playroom is great fun for the kids - not only do they have a lot of good games and activities, but there is also a large shallow outside pool with a slide, which your kids will love.

My wife went for a massage at the spa and said it was very enjoyable - and she is used to getting massages weekly in Beijing at different spas.

Finally, we enjoyed all the restaurants (main restaurant and Italian restaurant). The Italian restaurant stands out and you should definitely give it a try.

Overall, if you can afford it, rain or shine, treat yourself to the Ritz-Carlton in Sanya.

Room Tip: If you can get a Villa, ask for a Garden Villa. Not only are they cheaper than Sea-View Villas, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frédéric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Nice and spacious rooms, lovely selection of fruits. Hotel spa is lovely, staff there is very knowledgeable. Beautiful and clean facilities, beach staff very attentive. The pools are large and water temperature is just right. Housekeeping service was a hit or miss, some paid attention to details, some did not...but they are very friendly. Food in general was just ok...no offense but an american exec chef?? Good luck with that...most food items on the menu lacked real creativity or appeal. I have been to other 5 star properties and you could feel the chef's presence and touch in the food. I didn't come all the way to china for 'american' based food, I can get that enough here...sorry... We did manage to find some nice selections in the sofia italian restaurant, the manager there was very helpful and professional in recommending some food choices and wine...so that eased our frustration a bit.

Service in fresh 8 was slow and quite confusing...but that's another story!

In general staff was friendly in the corridors, always willing to help...did not see many managers around though...maybe they are not very hand's on, but who knows...been to other places where you met GM...his presence was not felt at all (maybe culture difference) ? etc...guess it is different here...just saying....

Room Tip: I like the east side rooms, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asian247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Built to wow the guests and the service is friendly, efficient and courtious. Not rushed, in any way, no sense of mayhem and this is how a resort should leave every traveller. The rooms are well appointed, the staff are engaging and professional. This is a resort you would cross the equator to experience. From beach frontage to breakfast, simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Amazing resort with the best staff. One of my best vacations ever.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noletrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sanya EDITION
#2 of 1,356 in Sanya
582 reviews
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,356 in Sanya
453 reviews
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Sanya Yalong Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sanya
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#46 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $214 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 450 rooms with ocean, mangrove and lagoon view, including 66 rooms and suites in club level, 33 villas with private plunge pool. Eight dining outlets "will please discerning palates with signature favorites, seasonal offerings and even personalized dishes and beverages. We also feature a 30,000-sq.-ft. spa and fitness center with 24 treatment rooms; operated by world-renowned ESPA.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Hotel Sanya
Ritz-Carlton Sanya
Ritz Sanya
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing