We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“hotel in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haikou Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haikou Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4 Haifu Road, Meilan District, Haikou 570203, China (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #200 of 598 Hotels in Haikou
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    69
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
4
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sbs2009
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

bathrooms with standing showers ( the bathtubs area converted to standing showers) huge bathroom.
carrerfour supermarkets located around the corner a very hard walk up
hotel staff can read/speak basic english
smiling bell desk staffs is delightful to give directions, recommend tours, book airport taxis
rooms service is available in the room as they have a in-house F&B outlets
walk in room rate cost more; than a pre book hotel. be prepared to put up with a room deposits they will return you the cash/credit card imprints
new tour in haikou :- eco tourism

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbs2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Iam English and have stayed at this hotel 5 times now and it will soon be 6.
The rooms are clean and acceptable.
The staff are friendly and helpful. and it is reasonably priced. It is a good location for shopping with numerous arcades nearby and even a Carrefour supermarket just around the corner.
There are numerous restaurants and street food places close by.
The best thing is the breakfast. For me it is the best Chinese breakfast in China because I can order whatever I like (Chinese of course) without needing to read or speak Chinese. Don,t take the free breakfast go to the Chinese restaurant and pay. It is not expensive, the service and quality is excellant and the best thing is the menu. There is not one!!!. It is like a dimsum (staff pushing around trolleys loaded with a wide variety of food in small portions) restaurant, so you just need to see what you want and point.
I can not recomend the breakfast too much.
For the breakfast alone this is my first choice hotel in China.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aperol4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

Haikou Hotel is located in the city and is close to the local shopping strip that includes department stalls and IT complex. Also, there is a night market nearby for those looking for bargains.

The hotel is reasonable but do not expect a high standard of service. The rooms are clean and simple but the bathrooms do look like it needed some scrubbing. Mould were found around the bath in the room.

Broadband is available in room which is great but the contents were filtered by the local ISPs.

There check-in was adequate but you do need to have a firm grasp of Mandarin. There is no money changing facillities at the desk but conveniently, there is an ATM machine in the lower lobby.

Hotel caters more for the budget traveller or tour groups.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mox_Fulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haikou hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
167 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Was placed in room 817. The room had wooden floors and was clean. However, its breakfast buffet selection was limited. The main reason to stay at this hotel would be its location right in the centre of the shopping area. I was told that it was a 4 star hotel, but it definitely seemed more like a 3 star hotel, based on the lobby impression and the outer facade of the hotel.

The room was decent - nothing to shout about but nothing in the hotel ruined my stay either. Recommended for a reasonable budget and those looking for a good location. If you walk around the hotel you may find a Carrefour and shopping centre.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — doesnt look like a 4 star hotel
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haikou hotels
0.5 mi away
Hainan Airlines Business Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wanguo Metropolitan Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#197 of 598 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel
Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel
#204 of 598 in Haikou
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lime Holiday Hotel
Lime Holiday Hotel
#29 of 598 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
#158 of 598 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haikou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haikou Hotel

Property: Haikou Hotel
Address: No.4 Haifu Road, Meilan District, Haikou 570203, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou > Downtown , Longhua District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haikou Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Haikou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haikou Hotel Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing