We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly modern class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Haikou Hotel
Ranked #10 of 658 Hotels in Haikou
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Friendly check-in into Sheraton. About 45mins car from airport. Comfortable, modern, well equipped rooms but internet connection in the rooms was extra (one package at RMB20/hr). My room in East Wing smelt a little mouldy? In the heat, it is a long walk to breakfast room in West Wing as you are walking in open area (not air-conditioned) within the Hotel. Food and service were good. Grounds very well maintained. Sea and beach (about 20metres wide) just a few minutes walk though pleasant hotel grounds to the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrysinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear garrysinchina,

Warm Greetings from Sheraton Haikou Resort.

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Haikou Resort and taking the time to share your valuable experiences with us. We are delighted that you have a good time in Haikou and enjoy your Haikou trip!
Sheraton Haikou Resort is the first western chain hotel in Haikou area. She already 6 years old and the landmark of Haikou hospitality industry. The only point is Sheraton Haikou Resort is located at the beautiful west coach and a little far away airport. So my recommedation is that choose the Taxi by meter or book a limo service.

Thank you again for taking your time to share with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards!
Stephanie Zhang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 494 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

In searching for a hotel in Haikou, this Sheraton property was the only Western chain that came up in my search. As a matter of familiarity, I chose to stay here. While the choice was somewhat by default, it turned out to be a good choice. The biggest worry was getting to the hotel by taxi. In retrospect, I would probably arrange for hotel pickup if I had to do it over again. The ride is a relatively long one from the airport. The check-in experience was quite efficient and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was sprawling and the biggest problem I had was finding my way to my room and then remembering how to get back to the lobby. But when I did find my room, I was quite happy with it. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The internet also worked well. The morning breakfast buffet was quite nice with very good variety and quality. Though I did not walk the grounds, from what I could see they were vequite lovely. The price for the room was very fair making this a very good value. I would recommend this hotel if you intend to stay in Haikou.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Debbie K,

Warm Greetings from Sheraton Haikou Resort.

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Haikou Resort and taking the time to share your valuable experiences with us. We are delighted that you have a good time in Haikou and enjoy your Haikou trip!
Sheraton Haikou Resort is the first western chain hotel in Haikou area. She already 6 years old and the landmark of Haikou hospitality industry. The only point is Sheraton Haikou Resort is located at the beautiful west coach and a little far away airport. So my recommedation is that choose the Taxi by meter or book a limo service.

Thank you again for taking your time to share with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards!
Stephanie Zhang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was there for only a night for business and it is ok to me. Honestly the hotel is a little be dated and the photos from the website are way better than what you get. First off, check in was slow... Room was spacious but very damp - at some point I had to call the house keeping for some kind of fragrance to disguise the damp smell of the room - it's quite unbearable! Well overall it's not too awful and i did have a good sleep (the pillows were great I have to say!). Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices. Not sure if it is a good hotel for vacation but for business travel it's alright.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVILO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear EVILO,

Warm Greetings from Sheraton Haikou Resort.

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Haikou Resort and taking the time to share your valuable experiences with us. We are delighted that your recommendation for the business stay!
Becasue of the lacation near the sea, sometimes the room will drive you uncomfortable. I apologized for the issue and our housekeeping will strength the dehumidification.We will keep attention on training of Front desk associates in order to provide the excellent service to all our guest!

Thank you again for taking your time to share with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards!
Stephanie Zhang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our family stayed in a 2-bedroom suite at Sheraton Haikou in Dec. The lobby into the suite was grand and the size of the bedrooms, living&dining room was very generous and the interior decorating was modern and well-kept. The free-standing bath tubs were worth mentioning, as my children spend much time "swimming" in them.

There were 4 hotspring jacuzzi, at any 1 time, 2 were open for use. The thermal temperature could reach high as 40c, so it took some getting used to. While the outdoor temperature could be chilly, the hotspring water which outflow into the main pool makes swimming abit bearable. The waterslide was entertaining as my children spent much time there. Inflatable tubes were available for rental.

The beach was quite a disappointment though. We even took a taxi to a nearby beach that was quite popular but found it to be over-rated.

As the food in the restaurants in town were not suitable for us, we consumed most of our meals in Sheraton. We went to a recommended famous hainanese chicken rice restaurant in town, which served us the whole chicken along with its innards at the side. As it was rather bony with little meat, we left most of it untouched. The breakfast buffet at Sheraton had quite a good variety in its spread and the chicken rice served was many times better. The service staff even brought me a dish of boneless white chicken breastmeat when I mentioned that it was quite bony. The restaurant staff were attentive and polite during all our meals there.

The conceige discouraged us from visiting the local zoo, saying that it was not worth our time. However, we went anyway and had one of the best safari experience, totally different from what other countries had offered. We booked a taxi for about S$80 from 10am to 4pm. The driver drove into the zoo and stopped next to panting lions and warned us not to open the doors and windows. After which, we proceed to the giraffes and elephants enclosure. We could purchase animal feed for $2 each. We got to ride on camels, cuddle a tiger cub, feed the monkey and marvelled at the liger and tigon (cross bred between lion and tiger). Definitely worth visiting.

The conciege also discouraged us from visiting the central park, saying that it was for walks and children to run around only. We went anyway and our children got to drive us in a buggy each, with us parents as passengers, around the park. There were many watersports facilities there, all at reasonable prices.

Overall, our trip was so absolutely enjoyable that we cancelled our Sheraton Sanya stay, in order that we may fully appreciate the sights and the hotel. If we revisit, will definitely choose Sheraton again.

Room Tip: A suite is worth splurging on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewel_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Warm Greetings from Sheraton Haikou Resort.

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Haikou Resort and taking the time to share your valuable experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the whole trip in Haikou and your stay in Sheraton Haikou Resort..
Our hotel is located on Bin Hai Road, a very scenic and picturesque road on the West Coast of Haikou about 20 minutes from the city, there are frequent and very convenient local affordable bus services to the city, I will advise our concierge to arrange for better Taxi coverage to ensure comfort to our guests.

Thank you again for taking your time to share with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards!
Stephanie Zhang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Service staff always try hard and are very pleasant. We're surprised they don't have better records of repeated "preferred" guest members considering its our 4th time staying at the resort, an annual holiday trip for us. There was no special treatment. The hotel used to provide fruit and other resorts with better record keeping will give room upgrades but overall it was a nice experience. House keeping was lacking, didn't provide extra towels even though there were 3 of us staying in the room and never swept or cleaned the balcony. However, a great change this year is that they provide lots of free bottled water. We never ran out! That was a great change from charging rmb 20 per bottle!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager - Stephanie Zhang at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Sheraton Haikou Resort.Thank you for staying at Sheraton Haikou Resort and taking the time to share your valuable experiences with us. We are delighted that you choose our hotel several times for your annual stay and apologized for the service not make your fully suprised! Our rooms director will deal with this problem immdiately and training the associates to pay more attention on guest request. When you come back next time, you will find a different change, not just mineral water! Thank you again for taking your time to share with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Located directly on a busy freeway so you won't want to walk far. Pool is good. Food is overpriced and poor quality. Staff overfussy until any problem then all disappear.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Warm Greetings from Sheraton Haikou Resort.

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Haikou Resort and taking the time to share your valuable experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the pool facilities and take this opportunity to apologize for the poor Food and Beverage Service.
Our Food and Beverage Director has acted upon your valuable comments and has put action plans in place to address this issue immediately.
Our hotel is located on Bin Hai Road, a very scenic and picturesque road on the West Coast of Haikou about 20 minutes from the city, there are frequent and very convenient local affordable bus services to the city, I will advise our concierge to arrange for better Taxi coverage to ensure comfort to our guests.

Thank you again for taking your time to share with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards!
Stephanie Zhang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Sheraton is considered the best hotel in Haikou. It is right on the beach, and has wonderful beach access and splendid pools.
Positives:
Good size rooms (however, make sure to get a Garden King that features a sofa rather than a chair. The latter rooms feel cramped.) Bathroom has separate shower, and doors that open into the room to make the bathroom feel bigger and has natural light.
Breakfast buffet was excellent!
Chinese Restaurant is excellent!
Nice Beach adjacent to the hotel
Wine Club was a nice treat.
Negatives
Most of the staff can not communicate in English. Front desk staff was 'ok' at best.
Hotel is nearly 7 years old and you can see the wear and tear. Typical for China, very little is maintained properly. The balcony railing in my hotel room had a great deal of rust!
Lobby looks old and dated.
Room service extremely slow! Took 45 mins to get ice sent to my room at least three different times over a three day stay
Resort is a long drive from many of the amenities in the city. If you have business in Haikou, expect a 30 minimum taxi ride

Room and bed quite comfortable. will stay here again but will know the weaknesses.

Room Tip: get a Garden King that has a sofa in it. much more comfortable than a standard King. And less expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GWade91302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you very much for sharing these important points with us. Meanwhile, we appreciate that you give much advice to us service and facility and do apologize for the inconvenience.
Because hotel has been Haikou already 6 years, some areas of hotel are renovated during 2011, such as lobby area, Chinese restaurant Private dining room. We also got a new chess room and a elegant red wine Bar. Followed the starwood standard, we changed the bedclothes for many rooms. We hoped the facilities can drive you a nice stay.
For the weakness, I will pass your feedback to the training department, and they will desigh the English training for our service associates. The room service should be quickly, and I will thansmit your commend to our Food and Beverage Director.

Thank you again for choosing our resort be your home far away home. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Best regards,

Stephanie Zhang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haikou hotels
1.6 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 658 in Haikou
168 reviews
13 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#4 of 658 in Haikou
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#3 of 658 in Haikou
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 658 in Haikou
90 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Haikou
11.9 mi away
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Haikou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Haikou Hotel

Address: No.136 Binhai Avenue, Xiuying District, Haikou 570311, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Haikou
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#9 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#10 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#10 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range: $103 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Haikou Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Haikou Hotel, a magnificent beachfront resort, just 10 minutes away from the heart of the city. 40 minutes drive to Meilan International Airport and 2 international golf courses within a few minutes' drive. Contemporarily designed with guest utmost comfort in mind, all 341 rooms including 36 suites are exceptionally well appointed with luxurious touches throughout. All rooms are exceptionally well appointed with luxurious touches throughout which feature a spacious work area, high speed internet access, generous sized bathtub and separate rain forest style overhead showers. Six Food & Beverage venues present an endless array of culinary choices, including 3 restaurants and 3 bars: Jade, Breeze, Fusion, Seaview Lounge, Pinot Noir Wine Lounge, Pool Bar and 24-hour room service. With over 1,300 square meters for meeting and celebrating, Sheraton Haikou Hotel can accommodate events and special occasions from 10 to 600 guests. Including 2 pillarless ballrooms, 5 function rooms and a VIP room offer the functionality of breakout rooms for larger events or can be utilized for more intimate gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Haikou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Haikou Hotel Haikou
Haikou Sheraton
Sheraton Haikou Hotel Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing