We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach resort in need of maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Haikou Hotel
Ranked #8 of 618 Hotels in Haikou
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice beach resort in need of maintenance”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Sheraton is considered the best hotel in Haikou. It is right on the beach, and has wonderful beach access and splendid pools.
Positives:
Good size rooms (however, make sure to get a Garden King that features a sofa rather than a chair. The latter rooms feel cramped.) Bathroom has separate shower, and doors that open into the room to make the bathroom feel bigger and has natural light.
Breakfast buffet was excellent!
Chinese Restaurant is excellent!
Nice Beach adjacent to the hotel
Wine Club was a nice treat.
Negatives
Most of the staff can not communicate in English. Front desk staff was 'ok' at best.
Hotel is nearly 7 years old and you can see the wear and tear. Typical for China, very little is maintained properly. The balcony railing in my hotel room had a great deal of rust!
Lobby looks old and dated.
Room service extremely slow! Took 45 mins to get ice sent to my room at least three different times over a three day stay
Resort is a long drive from many of the amenities in the city. If you have business in Haikou, expect a 30 minimum taxi ride

Room and bed quite comfortable. will stay here again but will know the weaknesses.

Room Tip: get a Garden King that has a sofa in it. much more comfortable than a standard King. And less expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GWade91302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you very much for sharing these important points with us. Meanwhile, we appreciate that you give much advice to us service and facility and do apologize for the inconvenience.
Because hotel has been Haikou already 6 years, some areas of hotel are renovated during 2011, such as lobby area, Chinese restaurant Private dining room. We also got a new chess room and a elegant red wine Bar. Followed the starwood standard, we changed the bedclothes for many rooms. We hoped the facilities can drive you a nice stay.
For the weakness, I will pass your feedback to the training department, and they will desigh the English training for our service associates. The room service should be quickly, and I will thansmit your commend to our Food and Beverage Director.

Thank you again for choosing our resort be your home far away home. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Best regards,

Stephanie Zhang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    250
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
23
20
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at Sheraton Haikou in December 2011. We arrive late, almost at 2AM due to flight delay from Hong Kong. Our group consisted of 4 families and we requested for the 4 rooms to be on same level or nearby but was told that room occupancy was high and as such the rooms available were at different levels and different wings. It was nice that the front office staff agreed to relocate our rooms the next days so that our rooms will be on the same floor. Also, we had requested for 3 rooms for King size bed as we had kids with us but they were not able to provide the King size rooms. All were to be settled the in the morning.

However, when we enquire the next morning before we left for our tour, we were informed that only one room will be changed and that was promised earlier will not materialised. My husband was upset as we only wanted to move 2 out of the 4 rooms the agreed earlier. He then requested to speak to the manager on duty. Only upon this they agreed to move 2 of our rooms to the same level. I think the service level needs some improvement.

Otherwise, it's quite a nice hotel with beautiful surroundings. Rooms are quite spacious and clean. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenalsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Stephanie - Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you very much for your pertinent comments about this stay. We will take your comments about the unhappy issue seriously and improve our service standard better than before. I apologized on your upset experience. This is the peak season of Hainan Island, we will train all the staff how to face our guests during the peak season.

Thank you for your recommendation about other service. Maybe next time you come back can get the different felling.

Thank you again for sharing the comment with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie Zhang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great massage, with in room option and fantastic girls, nice breakfast restaurant and tropical setting of garden,,

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giosel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you for visiting our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We are exited to learn you and your family enjoyed your visit and would love to have you consider us your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Stephanie Zhang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Next to a few golf courses, Sheraton resort us great for golfers. As usual, Sheraton's staff are friendly and helpful, so it's always a pleasure staying in Sheraton. However, the resort is not near any shopping malls and there are no shuttle buses out to the city center. Moreover, the beach area is under renovation and you can't really take a stroll on the beach now.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you for choosing our hotel be your family in Haikou and so happy you enjoy a good time here. Haikou is a nice city, specially for golfer. Our hotel is located at the West Coast of Haikou, with coconut tree and beautiful sea. As the West Coast develop, go to the shopping center is more and more convenience.
Our hotel finished her renovation in recent days, we changed the TV in the room from the old ones to the 42' LED new TV. All the laundry change to the new one. Maybe next time you come back can get the different felling.

Thank you again for sharing the comment with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie Zhang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed at this resort for 2 nights for a business trip to Haikou in mid of Nov. 2011. The room is comfortable and has a decent balcony for two to sit in. Open-style bath room with bath and tub, very clean and a lot of towels.

The location is at brim of the city, which means it's not convenient. Just a few taxi waiting outside and they charge 50-70RMB to downtown, all refusing to charge on meter. I went out with my colleauge for lunch one day, the restarant was just a 5-min ride from the resort and the taxi driver charged 40RMB. If living in the downtown, it usually take less than 20RMB to take taxi from one location to another.

I didn't have chance to enjoy the beach or swimming pool, so can't comment on it. But the water I saw was dark during my stay.

No restauratants or shopping near the hotel, you have to take taxi to eat outside. I tried the room service for breakfast, the quality is acceptable and the price is OK (90RMB for continental or oriental including service charge).

No free Internet, 100RMB per day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warmly greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you for your staying our resort and your important comments.We are very delight about your enjoying time in our hotel and chasing the best service is our goal.
Next time,when you have the spare time want to swim, I think you will be delighted by the nice conntecting pool.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Haikou Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

We look forward to you return.

Best wishes,
Stephanie Zhang
On behalf of Sheraton Haikou Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Everything is overpriced,and the beach is not well maintained

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernicetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you for visting our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. The direct feedback from you is the most valuable advice we can receive. And we will try our best to improve our service level and strengthen the maintainance the beach so that make yout stay more deloghtful.

We look forward to you return.

Best wishes,
Stephanie Zhang
On behalf of Sheraton Haikou Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My wife and I were staying for 2 nights at this hotel on our last vacation in Hainan. We arrived in the evening just after the Nock Ten typhoon. As expected the staffs were very kind, friendly and helpful . Both restaurant are serving good quality of local food at typical hotel price. Rooms facilities are good but a bit smelly (perhaps from the old carpet)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handoko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie Z, Online Distribution Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warmly greeting from Sheraton Haikou Resort!

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel on your last vacation in Hainan and share your stay experience with us. We feel so sorry about the bad weather. However, The direct feedback from you is the most valuable advice we can receive. And we will try our best to improve our english so that make the communication more fluently.

We look forward to you return.

Best wishes,
Stephanie Zhang
On behalf of Sheraton Haikou Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haikou hotels
13.0 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#1 of 618 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 618 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#4 of 618 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 618 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.5 mi away
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
#7 of 618 in Haikou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Haikou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Haikou Hotel

Property: Sheraton Haikou Hotel
Address: No.136 Binhai Avenue, Xiuying District, Haikou 570311, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Haikou
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#7 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#7 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Haikou Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Haikou Hotel, a magnificent beachfront resort, just 10 minutes away from the heart of the city. 40 minutes drive to Meilan International Airport and 2 international golf courses within a few minutes' drive. Contemporarily designed with guest utmost comfort in mind, all 341 rooms including 36 suites are exceptionally well appointed with luxurious touches throughout. All rooms are exceptionally well appointed with luxurious touches throughout which feature a spacious work area, high speed internet access, generous sized bathtub and separate rain forest style overhead showers. Six Food & Beverage venues present an endless array of culinary choices, including 3 restaurants and 3 bars: Jade, Breeze, Fusion, Seaview Lounge, Pinot Noir Wine Lounge, Pool Bar and 24-hour room service. With over 1,300 square meters for meeting and celebrating, Sheraton Haikou Hotel can accommodate events and special occasions from 10 to 600 guests. Including 2 pillarless ballrooms, 5 function rooms and a VIP room offer the functionality of breakout rooms for larger events or can be utilized for more intimate gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Haikou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Haikou Hotel Haikou
Haikou Sheraton
Sheraton Haikou Hotel Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing