We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Ranked #3 of 639 Hotels in Haikou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had huge expectations for the newest five star hotel in town. Coming from a city where the Shangri-La brand is THE hotel to stay, I must say we came with high expectations but left feeling that overall, things can be much better.
Location is not the best and when we asked the concierge what is there to do nearby, we received a blank look. Well, we couldn't blame because there really isn't anything close by except for a tiny beach which falls short of expectations. The nearest shopping or eating place is not within walking distance and that is if you can get a cab. The hotel is still not complete judging from the construction nearby.
There are some good points though - the service staff are all enthusiastic and I must single out Lina and Mark from the guest relations team for their passion in making our stay a pleasant one. F&B offering is quite limited but the food and service is good overall.
For the price and reputation, we feel that this hotel does not quite cut it. Overall, we are disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for taking your time to post this review.

Our hotel is located in a new business and tourism focal point in Haikou which is built along the west coast and adjacent the Hainan International Conference and Exposition Center. It takes 20 minutes to get to the city center.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and food. Except Chinese and Western restaurant, the seaside restaurant- Sirena which features Italian Cuisine is opening soon to provide more choices and excellent service to our guests.

We value your comments very much that is good for us to be improved. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Realy the place where to have a relaxing holiday ! Nice and beatiful sea view, nice happy time on 10th floor with different kind of food ! Nice people during the breakfast on Cafe Kool, excellent food ( the italian resident chef is very accurated on prepare delicious food as italian style). People working in the hotel are nice and always happy to help you. To be recomend you Mr. MARK LEI, he make our stay in Haikou Shangri-la very excellent, check in directy in the room, when I arrived by taxi at Shangri-la I just opened the door, he already recognize me and call me by full name (never see me before )! Great MARK, thanks a lot for your great job !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Giorgio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Mr. Giorgio, thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you like our hotel and it can encourage our colleagues to do a good job. Our commitment is to make every guest's stay enjoyable and pleasant. We value your comments very much and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our taxi couldnt find the hotel because of the construction in front. AND the location is less than ideal as there is nothing in the vicinity, no shopping, no food, no places of interests. There is a beach in front but that is just a small ordinary beach. we can feel that the hotel is a good getaway for the locals because of the distance from the city.
The service makes up for it as we can sense the passion in the front desk and restaurant staff. The hotel is new but the room feels aged and humid. Mosquitoes also disturbed my sleep.
Overall, it was disappointing and not worth the price now

Room Tip: Grab the 980 local package
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Jay, thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us. It is our pleasure that you could satisfied our service. Our hotel is located in a new business and tourism focal point in Haikou which is built along the west coast and adjacent the Hainan International Conference and Exposition Center. It takes 20 minutes to get to the city center. We value your comments very much and we have prepared dehumidifier to avoid the humid in room. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Was introduced to this place by a local friend. The location is a bit out of the way as cabbies refused to bring us there from the airport unless we pay a surcharge.
But the hotel is nice and new. The staffs are eager and friendly. This is pretty much a local hotel. The food offered here is excellent and so are the service staffs at the restaurant.
The rooms can be better though as we can still hear some construction noise. We love the balcony but the view did not offer much. Perhaps we are on a lower level.
My wife was disturbed by strange noises at night but we did not make a deal out of it. Overall, it is a good hotel with excellent hardware and great service staff. I hope to be back with friends in the future when the hotel is ready.

Room Tip: A high floor to get a better view. =). Get a local friend to book for you to enjoy better deals
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zen520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to post this review. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied our service, food and hardware. Our hotel is located along the west coast, a new business and tourism focal point in Haikou. The only Italian Restaurant and the seaside chapel of Haikou are opening soon. They will provide more choices and excellent service for guests. We value your comments very much that is good for us to be improved. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

服务不错 可是有点偏 有点贵 I came over with my Chinese wife to Haikou to visit. Wonderful service staff and nice food too
I bought a family package. Quite worth @ 1250 yuan but realised that the same package is selling at 300 yuan lower.. )=
Well, that's too bad because 300 yuan is quite an amount. Something I have not quite experienced in other Shangrilas though.. Otherwise the stay was not bad (=

Room Tip: A room with sea view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Mr Louis,Thank you for your comments and valuable feedback. The package that we offered is for local selected guests only and it is a limited time offer to promote our new hotel during the summer season. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay at sunny Haikou and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent one night at the new Shangri-La HaiKou in a Club room booked through C-trip. I live locally and wished to have a niht away, so to speak, and the location of the hotel on Holiday Beach on the outskirts of town is away from the HaiKou city centre. While to some this maybe a negative, it was exactly what I am looking for. About RMB 50-60 from downtown the Shangri-La has, as one would expect, impeccable service, amenties and rooms. While the entire project is not yet completed, it is still a first class experience. I checked in on the 10th floor at the Horizon Club and was greeted well firstly by Steven downstairs and then Frank in the Club Lounge. Iced water was serve AND refilled while I checked in. Happy hour from 1730-1930 was great with mixed drinks and cold beers available as well as some light snacks. I had dinner in Cafe Kool and partook in the buffet. While pricey for China (RMB 288), the food and service made the price very worthwhile. I will be returning for the buffet alone!!! I did not use any facilities besides the outdoor pool (which is awesome), but with a pool bar coming that will be great. Sirena the Italian restaurant will open soon and I look forward to trying that out as well. As the most expensive hotel in HaiKou, it has high expectations. After my first visit I would recommend it as a return destination for me.

Room Tip: Almost everything looks over the ocean!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausericanesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to share your detail comments with us. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our food and service. We value your comments very much and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family and I stayed there 3 nights during mid May 2013. This hotel is built in the newly developed area of Haikou close to Xixiu Beach and Sheraton. Like all newly developed area, it's located slightly further from the city centre (about 20mins drive). Airport is around 40mins from the hotel.

As this is a very new hotel (only about 6 months old) the occupancy at the hotel was not high so it felt rather 'empty'. Throughout our stay at the hotel, it was very quiet and lack of 'buzz' like a hotel would have. We chose this hotel because we wanted to have a tranquil place just to relax but this one was really too 'tranquil' for us.

Hotel Pros & Cons:

Pros:
- Grand and New...amazing hotel
- Rooms (very Shangri-la style). We stayed in the Premier Sea View Room
- Spectacular sea views
- huge room with a balcony
- Very friendly staff here. They really made you feel at home.
- Kool Cafe (food was ok for both breakfast and dinner)
- Shang Palace (very nice fine Chinese food)
- There's a little play area in Kool Cafe for the toddlers.
- The pools (both the main and kids) were hardly occupied.
- Great & FREE internet access - both wifi and LAN access available in rooms and hotel vicinity
(no wifi signals when you are in the outdoor pool area though)

Cons:
- Location (nothing close by). You are stuck in the hotel unless you take a car out.
- Would be good if there are more kids facilities. Kids pool was just a paddling pool.
- Free or paying (nominal fee) shuttle bus service to the city/airport would be great as the
hotel's location is really distant from everywhere else.
- Hotel's car transfer service is great but price a little pricy (RMB2300 for a half day car rental).
Be good if this could be reviewed.

Overall, very nice and relaxing place to visit. If you are looking at just spending some time within the hotel, this would be an ideal place. I would visit again for the sake of this hotel but not for Haikou in particular. Haikou is not really a touristic place and the weather is a real put off during the day. Reaching 38 degrees at 10am in the morning? Ouch this is a killer!

Well done to the team at Shangri-la Haikou and keep up the good work. I am sure it will be 'buzzing' next time I visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agape10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Jakobee10, thank you so much for your review and we are so glad to hear that you like our hotel. Our commitment is to make every guest's stay enjoyable and pleasant. We value your comments very much and we will review all the details you mentioned in the review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haikou hotels
14.1 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#4 of 639 in Haikou
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 639 in Haikou
154 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Haikou
The Ritz-Carlton, Haikou
#1 of 639 in Haikou
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
7.4 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 639 in Haikou
76 reviews
7.7 mi away
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
#7 of 639 in Haikou
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Haikou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Haikou

Address: No.256 Binhai Avenue, Xiuying District, Haikou 570311, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#3 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#5 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range: $92 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Haikou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying off the coast of the Qiongzhou Strait, the hotel is a paradise that features the ocean extending to the blue sky, the sea breeze, soft sands and sunshine. The ideal location also makes it the finest hotel for business travellers. The hotel is adjacent to the Hainan International Exhibition Centre and the Haikou Municipal Government office. An internationally renowned golf course and scenic coastal park are just steps away. It takes only 45 minutes to get to the Haikou Meilan International Airport and 10 minutes to get to the train station.The hotel has 337 spacious rooms and suites. Almost of the guestrooms feature an ocean and garden view. Guestrooms have a spacious cloakroom, a separate shower room with rain shower and a 40-inch LED television, and the balcony with rattan furniture makes the guestroom more relaxing and comfortable. Guests can take a rest on the balcony and have a cup of hot tea or coffee with the family while listening to the waves and enjoying the sea breeze, and the beautiful sunset offers an unforgettable Haikou experience.Guests staying on the Horizon Club floors – from the seventh to the ninth floors – enjoy a higher standard of accommodation with personalised service and a host of exclusive privileges and amenities. These include private check-in and check-out at the Horizon Club Lounge on the 10th floor, check-out as late as 6 p.m. (subject to room availability), buffet breakfast, evening cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in the Horizon Club Lounge during daytime hours, suit pressing upon arrival and a daily international newspaper.There are three dining places that are in service now--- Shang Palace, the one of the signature restaurants of the Shangri-La Group; cafe Kool, a place that can experience more than 180 kinds of delicious cuisines from all over the world; Lobby Lounge provides fine wines, cocktails, snacks, coffee and freshly squeezed fruit juice. The Health Club situated on basement floor one, offers a range of health solutions that includes a gymnasium, an aerobics room, Jacuzzi, a 25-metre indoor swimming pool, steam rooms and table tennis facilities. The fully equipped gymnasium provides the optimum space for bodybuilding and has a range of free weight equipment to complement each workout. Thanks to the dormant volcanic clusters located on the outskirts of Haikou, the hotel has three hot spring pools with hot spring water. After swimming in the 790-square-metre outdoor irregular arc-shaped swimming pool, guests can rest on the chaise longues under umbrellas, or take a dip in the hot spring pool.Soon-to-open facilities: Chi, The Spa at Shangri-La, outdoor tennis court, Italian restaurant Sirena, seaside wedding chapel and the Grand Villa with seven rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Haikou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing