We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No-frills hotel that gets the job done ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huandao Tide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huandao Tide Hotel
Ranked #241 of 611 Hotels in Haikou
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No-frills hotel that gets the job done ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are shabby, the restaurant is bad. As a whole, though, the place is surprisingly comfortable. It runs on the "you have to leave the key in the slot for the electric to stay on" system. The wireless is free and runs great. There is an outdoor pool and gym. The lobby is nice.

It tries to be a classy hotel but the insides are weathered. For $40 USD/night, though, I didn't regret staying.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahwebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
251 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

It's not a 5 star hotel by any means. But quite acceptable. Don't have too high expectations and you won't be disappointed. Staff were helpful. Restaurant is fair. Location is pretty good, although you have to walk a way to get to a supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and were very satisfied with everything. The hotel has a 5 star rating but cost us just 60 euros a night...you experience at this hotel would be based on what you expect. If you go there expecting a 5-star hotel, you would certainly be disappointed but we went there realizing that we were paying just 60 euros a night and were quite pleased with the hotel! The hotel is probably more like a 3 star not 5. The staff speaks broken English but were very helpful. The breakfast is good. The rooms look a bit tired and need updating but they were clean and functional. Location is away from all the beach resorts but on the bright side its very much in the heart of the 'real' city and it was lovely to experience the culture. We met so many people within the little streets and shops and restaurants who couldn't speak a words in English but who always had a smile on their face and did everything they could to understand what we were saying to them. We ate in the local restaurants (yes we managed quite ok with a few chinese words and our pocket phrase book). The experience was lovely. We would probably not have experienced this had we stayed in one of the beachside resort places.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogo0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

It is a so called 5 star hotel, i think it cost 400 RMB... I am sure I could have got a much better hotel at RMB 150... That was one of my worst stay and sleep. Rooms look like 30 years old... there is NO WAY you can switch on the TV... bed was terrible and so was the pillows, room was freezing cold, had to sleep in clothes... breakfast room busy and not enjoyable at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chinarover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed two nights in that hotel after having spent an extraordinary stay at the Crown Plaza in Sanya so our judgement might be a little biased.
The rooms smelt, I don't know what, but it did. Typical Chinese atmosphere, in the worst meaning. You'll be welcome in your room with a set of everything you need to enjoy a one night stand company (I was there with my family!), and don't be surprised to share the elevator with some young girls making up their faces to go God knows where...
Just a reminder, it's a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hainanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haikou hotels
0.6 mi away
Golden Height Hotel
Golden Height Hotel
#54 of 611 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Coast Lawton Hotel Haikou
7.9 mi away
Tianyou Grand Hotel
Tianyou Grand Hotel
#33 of 611 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hainan Huangma Holiday Hotel
2.7 mi away
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
#35 of 611 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Sea View Hotel
Golden Sea View Hotel
#53 of 611 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huandao Tide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huandao Tide Hotel

Property: Huandao Tide Hotel
Address: No.18 Peace Avenue, Haidian Island, Haikou 570208, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Huandao Tide Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Huandao Tide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huandao Tide Hotel Haikou, Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing