We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting tired, not up to expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
Ranked #6 of 642 Hotels in Haikou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We went on a 5 day golfing holiday to Mission Hills, Haikou, expecting a great golfing experience but we were disappointed.
The hotel was adequate, but the check in would be difficult as the staff spoke little English. The main dialect was Mandarin.
The rooms are large and roomy with tea & coffee making facilities. There was an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was spacious with a large sink and the usual amenities including razor and toothbrush. There was also plenty Iof complementary water.
Free Wireless Internet was available through out the hotel.
Breakfast was good and there was a wide selection of food.
We ate mainly at the Chinese restaurant as it was well priced and the food was good.
Lunch at the Golf Club Cafe was expensive mainly because a pot of tea cost ¥73/- for a pot compared to ¥88/- for a plate of fried noodles!
We were very disappointed with the golfing experience. On the first day we played at the Blackstone course (for a Premium). The course was officially closed for maintenance, but we were required to play the course as we had pre-booked the game only 1 week previously. We could not change! The fairway was in poor condition with lots of bare patches.The greens were terrible, there was hardly any grass (only tuffs here and there) on the greens and were mainly sanded. Although we protested to the starters and pro-shop we were told - sorry no refunds.

Sorry, you pay, you play.

The next course, the Lava course was in a similar state of disrepair. Their excuse was that they had a recent tournament and was undergoing maintenance work. This is no excuse for selling games for play on a course under maintenance! This is not a member's golf club, it is a corporation bent on making money. So players beware. We had telephoned the management the week before to check on the state of the courses and they had the audacity to confirm that the course were in good state and playable.
The Sand Belt and Meadows course was in a better condition. The fairways were reasonable and the greens in a reasonable condition.
However, the tendency is to push through a lot of players. There is poor golfing etiquette and one has to display extreme restrain. There was slow play in front and the guys from behind kept hitting up on us! Complains to the marshal was fruitless as he did nothing.
I had previously played in these courses 2 years ago and had found them good and up to expectation. This time around, they are in a terrible state of disrepair. I believe that there has been a management change and the place has been let to run down.

Stay away. If you must, expect to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

I checked in together with a few friends of mine from overseas, not only the hardware deserves a 5 star rating, in fact the service is fabulous! The service team is very detail in their service and I never know in Hainan we can expect that much! My friend was having his birthday and guess what, a team of staff came over during our tea time at the lobby lounge, presented a cake and song! Also I like their food, very tasty, great breakfast, great hot springs and every thing is just great, great, great! keep up the good job and we will be backl!

Room Tip: look out for rooms facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here for Christmas and while hotel was supposedly full, it didn't really feel like it. Restaurants were busy but not full. I guess a lot of the rooms were for conventions and tour groups which had their own itineraries. A fairly comprehensive review from the beginning.

Shuttle - a bit of a joke really. I guess if you're staying here, you don't need to bother with the airport shuttle?? Theoretically speaking, the shuttle and greeting office should align themselves with flight times since there're not that many flights. Instead, they're fixed at every 2 hours. And they won't wait 10 minutes for you if your flight just happens to miss the shuttle. The greeting office is also basically closed unless it's shuttle time. My mother arrived early and she waited 1 hour for me at the airport. In that one hour, the greeting office was open 10 minutes for the shuttle time and did not pick up the "phone" when "stepped away" from office. They also said we should have reserved the shuttle? But why reserve if you already have a fixed time?? When shuttle came, even though empty, it wouldn’t wait the 10 minutes for my bag to come out and insisted on leaving so we ended up with a taxi. And not like they were constantly back and forth. It’s 20 minutes to the hotel. Plenty of time to get back for the next shuttle.

Check-in/arrival – it’s china. It still needs work. We arrived around 11.30am so not very busy time for reception. However, this is the first time in a long time that I arrived at a hotel with luggage and no bellboy to help me with my luggage. Don’t know if they just don’t have very many or where they all went but didn’t see them. Check-in pretty smooth as no other people but when I checked in, after I got my room key, the check-in attendant immediately moved to next person, even though it was clearly my first time there. I had to request a map and directions to my premier room, which in hotels of this caliber, should be part of standard check-in procedure.

Room - comfy if still a bit stiff beds. Nicely laid out with mini- fridges. Quite spacious with room to move about. Still new with a bit of a funky smell but you can open the balcony to clear it. Nice sized balconies, can have a coffee for 2 people on it quite comfortably. We had a premier and a deluxe room. No difference between the two rooms, just supposedly in the service. Premier had an extra bland fruit basket and access to premier lounge. Premiere also offers shoe cleaning and terry bathrobes whereas deluxe is just cotton robe. Oh, and no l'occitane products as mentioned on official website. Try to get a view of pool which is better. Other side is mostly the driveway and no difference in pricing that I see. Premier room also does not guarantee pool view or high floor. Each room has a fixed Ethernet line and hotel has pretty decent wifi.

Food - Hotel was full when I stayed so all the f&b outlets were open. The Chinese was quite decent if expensive. 2 ppl for lunch, no alcohol was 500 rmb. The most expensive thing? The tea at 100 rmb, which was the cheapest option. They said they don’t provide free tea. :( The breakfast buffet - never have I been so excited only to have my hopes dashed so thoroughly. It looked like a lot of selection, 12 heating plates, cold bar, 2 side stations plus 1 long cooking bar with 2 chefs. Then you realize that each dish was basically doubled so instead of 30+ items, maybe you have 15. Major let down!!! Standard western bacon, etc. Chinese selection was fairly limited. Salad, oatmeal, some cold cuts, smoked fish. No smoked salmon or pork floss for the congee! And for a supposedly fruit island, only 4 fruit choices with bad pineapple and watermelon. They are also serious about the 6.30-10.30 breakfast time, even on sat/sun. At 10.20, they started taking food away even though at least 4 tables and 10.30, lights were dimmed. They also have serious issues keeping food warm. Quite a bit of the food was cold. Same thing happened with the dinner buffet that we had for Christmas dinner. Not bad but cold. Lots of f&b choices but spread out between pool, spa, springs, golf clubhouse, and main hotel. If you just want a light snack, take a look at pool bar, springs piazza, which you pass on way to hot springs.

Premier lounge- small, basically 2 conference rooms and about 100 sq. meters lounge. Only small bar so food choices not great. Came for an afternoon coffee and nice 4 types of cookies but may need to request them from wait staff. They didn’t have them out in the open when we arrived. Also, can get a good view of the golf course.

Location - because it’s far out, taxis are reluctant to come without return fare. From airport/city, we usually had to pay 100 rmb instead of meter. At the hotel, they charge 180 rmb to take you into town and anywhere from 130 to 150 for closer trips, i.e. volcano park/airport.

Grounds - honestly beautiful. Surrounded by the greenery of the golf court and from what I could see, golf course was immaculate. Well tended grass and sands. Not a golfer or spa person though so can’t comment further.

Hot Springs are quite nice and in high season, open from 1pm-1am. Best to wear a 1 piece as mixed gender, open air and I felt a bit awkward at night time with a bikini. Temperature really had to be hand tested. Couple of springs didn’t have temperature listed, and some were cooler and others hotter than labeled. Also, not all of them were open. Guess it depends on how busy they are. Half was open during day and other half open in the evening. If you’re staying at the hotel, don’t make the mistake of going through the big entrance in front. That for paying guests. The hotel has a back entrance. For those who go through the front, be prepared, lockers are crazy far away from springs, about 300m or more. If temperature is warm, it’s ok but if cold, especially when coming back in wet towel/robe, not very comfortable walk. From the hotel, you can walk to the springs, about 250m from hotel door past pool so it’s a bit closer. You can argue to use the pool lockers to change and put your stuff (which makes it 150m to springs), although there are not a lot of lockers and they close at 7pm with the pool. There’s a private Americas section which is exclusively for hotel guests but it’s small and only "color" therapy. None of the cool mud, spices, etc that you can find in the other sections, at least not while I was there. The springs were quite busy, but it is the weekend. Every warm pool had at least 1 person, and each one is the size of a large Jacuzzi. Most of them get their effect from a "medicine" bag that can be found tied down in the pool so guess depends on if you believe they would use good herbs or just use chemicals to fake you out.

Too cold to use outdoor pool so no opinion but looks like lots of fun. Plenty of inflatables, water slide, artificial sand.

Indoor pool/gym/games room - pool was nice. 3 indoor pools - 1 good sized lap pool, 2 for fun. Gym is not a technogym but weights, 2 ellipticals, 1 recumbent bike. Oddly, they had a power plate?? Also bosu balls and yoga/aerobic classes. Also oddly, schedule is not available in room. I had to go to gym and ask for schedule. Some need to pay, others don’t. Not entirely sure but I think yoga was free? Had 2 pool tables, 2 billiards. I think tables are free but they hope you buy drinks. 4-5 mahjong private rooms which look like fun. Also foot massage, 300+ for 1 hour. Couldn’t find a library though...

Checkout - not too many people but also no concept of a line. Odd since when I checked in, there were line dividers but not checkout. Can easily imagine the mob scene that can otherwise occur

We took the high speed train to sanya. Concierge gave us the wrong train time :( so we ended up waiting 50 minutes for next train stead of 25. I guess they change quite often? Be aware, in china, you need your id to buy ticket and ticket purchase ends 20minutes before train leaves so you either need to pre-buy or arrive 30min before departure since usually at least 10min line. When you arrive to Sanya, best to have hotel book you a car, especially late at night. We couldn’t find an official taxi line so there was a bit of a mob scene trying to get a taxi that was dropping passengers off.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. It’s still got some teething issues before it can match international 5 star resorts but it’s china and we also didn’t pay a lot for the hotel. For weekend, we paid about 225usd including taxes and breakfast. I had hoped for more from mission hills brand so hopefully will improve and for china, it is a really nice resort.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wu1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We went for 4 days and 3 nights stay in their premier rooms. The resort is still new and and has low occupancy, which makes it nice to enjoy the resort without the crowds. I played three rounds of golf , including one night golf and the courses were well maintained. We went to the Volcanic Park nearby in the morning for an enjoyable tour and in the evening we went to see the Chang Yi Mao directed show Impression Hainan , which is a very highly rated and enjoyable show. The kids have a great time at the outdoor pool with water slides and rafts and the indoor pool is also nice. We tried cycling around the property and also played billards and table tennis. My friend enjoyed the karaoke room and they even have majong rooms with a view. The resort is definitely a treat at this time of the year when the weather is nice. I wish they can arrange for a side trip to the beach , which is 25 minutes away by car.

Room Tip: Rooms from 12th floor and up come with butlers and more personal service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The occupancy when I stayed was 6 %. Most floors were empty and the aircon turned off. But what a hotel/resort. Excellent rooms, wonderful golf courses and a lot of staff to help you. Food outlets were not all opened but the chinese restaurant was excellent. However, it is a huge complex, almost in the middle of nowhere, sitting on barren (except for lycee trees) volcanic rock. Worst of all, it is inland and therefore in summer, can become very very hot. This is the price of cheap land. However, roads to town and the airport are new and swift; just add to the cost when you want to go downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My Husband, my parents and myself all took a trip to Mission Hills Resorts in June , and I have to say I have never stayed in such a beautiful hotel. They have left out nothing! Last year we had stayed in the Mission Hills in Shenzhen and these two resorts are worlds apart!

My Husband and Father are both golfers, and this as my Father said was the best golfing experience of his life. There are 10 courses all world class course another comment they had was how well manicured that ALL where. They each had a caddie each day, and they all had a very good knowledge of the courses. We where there in low season and never was there anyone in front of behind them on all six days they played! It was all very well organsied and the Caddie masters where very helpful. They also took a few lessons from the Golf Pro on site (Kyle) which they where also extremely happy with and very well priced...I think it was 220rmb per Hr!

There are Hot Springs also at the Hotel, that are open from 5pm till 1am that are just out of this world...they are all healing pools Hot & Cold they are set into a park like experience that is dimly lite at night. We used about 20 pools and still there where more! All these pools are free to Hotel Guests.

We also used the Spa, which is a little pricy for China, but very much worth it! The spa personal seemed to be very well trained and are all very polite and friendly...I should mention here even though all the staff are very helpful, there is a lack of English speakers but there always seems to be someone that can help you, they may need to go and get someone so be patient they will help! Also the Decor of the Hotel is just amazing..We spoke to a staff member who told us that $4billion was used to build this resort! and to be honest you can see where every penny was spent!

Restaurants in the resort... we had breakfast included which was a buffet most mornings, with a large variety from western / Chinese to Japanese...because it was low season there was la cate Breakfast some mornings.Which was just as good. I guess this was due to low number of guest at the Hotel. Lunch, there are 4 places to choose from with a very wide range of food...From a cafe to full on lunch menu, to pool side dinning. Dinner in the evening there was only 3 options...Bar / Chinese or western / asian. However there is Japanese just about to Open and we where there in low season! The food over all in the Hotel is just what you would expect from a 5 star resort but with very reasonable prices! That goes for the whole resort, it is very well priced!

The rooms are beautiful very big, well decorated and huge bath and shower! plus the balcony's are very nice.

Overall, this Resort is WORLD class and deserves every star!

One Tip to Golfers... Don't loose the Tag they give you for your golf Clubs. My Father did and he was a hard job getting them back, so much so we had to leave them and when they found they they shipped my back to us. This was our own fault! So don't loose the TAG!

We also had some trouble checking out! The Lady on Reception seemed very flustered and didn't seem to really know what she was doing! But again I think we where just unlucky with her as every one that week had been amazing.

Our family was two golfers...two non golfers and we all had an amazing time, This is not just for Golfers...Its just a perfect place to relax and un-wind from your daily life!

Room Tip: For a really nice view as for the Pool Side view and a high floor ... we where on 9 Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leon&Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Charlie5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haikou hotels
12.0 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#4 of 642 in Haikou
168 reviews
13.3 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 642 in Haikou
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Haikou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#3 of 642 in Haikou
129 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 642 in Haikou
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Haikou Hotel
Renaissance Haikou Hotel
#9 of 642 in Haikou
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Hills Resort Haikou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Hills Resort Haikou

Address: No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua District, Haikou 571100, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#6 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#7 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range: $91 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mission Hills Resort Haikou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the grandeur of the island’s tropical volcanic landscape, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features an 18-storey luxurious hotel and annex with breathtaking panoramic golf course views. The complex also houses numerous world-class sports, leisure, entertainment and dining facilities, an executive lounge, and a panoramic gallery, establishing itself as one of the most sought-after leisure destinations in China. Free parking on site and free Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms are both provided.Conveniently located in Haikou city, the administrative and legislative hub of Hainan, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou is just 15 minutes from the city center and from the Haikou Meilan International Airport.Positioned as one of the finest luxury hotels on Hainan Island, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou comprises 539 spacious guest rooms and suites. All these tastefully appointed rooms and suites celebrate Hainan’s environment with unique designs and amenities to ensure guests enjoy the highest level of comfort. Each guest room or suite features a balcony with an unobstructed view of the panoramic golf course and the resort’s natural greenery. Interactive HD TV system with cable, pay-per-view programs, and minibar are provided for your entertainment. Special inter-connecting rooms are also available - ideal for families and friends alike.Guests have access to the recreation center and spa center for leisure and relaxation. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool, an outdoor swimming pool with fun-filled obstacle water park, a man-made beach, a gym, a foot reflexology center, a Kids’ Club, games rooms, and much more. In addition, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features 168 hot and cold mineral spring pools, making it the “World’s Largest Mineral Springs Resort” accredited by Guinness World Records. The grand ballroom at the resort caters up to 1,600 delegates. The 13 spacious functions rooms and media center feature floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views, creating an exceptional backdrop for any event.Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou offers a wide selection of international cuisines in the most refined ambiance. Silver Moon Chinese Restaurant features Cantonese specialties and local dishes from Hainan while Ukiyo offers a variety of Japanese cuisine. Come and enjoy a divine and exquisite dining experience that will impress the most discerning taste buds. What's more, the hugely popular Mission Hills ▪ Huayi Brothers ▪ Feng Xiaogang Movie Town which features 1942 Republican China Street, Socialism Street, Nanyang Street, memorable Movie Set and Landscape Districts; the Mission Hills ▪ Lan Kwai Fong where the "World's No. 1 Golf Club" joins the globally-renowned entertainment brand to create "LKF Entertainment Zone", "Fashion Avenue", "China Grove", Village Lane" and "Quarry Lake"; and the Duty Free Center, a true shopping paradise with endless opportunities for retail therapy - are due to open throughout 2014 within Mission Hills ▪ Haikou, to offer each and everyone of us an array of international brands, gourmet cuisine, fine dining, entertainment, shopping, cinemas, cafes, music stores, wine cellars, souvenir shops and boutique hotels all in one location (due to open throughout 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mission Hills Resort Haikou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hills Hotel Haikou
Mission Hills Resort Haikou Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing