We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hainan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hainan Guest House
Ranked #77 of 618 Hotels in Haikou
haikou
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Speechless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I came as a paid reviewer on a Secret Inspection for a Chinese travel magazine. I'm glad I wasn't spending my own money since the level at which this hotel did not perform would have had me quite angry.

Most of the drinks and many of the dishes at the restaurants are unavailable. What we did order, I cannot even begin to describe how badly they messed up. Understand that I was being *paid* a stipend to go to this hotel and was spending someone else's money on the food but I still felt the need to complain.

Hardly anyone in the hotel speaks English forcing me to act as the interpreter for other members of my party.

Numerous occasions where hotel staff was too busy on their mobile phone to deal with customers.

Once we found the spa (no directional signage pointing to it), I saw a rat on the stairs to the spa. At the spa they used single-use paper towels and plastic basins.

Uninspired bland decor, in room wifi didn't work, face towel had a hole in it, shower door didn't close all the way, hair dryer missing from one of the rooms... and the list goes on and on and on...

Came back from breakfast at Starbucks to find that the rooms had been made up without removing our luggage from on top of the beds. Since we were about to check out we kind of wondered if this meant that they don't change the bedding between customers.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taiz, Yemen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

its not 5 star hotel even if they say so. i stayed two night and i feel i payed more then it deserve (826rmb per night) the room is ok with no bath tube . the service is bad, breakfast is horrible, i think this hotel was made for Chinese government workers.. location not that great.. to sum it up ..dont waste your money on this 3 stars hotel ..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buucket L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcheprime
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hotel is loo level ( 5 stars)but it could be enough for short stay.
The major problem is that personal is not speaking any other language than Chinese.
Order food on the different restaurant is time and effort consuming for no result!!
We have tried 2 times ,in evening, the pool restaurant,without success!!
no shop in the lobby to buy some snack's, but many shops at walking distance to purchase food,fruits and drinks!!!!
Forget this hotel is you are not Chinese speaking!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank requinbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is really just average. Its clean with ok service. If you are just coming in for one night and have business to do it does the job. If you are looking to have a break, then I would not suggest this hotel.

The breakfast was quite poor.

The price was reasonable but honestly would probably try a different hotel the next time I go to Haikou.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney-shang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Previously owns by government and then sold to HaiNan Airway later. HGH is a nice hotel to stay. Non-sea view is expected. Other than that, everything is 5 star standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed 2 nights at the Hainan Guest House (or "State Guest House of Hainan Province" which is its official name) in March 2011 when visiting the HNA Group.

The hotel is located right across the street from the brand new skyscraper housing the HNA Group headquarters, and adjacent to the Hainan Provincial Assembly. It is managed by HNA Hotels and is a high quality international standard 5-star estanblishment, despite the somewhat misleading name.

Rooms are very modern and spacious, featuring not just free high-speed internet access but also a flat screen computer to access the internet if you don't have a laptop with you. The buffet breakfast is adequate and filling and the other restaurants are also ok - nothing special by any means.

Overall, this is an excellent quality and value property if visiting Haikou.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanMendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

The disappointments started as soon as we arrived. Friendly enough at check in, but not too competent. There were four of us in own for one night and meetings the next day.

Two of my colleagues were assigned dirty rooms - at 10:30pm. They had to go back downstairs to be re-assigned.

I was given the wonky key card for door opening. Yep, standing in the hallway fuming after a long day traveling. Traipse back to the lift lobby to use the phone; told someone would come to help me. I foolishly assumed they meant the same day. Back to the lifts to call again. Getting as cranky as my syntax here gets choppy. (just reliving the moment makes me bristle).

The same issue bedeviled me the next morning, but there was a maid handy to open my door.

Breakfast was average, certainly not 5-star standard.

We tried to eat tin the hotel at lunchtime, but the "western" restaurant was unimpressive, the Chinese restaurant was closed, and the Hainan cuisine place was WAY too expensive. So, we walked 200 meters to another place.

The hotel looks nice, rooms are large and comfy, the internet worked fine, the folks were nice - even granting us a 2pm checkout. Wireless in the lobby was good. It just isn't up to standard. That standard has to drop a little in these regional towns, but we expected more from one of the "best" hotels in town. I wish I had been the one booking, we would have tried the Hainan Airlines Minguan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haikou hotels
1.2 mi away
Meahood Herton Hotel
Meahood Herton Hotel
#40 of 618 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hainan Airlines Business Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hainan Huangma Holiday Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#147 of 618 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
#28 of 618 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hainan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hainan Guest House

Property: Hainan Guest House
Address: No.9 Dayingshan West 3rd Road, Meilan District, Haikou 570203, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou > Downtown , Meilan District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#36 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hainan Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hainan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hainan Guest House Haikou, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing