We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!”
Review of Mary's Aul Sod Irish Pub - CLOSED

Mary's Aul Sod Irish Pub
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This may be a bit difficult to find but only the first time. Tucked into the small plaza I have driven past the pub many times but didn't see it. Do yourself a favor and spend the 15 RMB on the taxi as they can drop you at the door! The food (hamburger) was great. The beers ICE cold. And small pub feel is cordial and comfortable! This is a must see and I will make my way through the tunnel or over the mountain often.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-monkey-672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice place to chill”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

literally just 2 mins walk from my flat so i always go there.cheap and good play to chill with friends

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiacgo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pot of Gold”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Of all the places in Zhuhai, the Irish is my favorite. The folks working there give you real Irish hospitality. lots of Chinese and Expats. Great place to meet people and a nice break from the typical Chinese night out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jack j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Guinness & Bacon sarnie. Perfect !”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Irish bar,Irish Owners,Irish Drink & Irish Food.

Experienced the whole thing last Sunday with a colleague from Coatia.
China is now a more comfortable place to live.


Cheers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alihopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Real Irish in a Real Irish Pub!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is one of my local pubs and I've been coming here since it opened. The place is run by a real genuine Irish man who is always the first to welcome you and probably will be the same person to serve you too. They sell real Guinness which is great! It's one of only a few establishments in Zhuhai with real Guinness on draught (I think there are 3 or 4) and honestly it's the only place where I would drink one.

If you've been before you will know that the food was limited to sandwiches and curry chips. The curry sauce is imported and tastes delicious! The sandwiches are good but that was the limit of the menu before. Now however, the menu has extended and there are burgers and pastas. The Irish Carbonara (spelling?!) is absolutely gorgeous. A must try.

They have a couple of satellites showing live sports, football, rugby, F1 etc. with an LCD TV downstairs and both an LCD TV and a huge projector upstairs.

The decor is very authentic with all manner of signs. posters and trinkets from Ireland that have been sent or brought over by friends and family, you could spend 30 minutes just walking around reading them all.

As you can see from the other posts, the place is quite small. I can't say I've ever noticed that or had to whine or get annoyed with it though, I like it.

Western toilets. Yes they have 2 western toilets - many places in Zhuhai don't!

Taxi Directions: Say "Ning Xi Jia You Zhan" (Ningxi Petrol Station) "Shang Dao Ka Fei" (a yellow cafe named U.B.C. which is across the road from the petrol station. You are then 1 minute walk to Mary's.

Closing Tip: Sit/stand on the upstairs balcony in the late afternoon sunshine with an ice cold beer! Perfect!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Aul Sod Irish Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing