We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, large rooms, good amenities, terrible 'Irish' Bar”
Review of Holiday Inn Zhuhai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Zhuhai
Ranked #9 of 549 Hotels in Zhuhai
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed for three nights at the Holiday Inn Zhuhai in September 2010.

Location

Because of the topography of Zhuhai (mountains and sea), the city is remarkably sprawling. The hotel is located away from the city centre (Macau customs area), which is a good thing - as this area is a chaotic and noisy.

The road network and taxi service in the city is excellent - even the the heaviest of rain, no more than a 20 minute taxi wait, usually no wait at all.

The hotel is about a 10 minute ride from the Macau border post, where the Coaches from Guanzhou and Shenzen airports drop you. From Zhuhai airport, the taxi ride is about 40 minutes, the gleaming airport being located the middle of nowhere. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Hong Kong sea-cat.

Welcome & Check-in

The hotel welcome is friendly and very efficient. The front desk and concierge are really friendly, and know what they are doing. They also speak some English, and remember your name, which is a novelty.

Rooms

The rooms in this hotel are huge. I was offered a paid-upgrade, which I didn't accept, and was very pleased with my basic room, which is the size of a studio apartment. The room had two large double beds, a desk, relaxing chair. It also had free cable internet.

The Beds were rock hard. I have a habit of launching myself onto a hotel bed after a long trip, and on this occasion nearly brusied myself. Chinese beds are harder than western, but this one was hard for Chinese standards. The Air Conditioning actually works here, which is a first for Chinese hotels.

Dining and Amenities

The cantonese restaurant was suprisingly good value for a hotel, offering good quality dishes (duck and ginger hotpot).

The Irish bar was only Irish in name, and was really lacking in atmosphere and style. Food in the Irish bar was from the room service and Pizza menu, and was really poor. I'm not a fan of Irish bars, and this one was a example of a badly run and supervised bar where someone is probably making money from the ladies of the night rather than providing food and beer.

The Lobby cafe is comfortable, has free wifi, and a good selection of cakes and teas.

Concierge is very helpful with maps, recommendations and directions.

I had time for a swim on the roof-top pool, which was perfectly clean, and whilst I was there a lifeguard stayed pool-side at all times. The changing areas were well appointed and spotless.

I didn't try the Business lounge or Business services.

Scoring - If you are looking for a western hotel brand, where service in English can be provided, this hotel ticks all the boxes. Nominally a five star hotel, its closer to a 4.5. With the exception of the Irish bar, it's well run.

Score 4 / 5.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Zhuhai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 299 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

The room is spacious with a warm tone - desk and chair in a separate area that make the room feel bigger. The hotel appears to be well-managed and well-organized overall. I check in late, my key is ready for me. I got a room in high floor as I requested in my reservation note. The staff opened the cab door for me, took my luggage and escort me to my room. The next morning when I open the floor to ceiling window, I have a pleasant surprise that I am able to see the ocean that is several blocks away. The breakfast buffet has a live egg station, seafood and steak, and sushi. I don't get big breakfast but it's always nice to have varieties. Zhuhai's most upscale shopping malls and restaurants are one block away and a harbourside park is another 3 minutes walk. Internet is fast and I can plug in and use without having to agree to any terms and agreement. I think previous review is right that this is probably the best business hotel you can get in this city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyvaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed in Holiday Inn in Zhuhai for 6 nights in July - August 2010.
The hotel was really nice in general and the service level was great.

There are few cons which we need to mention here. The hotel beds were extremely hard and our backs felt like we would have slept on the cement floor already after the first night. We kind of got used to the bed after staying here almost the whole week but still we find the bed really uncomfortable and not upto Western standards although Holiday Inn is informing travellers to be the only 'Western hotel' in Zhuhai.

The other con was the health center located on the 3rd floor. It is not run by Holiday Inn but this place is mention in the Holiday Inn manual and several other places inside the Hotel and the elevator goes directly there from rooms. Therefore we think that Holiday Inn has also resposibilty to check the quality of this place if they recommend their guests to go there. We decided to go this place for a manicure and a english speaking manager informed us that 30 minutes manicure would cause us 98 RMB/ person. We thought this was ok price although we got a 60 minutes pedicure in Shanghai in a luxury place next to East Nanjing road for a 75 RMB including upper back massage.
The manicure in this place was a joke !! The actual 'manicure' didn't last no more than 5 minutes and after this the masseuses proceeded with some kind of back massage and a quick cleaning of ears etc. We were really confused about this but though that they were included as we clearly informed the manager what we wanted. The whole treatment session lasted app. 30 minutes which was the same time that was agreed with the manager beforehand. When we got the bill all the short treatments were charged seperately and the total charge for was app. 400 RMB / person for 30 minutes !!!! We complaint to the manager and suddenly he didn't speak as fluent English as when we entered to the place and almost refused to understand what we were saying ??!! We end up paying 350 RMB/person and left this place really angry. We also complaint Holiday Inn assistant manager about this place but the answer was that it is a different company and Holiday Inn takes no responsibilty what they are doign there. We strongly recommend everyone to stay away from the 3rd floor !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry_Grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Nice stay---spacious rooms. A bit dated but very comfortable. The beds are hard but not exceedingly. Service was excellent and the buffet breakfast was amazing for a holiday inn. It was true buffet style with a huge selection. I got an excellent rate through the holiday inn website.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I have been regular to Piority Club hotel chain. Among the holiday Inn I stay this one is consider one of the best among the Holiday Inn in Asia. Due to I am platinum member and regular at Holiday Inn Zhuhai I was recognized and get free upgrade to suite room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YangWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I stayed there for 10 days below are my comments

Good thing:
1) Hotel staff are very very helpfull & informative. Jason the bell boy was the best. Most of them speak english. They will give thir best tips for us to get aroung,buy,food this that & etc.
2) They can help you to get something ifrom outside 2am if you call front desk
3) My luggage bag were damage once I check out I ask the bell boy help to cover & stick it. He instead took iut to reoair it in 30 min.
4) Some staff have problem in english but theyw ill get an expert make sure we got what we want.
5) Very safe surrounding
6) they provide free shtutte to work
7) The rish bar was not bad. the singers are good & freindly

To imporove
1) Need to get a good map on zhuhai & with english word. The map there are very bad.
2) Some staff nottalyby on F & B need to be polish on service
3) Breakfast buffet need to have more asian variesty fron india, malaysia as there are ,many came from there.
4) MSGare very expensiive
5) Beers are expensive although it duty free

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry_penang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Nice hotel and great service. The room i stayed is a standard but feel like the size of a suite. The shower has really good water pressure which is unnormal in China. A little too luxurious and wasteful.

Staffs are all helpful and buffet breakfast fits my appetite. The only drawback is they only have a outside pool which I didn't dare to try during a thunderstorm season. I would like to visit again in summer and get full service experience in that fitness center.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhuhai hotels
2.9 mi away
Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel
0.3 mi away
Zhuhai Marriott Hotel
Zhuhai Marriott Hotel
#1 of 549 in Zhuhai
224 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sheraton Zhuhai Hotel
Sheraton Zhuhai Hotel
#2 of 549 in Zhuhai
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pullman Zhuhai
Pullman Zhuhai
#3 of 549 in Zhuhai
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Guang Dong Hotel Zhuhai
Guang Dong Hotel Zhuhai
#16 of 549 in Zhuhai
191 reviews
10.8 mi away
Chimelong Hengqin Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Zhuhai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Zhuhai

Address: No.188 Jida Jingshan Road, Xiangzhou District, Zhuhai 519015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhuhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zhuhai
#9 Best Value Hotel in Zhuhai
Price Range: $94 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Zhuhai 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Zhuhai is a 30-storey contemporary design complex located in the prestigious Jida commercial and banking district of Zhuhai. Only 15 minutes driving from Gongbei Border Gate, 10 minutes driving from Jiuzhou Ferry Terminal (from Hong Kong, Shenzhen Shekou and Zhuhai), 45 minutes driving from Zhuhai Airport. We provide complimentary shuttle between Jiuzhou Ferry Terminal and Hotel. We have 320 contemporary style guest rooms and suites including 250 Deluxe Rooms, 65 Deluxe Suites, 2 two bedroom Deluxe Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. Our guest rooms are known as the most spacious hotel rooms in the city. In our five Executive Floors, we provide guest rooms, and executive lounge, conference room, business center with computers and broadband internet access for your convenience. Every room is equipped with air-conditioners, bath and shower, in-room safe, mini bar, environmentally friendly mini refrigerator, coffee and tea makers, data ports, satellite TV and voicemail. Select floors and rooms are designed and provided for our handicapped and non-smoking guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Zhuhai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Zhuhai Hotel Zhuhai
Zhuhai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing