We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but quite authentic.”

Portofino Steakhouse
Ranked #64 of 589 Restaurants in Zhuhai
Price range: $10 - $250
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Portofino Ristorante Italiano is well known amongst the Zhuhai community as being the best place to taste authentic Italian cuisine. Our menu is an array of delicious dishes made up of the highest quality ingredients imported from Italy. Our wines are top shelf and definitely worth a try, just ask one of our friendly staff and we can help you decide which wine will suit your meal best. If you feel like a splurge, be sure to try one of their deserts. Don't Forget to check the specials board that offer monthly specialties that are authentic and rare gems of italian culinary culture. If you are looking for a place to take that special someone, or perhaps the family for the perfect treat, Portofino is the place to go in Zhuhai.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Pricey but quite authentic.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As a Zhuhai resident for many years, perhaps I am spoilt by the ridiculously cheap prices of the local Chinese restaurants, but I do find Portofino expensive. I have eaten at here at least 3 times and the food is always excellent. The service is friendly & competent, with staff who speak good English and can advise on the menu. Pasta helpings are over-large and "doggie bags" were requested by several in my latest group! The fish options are superb as is to be expected in a seaside town like Zhuhai. This is a classy restaurant and would be perfect for entertaining clients or overseas visitors who are tired of Chinese food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zhuhai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Italian option in Zhuhai”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I must begin by saying that my Italian guests liked this restaurant more than me. They know their food and found it to be excellent. I cannot rave about it as much, but this is indeed a very elegant restaurant with very attentive staff and a great chef. Food was good and very tasty; pizza tasted especially quite delicious. I found it a bit overpriced, frankly, and did not find in the food the superior quality other reviewers have commented upon, but at the very least you will find in Portofino an authentic and quality choice, which is very difficult to find in Zhuhai.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very good place to go for dinner. Pasta is nice, as well decor. Its a bit pricey for what is it, however, keep in mind that this is China, and not all the ingredients are easy to get. Chef Luigi was nice and even gave as a free digestive at the end of the meal.
All in all, decent Italian Restaurant, that offers a classic Italian menu, no innovations, with dishes that we are all used to, as you would find more or less in every bigger city in the world.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“exquisite Italian cuisine”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

even the chef is Chinese , Luigi, his dishes are authentic Italian , warm welcoming, great atmosphere ,cosy, soft music, menu in 3 languages, Italian ,English and Chinese, Daily specials , even it is behind pizza hut but his pizza is way in front of pizza hut's one.
YUMMY.
prices are acceptable, we were 2 people had 3 staters then a 4 fromaggi pizza, one bottle of St. Pellegrino, 2 glasses of red wine. paid 340RMB that would be around 54$
Luigi always check his clients about everything, his staff are Excellent, well trained
and we got a free grappa lemoncini at the end.
will go there again and again

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cesar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“3x in less than 2 weeks - always good”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I was at Portofino's 3x over the last two weeks with different groups and it was always good. They have a nice selection of food and actually bring it on the table in a timely manner. The staff seems to be trained quite well. The last group (17 people) I went with was very happy that I picket that restaurant for our dinner gathering.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino Steakhouse also viewed

 
Zhuhai, Guangdong
Zhuhai, Guangdong
 

Been to Portofino Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing