We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Good location. That's about it.”
Review of Huabeike Hotel

Huabeike Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huabeike Hotel
Ranked #327 of 549 Hotels in Zhuhai
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I travel to Macau regularly and the perfect way to save on my lodging is to cross the border and find a hotel in Zhuhai. (Do note that you need multiple entry visa in order to cross over freely. | Do also take note that you can only cross the Gongbei border to Zhuhai or vice versa to macau only between 7.00am and 12.00am.)

Huayu Spring Hotel is located on Lotus road, 10 -15 minutes away from the the Gongbei Port of Entry. Finding it during the first instance maybe a little challenging as the hotel is situated in a small lane. Look out for a sign along lotus road, once you spotted the sign, make a right turn into the small lane and you will be able to see the hotel.

It is a typical transit hotel where there are no services. You checked in and head straight to the room. The person at the counter speaks chinese, cantonese and only a little english. Don't expect any view as the windows are made of opaque glass which makes the room a little dimmed. There wasn't any internet wireless in the room.

I slept well with my partner and the room is big enough for a couple. In terms of cleanliness, i always believe if it can't be seen by naked eyes than it should be clean. I guess this apply to the room that i am staying. The partition between the toilet and the room is made of clear glass but there are curtains that can be drawn to protect your modesty.

There are a few convenience store outside the hotel and you can find plenty of street food near the hotel. I paid about S$50 for a deluxe king per night and stayed for 2 nights on a weekend. I wouldn't mind staying here again due to the location and the convenience. The only problem is that if you are a coffee drinker like me, it is near impossible to find any decent coffee around the hotel.

With so many other similar type of hotels in the Gongbei area, you might be able to find better ones if you search harder, but i definitely have no qualms in staying at Huayu Spring again.

Room Tip: Reserving your rooms online gives you a better rate as compare to the rack rates on offer at the hot...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danzelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Huabeike Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very much different from the published photos of the rooms. Some motels could be far better than this. Room are smelly and not properly clean and the most outrageous was, the glass door at the bathroom is halfway fall and can be very dangerous. Air-con was leaking and my shirt which pllaced on the sofa underneath the A/C was completely wet. Location wise is about 15mins walk to the border gate. The quality should be better based on the rate charged.

Room Tip: No idea as this hotel seems like worse than a motel to me.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcello2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've stayed here 3 days and 2 nights with my girlfriend. We were not too satisfied about this hotel: first, the room they gave us had not enough light, but they said every room of the hotel was like that. Second, as we entered the room we noticed some hair on the bed, so we asked the staff to change a new bedsheet for us (and she complained saying that she just changed it...). Except this, u can smell smoke as you exit the room (very annoying), and the water pressure of the shower is very low. Anyway there are 2 reasons why this hotel may deserve a booking: first it is very cheap, maybe the cheapest of the district, we spent around 300 RMB per night. Second, it is located in a very popular street, you will find every kind of shop and food stand on both sides of the road; and also macau border is only 10 mins by feet far from this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safeyu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Like many of the reviews here, I have to agree that this hotel scores high marks for cleanliness, comfort, and location. I stayed in a room on the 5th floor, a deluxe king. The room was quite with very little street noise. Overall, The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. I am used to rock hard beds in China, but this one had a little give. The bathroom was clean and... well... interesting. The walls are all made of transparent glass with only a curtain on the outside keeping you from looking in on the toilet or shower. Shower pressure was adequate but not very strong. The street the hotel is on has a lot of great option for street dining. I liked that. A 10-15 minute walk puts you right onto the Bar Street. I'd absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to stay away from street noise. Don't expect a view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat_in_hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The review below (in English) really helped us - and we were not disappointed with this hotel. Although you wouldn't find it obviously, if walking past as the entrance is set in an alley from Lotus Rd but the location is fantastic - right in the thick of all the shops, restaurants and beer kiosks.

The rooms were well-designed and full of nice design touches - such as the tiling on the bathroom, the goldfish bowls and the artificial plants. A safe in the room was useful, and the bed soft. The A/C was a little noisy - I switched this off when I slept. I was on the 3rd floor and there was no noise heard from outside.

No breakfast but very clean. You will get a little hassle from the in-house massage but the staff are all cheerful and eager to help - especially one girl at reception in the evening.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChipPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a very convenient hotel for its location. It is cheap and "you get what you pay for". My room had a particularly loud AC and I am sure they are not all like that. For a quick stay, it is fine. You may get hassled by the in-house massage/spa staff but that is part of China. For location to Walking Street (for BBQ and beer) and Gongbei shopping complex, you can't faul it. For the main road, Yinbin, you have to walk a block and a half, but there are taxis going along this road, so it is inconvenient. Next door is the Guangdong Hotel with a great Buffet service - breakfast is only 61 rmb. It is a revolving restaurant on the 29th floor - worth a try! Although the revolving part was not in operation on the morning I visited. But, still a great view and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshuayuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhuhai hotels
0.0 mi away
Jinyu Hotel
Jinyu Hotel
#307 of 549 in Zhuhai
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingdo Hotel
Kingdo Hotel
#14 of 549 in Zhuhai
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guang Dong Hotel Zhuhai
Guang Dong Hotel Zhuhai
#15 of 549 in Zhuhai
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L Hotels (Zhuhai Lianhua)
L Hotels (Zhuhai Lianhua)
#20 of 549 in Zhuhai
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chun Shang Hotel
Chun Shang Hotel
#80 of 549 in Zhuhai
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yindo Hotel Zhuhai
Yindo Hotel Zhuhai
#39 of 549 in Zhuhai
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huabeike Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huabeike Hotel

Address: No.256 LianHua Road Gongbei District, Zhuhai 519020, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhuhai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 549 Hotels in Zhuhai
Price Range: $19 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huabeike Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Huabeike Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing