We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel
Ranked #6 of 537 Hotels in Zhuhai
Certificate of Excellence
Dongguan, China
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Great location”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at the Charming hotel whilst my Mum and Dad visited China. We had 4 rooms x 2 nights and found the hotel comfortable and in a great location at the Gongbei border. This offered great access to Macau as well as the Bar Street and Restaurants in Zhuhai.
The rooms were a good size and clean with good quality beds and linen. The car park was very busy as it is not only used by patrons of the hotel but visitors heading to Macau.
Overall a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    144
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
30
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
c
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, mostly because of it´s location.
(The Hotel is situated practically ON the Gongbei border gate to Macau - Just cross the street and you are there ...)
Also the Lianhua Road pedestrian street of zhuhai is a walking distance (5 minutes) and even the famous Shuiwan bar street is not too far away (10-15 min. walk)
During all my visits to this hotel , I stayed at the rooms facing the border gate square (the hotel calls it "sea view" - although you need a creative imagination that only the people who are responsible for room-naming in hotels have to actually view the sea .) - The rooms are comfortable and quite big , clean and cozy.
Bathroom is big , with bathtub AND shower , clean and with good light (shaving / makeup depends on your gender) - but are totally open to the room. No door, No dividers. This feature is quite strange (and more strangely - it is quite common in china) - but if you travel alone - it presents no real problem.
(At one occasion I was given a room with a closed bathroom - but those rooms have 2 separate beds. Still - it is good to know there is an alternative .In yet another occasion i was showed a back room - that had no bath but a bigger shower.)
I am not a Breakfast guy - but the buffet is big - with enough choices for everyone and the space itself in which it is served is comfortable ,clean and generally a nice place to start the day.
The staff at the hotel is generally very nice , helpful and professional , although their level of English is more or less Null (or very very basic). If you stay with the predicted questions you will be fine .
One nice thing (and again - because of the location) is that at the back of the hotel, at night, the small streets become sizzling with restaurants and food stalls of every possible Chinese province - which are open virtually ALL night . you can just go down at 4.00 am , and you will find good food for very very cheap (from sea food to grill to dumplings and noddles - a small warning must be said regarding this - those restaurants and booths are not for tourists - no one there speaks English and the hygiene is exactly what you would expect from street food in china - but still, if you know Cantonese / mandarin, or if you are with a local friend - go check it out )
Overall it is a reasonable/ good hotel with a fairly good value for money ratio.
Like I mentioned before - I stayed there several times - and I will go back every time I am in zhuhai.

Room Tip: The hotel has a number of different configurations for the rooms - Like always - it is a good idea t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krembo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I used booking.com to book this hotel, as the rates are more than 60% less than the hotel direct. Have stayed here 3 times now, in the executive suite and the deluxe rooms. My tip. the executive is NOT worth the money extra. The deluxe bed is more comfortable, and the room is better laid out. The seaview is the same, only 2 or 3 floors in height differnce. If you request non-smoking, as I do, then only 2 floor below.

Checkin is always easy, and quite good service and English. The dinner buffet on the 2nd floor is great, and worth doing once, but with all the cheap food only 2-5 mins walk, don't be shy to explore.

Breakfast is excellent, plenty of variety, but the opening time of 6.30 is not very strict, so dont expect much service if you come early, staff do not seem to be around till around 7.The food is there, but only chefs in the area.

Room Tip: Go for the seaview deluxe rooms non smoking.....these are floor, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I think I wont be the last to say that this hotel has a great location, sitting just beside the Gongbei border and so shopping is really right at your doorstep. Did not have much of a chance to use the facilities as I was busy shopping. But do go and eat at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Serves one of the best roasted meat I have ever tasted :)

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to admire the views around the hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I was introduced to the hotel by a friend who have previously stayed there. It was suppose to be an overnight shopping trip in Zhuhai and Charming Hotel was indeed the perfect hotel. Found out that there was actually an entrance/ exit to the underground mall just outside the hotel . Super convenient. Went to Zhuhai from Macau and i was glad that i could see the hotel immediatedly after clearing the customs and out of the GongBei immigration checkpoint. No need to take a taxi. Rooms are not huge but nice and comfortable. My friends and i have booked 2 rooms. Room layout is the same except for the bathroom which had a different configuration. Mine had a bath-tub plus standing shower while my friend's room just had a standing shower. Breakfast was acceptable but not fantastic. I had two friends who were unwell and thus, was glad that the hotel served hot soya milk and noodle soup in the morning too. Having stayed at many different hotels before, i am actually very impressed with the procedures and systems that they have implemented. Eg. Toilets at the hotel lobby are only meant for hotel guests to use and they are required to use their room key card for entry. For breakfast, hotel guests are required to produce their room key card and staff verifies by tapping the card on the computer screen. Professional and ease of tracking i would say. The staff at the reception and coincerge were nice and friendly. The coincerge staff helped us to get a cab to the ferry terminal very quickly. We left at 3.30pm, reached the ferry terminal at 3.45pm, bought the ferry tickets and took the 4pm ferry back to HK. I will definely introduce this hotel to everyone who wants to go shopping in Zhuhai. Great location and room rates are very reasonable too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This review is to do justice to the reviews that i read on the hotels which have no new ones since the last review in Oct 2011,

Booked the hotel and was worried after reading some reviews of it esp on its bathrooms with no doors. The ones we stayed for twin room with sea view came with a door like other hotels. But contrary to what we read about a see-through glass panel of the bath tub by the bed, the blinds is of good quality and we cannot see through even with lights on.

The size of the room is very good after our stay in HK. The beds are comfortable and the room is bright. The breakfast was good too, cost about RMB 98 but it is worth it with lots of choice.

The hotel is also very near shopping at lotus street and connected to the famous gongbei underground mall which we can get very good bargains.

Service was also good. As i was checking out at the reception, the cleaner who checked the minibar upon check out, gave a call to the reception to report that we have left some clothings in the room. They immediately sent someone up to collect for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The rooms were fantastic, nice deco... The location is great... Unfortunately, the front desk manager was not. Got bitten by bugs in the room. When checking out, i gave the Front desk manager a tinkle that they should do some pest control in the room. Gave me the sceptical look, and make a phone call to the housekeeping for my check-out. Sadly not even a word of apology... They got a long way to go for customer service...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomoojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhuhai hotels
0.1 mi away
Guotai Hotel
Guotai Hotel
#11 of 537 in Zhuhai
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guang Dong Hotel Zhuhai
Guang Dong Hotel Zhuhai
#13 of 537 in Zhuhai
190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Zhuhai Marriott Hotel
Zhuhai Marriott Hotel
#1 of 537 in Zhuhai
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L Hotels (Zhuhai Lianhua)
L Hotels (Zhuhai Lianhua)
#18 of 537 in Zhuhai
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Zhuhai
Holiday Inn Zhuhai
#8 of 537 in Zhuhai
297 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chimelong Hengqin Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel

Property: Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel
Address: No.32 Weiji Road, Gongbei District, Zhuhai 519020, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhuhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 537 Hotels in Zhuhai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing