We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting History Museum”

Sun Yat Sen's Residence Memorial Museum
Ranked #1 of 114 things to do in Zhongshan
Attraction details
california
Level Contributor
298 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Interesting History Museum”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited this landmark about a year ago and found it to be very interesting for contemporary Chnese history. The residence itself is nothing to brag about, but seems authentic to the period of luxury residence design. The history musem however is much more informative for anyone who likes to know about 20th century Chinese history. It is definitely a highlight for the visit in Zhongshan, China.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    47
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zhongshan, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dr Sun Yat-sen former residence”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Really interesting to visit and learn about this chinese revolutionary who was ahead of his time. You can take a taxi to the village where the residence is, called Cuiheng in Nanleng. It takes about 20 minutes and will cost +- RMB70. Entrance is free and it's well worth a visit to learn about this part of chinese history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank melbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of the most meaningful places I've visited in China”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've traveled many places in China, especially Guangdong Province - and this is one of the most meaningful places I've visited. Getting to know Sun Zhongshan's character better by visiting his home makes me appreciate him even more.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the heaven of seafood”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

near the memorial hall of sun zhongshan(about 10mins if u drive),there is a fishing village.the crab,esoecially in fall,is really delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
322 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Worth allowing a few hours”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Although "ancestral homes" are not really my thing, Sun Yat Sen's home is more interesting for the degree of preservation and in particular the farming ventures that surround the home. It is definitely worth a visit if you find yourself with time to spare enroute between Zhuhai & Guangzhou.

Helpful?
1 Thank zhuhai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Yat Sen's Residence Memorial Museum also viewed

 
Zhongshan, Guangdong
 

Been to Sun Yat Sen's Residence Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing