We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Areas for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 353 Hotels in Zhongshan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Areas for Improvement”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is only 5 minutes of walk from pedestrian street. A lot of old buildings in the area were demolished, giving way to new international chains like Zara. In six months or so, it will look drastically different from now. I personally don't think that it is a good thing.

Starbucks is on the ground floor of hotel. It is a good news for coffee lovers. However, there are a lot of customers who are not the hotel guests due to its convenient location. This in turn leads to some hygiene problems in the lobby toilet in particular on the weekend as it doesn't require a room key to enter. The toilet was smelly and I could even find excrement inside the toilet bowl.

The hotel room was well appointed but tired in some aspects. The bath towels looked very yellow and some holes were found on the towel. Also, the fabric of arm chair was torn and the not-to-disturb light was not working.

The Chinese restaurant offered very good Chinese food at reasonable price. Given the large number of available staff, the customer service is only average. There were 3 staff in white uniform, 4 staff in black uniform and 1 tea lady. The tea lady only appeared when customers arrived to serve tea and collected the tea set after they left. Other staff just stood and chatted with each other most of time. There were no more than 6 tables of customers at all time. While this is not uncommon in China due to relatively low labour cost and fast development of economy, I was still surprised to find this at an international 5-star hotel. Although the food was delicious, this made me feel violently ill, waking up vomiting and suffering diarrhea in the middle of night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to review and share. It‘s terribly sorry to hear your unfortunate experience. We have paid more attention to your review and took measures to examine and resolve. We will improve our guest service and continue to create a perfect experience to leisure and business guests. Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    87
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
31
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We saw the red beaming S and felt relax to know we could have great dinner and a good nights sleep. We were shown to our room which was fantastic everything you could want. The bathroom was well designed and had a good selection on shampoo etc in case you had forgotten anything. The restaurant was spacious and we went for the buffet....if you are familiar with buffet it had a all the regular Chinese regulars but I was impressed but the western style need and chicken that fell off the bone. I managed to concoct a mini roast dinner as i was missing my usual Sunday roast. The following morning after a great nights sleep in a quiet room I headed to Starbucks. I do not feel it is worth paying 15 pound for breakfast when you can grab a coffee and pastry to half of the price. If you are in the area and want some western hotel comforts then this is your hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker make sure you add this as a preference. Don't bother with breakfast and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessLaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your shared and review. We are glad that you have good experience while you stay with us. For your suggestion, we will improve to provide the perfect experience for guest. As you said, our hotel is the best choice for leisure or business in Zhongshan. We are wishing to see you at next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Zhongshan on a weekend in January 2013 for two nights with my wife, 1 year old and 4 year old sons.

Check in was very smooth along with check out. The English of the front desk staff was very good and all staff were friendly. We had booked a room through the hotel's website for 516 RMB a night plus taxes. We stayed on the 20th floor which is a SPG floor (we are members) and were upgraded to a corner room with a great view of the river. SPG floors are from 19-22. We had reserved a smoking room (which we didn’t actually want but were limited in our selection because of the price) but they accommodated our requests for a non-smoking room. We had also specifically requested a room away from the elevator so it would be quieter for our baby and baby bed – both requests were granted.

The fitness center on the 6th floor is nice; there are treadmills, bikes and weight machines in one room. Another room has free weights and a third room has a ping pong table with exercise balls and mats. In the change rooms there is a sauna, whirlpool and showers. The swimming pool was outside but I never dipped in as the weather was too cold.

We did not eat at the hotel; however the price of the breakfast buffet is 149 plus service charge of 15% and the dinner is 199 plus service charge. There seems to be a lobster night on Thursday, steak night on Friday and on Saturday an international classic seafood night. In the room the prices for dinner said 178 plus service charge but the price has gone up to the already mentioned price of 199. That was a bit disappointing that the info in the room didn’t match the actual buffet price.

On a side note, we also checked out the buffet at the newly opened Hilton about 3kms away and the spread was much much more extensive and the price was a little cheaper too at 188 rmb plus 15% service charge (Friday-Saturday rate, Sunday to Thursday the rate was 148 plus service charge). We'll most likely stay at the Hilton in a few weeks time to compare the two newest 5 star hotels in Zhongshan.

Our room had a separate shower and tub and a room with a separate toilet as well. There is a window with an automated blind that separates the bathroom and the bedroom/office. The corner room was very large, easily capable of having 4 king size beds, great for the 4 of us. No ipod docks or (Bose speaker systems) as in the newer Crowne Plazas or Sheraton Shunde in Foshan.

Having a Starbucks on the ground floor was excellent as a muffin on the go with a coffee is very easy as this location is not too busy.

Across the front of the hotel there is a park with a big boat (parked) that you can board, great for the kids. If you go outside the hotel via Starbucks and over the river by the overhead walkway there is a KFC and further down to the left there will be a Burger King opening up along with some higher end shops like Zara. At least the signs are currently there for these shops, stating they are coming soon.

There was no play area for kids at this location but at the Sheraton in Shunde there was.

We requested late check out at 2:00 and the hotel gave it to us without any issues.

Room Tip: ask for river view and a corner room as they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your share and general review. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a good experience while stay with us. As you said, our hotel has good location and view. We are consistent provide the best service to our guests. We are look forward to you and your family will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

On a Saturday morning in January this year, we dropped by the hotel for lunch by around noon. Since we have not made any prior reservation, we were told that a special designated area was ready immediately but the tea cost per head would be more expensive but the area is smoke-free. No problem, and extremely good for non-smokers.

Shortly after we were served, few more people came in and started smoking. We asked the waitress that the area was supposed non-smoking!

After a short while, a lady (believed to be the manager) approached the smokers and said loudly that they should not smoke because of complaint received. It was obvious that the manager was answering our claim since there were just two tables, whilst she seemed very much to be friends with the smokers/frequent customers.

I am definitely unhappy with this manager's attitude, and doubt whether the staff was ever trained what is customer service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KanMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review and suggestion.
I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience at our hotel.
We will pay attention to your review and to improve our guests experience.
Wish you choose our hotel next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
298 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were upgrded to the executive level as a SPG Gold member so we had a wonderful stay at this hotel, with exceptional spacious room and bath, free wifi and happy hours at the executive lounge. The location is great too, adjacent to a beatiful river park and a short walk across to the old part of town. Fantastic night view of the river out the window as it turned out to have great weather during our stay. We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Zhongshan and hopefully will get upgraded again. Best hotel in Zhongshan for sure!

Room Tip: River view rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your shared and praised. We are glad to hear that your had a good experience when you stay with us. As you said, our hotel located in Central Business District. At Qijiang riverside and adjoin Qijiang park. We will upgrade for you if we can. Wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was the best five star we stayed at (of 9) at during our trip. Everything is a cut above the others. The service was excellent as everything else. The bathrobes and slippers were the best of all. Breakfast was unbelievable, you name it, they had it. It was a culinary experience of its own. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your shared. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience while you stay with us. We are consistent provide the best service to our guests. We wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Centrally located in Zhongshan Central Business District. Very spacious & clean. Housekeeping was good and consistent. Wifi included.- Mattress comfortable as with any Starwood chain hotels. Depending on your room, you get a view of the river (brightly lighted at night). -

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerekdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your shared. We are glad to hear that your had a good experience while you stay with us. As you said, our hotel located located in Central Business District. Hotel located Qijiang riverside and adjoin Qijiang park. We promise to provide best service and experience for all guests. We wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhongshan hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
#1 of 353 in Zhongshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel
1.4 mi away
King Century Hotel
King Century Hotel
#5 of 353 in Zhongshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zhongshan International Hotel
Zhongshan International Hotel
#15 of 353 in Zhongshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
#8 of 353 in Zhongshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Zhongshan Xiaolan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
Address: North of Qijiang Park, No.28 Xidi Road, Shixi District, Zhongshan 528403, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhongshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 353 Hotels in Zhongshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, an exciting new hotel conveniently located in a complex that contains dining, entertainment, and retail shopping in the city's central business district. Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, we are within walking distance of commercial buildings, Zhongshan's famous pedestrian street and shopping bazaars. We’re also just 75 minutes by ferry from Hong Kong and a two-hour drive from Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, and Macau.Make yourself at home in our 362 extra large guest rooms, including 44 suites, each thoughtfully appointed with the comfy Sheraton Sweet Sleeper® Bed to ensure a restful night's sleep. Additional facilities include a fully-equipped health club, full service spa, and almost 2250 square meters of meeting space with 12 separate meeting rooms. Two restaurants are offered, including an all-day dining eatery and a Chinese restaurant. Our comfortable lobby bar will be a great place to relax.Zhongshan is a city known for its hot springs, scenic sights, and delicious cuisine. Explore it while staying at a hotel that will feel just like home, the Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing