We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being insulted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 358 Hotels in Zhongshan
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Being insulted”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

On a Saturday morning in January this year, we dropped by the hotel for lunch by around noon. Since we have not made any prior reservation, we were told that a special designated area was ready immediately but the tea cost per head would be more expensive but the area is smoke-free. No problem, and extremely good for non-smokers.

Shortly after we were served, few more people came in and started smoking. We asked the waitress that the area was supposed non-smoking!

After a short while, a lady (believed to be the manager) approached the smokers and said loudly that they should not smoke because of complaint received. It was obvious that the manager was answering our claim since there were just two tables, whilst she seemed very much to be friends with the smokers/frequent customers.

I am definitely unhappy with this manager's attitude, and doubt whether the staff was ever trained what is customer service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KanMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review and suggestion.
I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience at our hotel.
We will pay attention to your review and to improve our guests experience.
Wish you choose our hotel next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    91
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
32
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were upgrded to the executive level as a SPG Gold member so we had a wonderful stay at this hotel, with exceptional spacious room and bath, free wifi and happy hours at the executive lounge. The location is great too, adjacent to a beatiful river park and a short walk across to the old part of town. Fantastic night view of the river out the window as it turned out to have great weather during our stay. We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Zhongshan and hopefully will get upgraded again. Best hotel in Zhongshan for sure!

Room Tip: River view rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your shared and praised. We are glad to hear that your had a good experience when you stay with us. As you said, our hotel located in Central Business District. At Qijiang riverside and adjoin Qijiang park. We will upgrade for you if we can. Wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was the best five star we stayed at (of 9) at during our trip. Everything is a cut above the others. The service was excellent as everything else. The bathrobes and slippers were the best of all. Breakfast was unbelievable, you name it, they had it. It was a culinary experience of its own. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your shared. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience while you stay with us. We are consistent provide the best service to our guests. We wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Centrally located in Zhongshan Central Business District. Very spacious & clean. Housekeeping was good and consistent. Wifi included.- Mattress comfortable as with any Starwood chain hotels. Depending on your room, you get a view of the river (brightly lighted at night). -

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerekdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your shared. We are glad to hear that your had a good experience while you stay with us. As you said, our hotel located located in Central Business District. Hotel located Qijiang riverside and adjoin Qijiang park. We promise to provide best service and experience for all guests. We wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel - very relaxing and luxurious. Service staff are very friendly and helpful. Lovely pool and massive fully equipped gym. Great place to stay, highly recommended! Next door at the Fuhua hotel is a very cheap and clean massage centre. Great to treat yourself at the end of a long day for a foot massage

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherieTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your shared and recommend. We are glad to hear that your had a good experience while you stay with us. As you said, our hotel have a outside pool with garden view and fully equipped gym. We always do our best to provide good service and experience to all guests. We wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having to endure several awful, secondhand cigarettes filled, mosquito infested local Chinese hotels I was in need of decent rest. Sheraton Zhongshan hotel was not only allowed me to have a peaceful stay it allowed me to regain my sanity. Service was friendly and attentive. Unlike many local Chinese hotels, the Sheraton staffs actually smiled and treat me like a human being. I was given a room on the SPG floor on 19th floor where I specifically requested a non-smoking floor. The room was very clean and comfortable. The view of the river was very peaceful. Although the hotel was full, I had no issue with noise. The bathroom was very large and had a separate shower and bath tub. The signature heavily bed was very comfortable and welcoming after days sleeping on difficult mattresses.
The gym had everything you can ask for with the latest equipment available. There is also a steam room and jacuzzi. Breakfast was rejuvenating with huge selection of Western and Asian dishes. WIFI connection is free and available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your shared and review. We are glad to hear that your gad a good experience while you stay with us. As your said, our hotel near the Qijiang River and Qijiang Park have best view in the city. Also we equip the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper(TM) . We will do our best to provide good service and experience for all guests. We wish to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

- Centrally located in Zhongshan Central Business District.
- Stayed at the Club Room. Very spacious & clean. Housekeeping was good and consistent.
- Wifi included.
- Mattress comfortable as with any Starwood chain hotels.
- Depending on your room, you get a view of the river (brightly lighted at night).
- Check in was prompt and the staffs struggled a bit with English. I’m sure there’s someone who can communicate better. But it wasn’t a major issue.
- Starbucks within the hotel building!
- Consistency and reliability from staying in an established chain hotel.
- Breakfast was acceptable (as expected in any 5 star hotel in China) but certainly far from being the best I've experienced.
- There’s not much activity surrounding the hotel. You could visit the newest shopping mall, Lihe Plaza, where there’s more decent retail outlets and restaurants.

Recommended. And good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience. We are gladding to hear that you satisfy with our hotel. We always provide high quality service to our guests. We expect to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhongshan hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
#1 of 358 in Zhongshan
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zhongshan International Hotel
Zhongshan International Hotel
#17 of 358 in Zhongshan
164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
King Century Hotel
King Century Hotel
#5 of 358 in Zhongshan
102 reviews
12.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Zhongshan Xiaolan
0.3 mi away
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
#11 of 358 in Zhongshan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
Address: North of Qijiang Park, No.28 Xidi Road, Shixi District, Zhongshan 528403, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhongshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 358 Hotels in Zhongshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel, an exciting new hotel conveniently located in a complex that contains dining, entertainment, and retail shopping in the city's central business district. Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, we are within walking distance of commercial buildings, Zhongshan's famous pedestrian street and shopping bazaars. We’re also just 75 minutes by ferry from Hong Kong and a two-hour drive from Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, and Macau.Make yourself at home in our 362 extra large guest rooms, including 44 suites, each thoughtfully appointed with the comfy Sheraton Sweet Sleeper® Bed to ensure a restful night's sleep. Additional facilities include a fully-equipped health club, full service spa, and almost 2250 square meters of meeting space with 12 separate meeting rooms. Two restaurants are offered, including an all-day dining eatery and a Chinese restaurant. Our comfortable lobby bar will be a great place to relax.Zhongshan is a city known for its hot springs, scenic sights, and delicious cuisine. Explore it while staying at a hotel that will feel just like home, the Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing