We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously lacking customer service”
Review of Shengyi Hotel

Shengyi Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shengyi Hotel
Ranked #1,104 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Seriously lacking customer service”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My friends and I booked 3 rooms for the weekend, a week prior to our arrival. They gave us rooms all on different floors and refused to do anything to fix it. The manager was the only staff member who spoke English and she was neither friendly or helpful. The staff ignored us at check in and the manager made faces at 3 different customers who spoke to her. All rooms smelled very smokey. My friend called down to reception to request a non-smoking room and the response was to send up housekeeping to remove the ashtray and spray a nauseous air spray all over the room. The showers were moldy and the carpets were dirty and stained. No wifi. On the upside the beds were very comfortable and room service was decent. According to their "motto" the "customer is god" - far from it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    51
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Our stay at the hotel included a full body massage, spa, sauna and foot massage. The rooms were cleaned to good standards, the beds and pillows were very soft and nice to sleep on and we had access to high speed internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad,india
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

it is most braganing hotel,ofcource it is in center of city but not so cofartable.break fast fod are not good for western.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
Thank sonabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver,bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days and here's our review:

For the rates they charge, they need to hire a good housekeeper.Filthy carpets, dirty washrooms, and the towels are greyish white instead of white, overall, they pay very little concern over the maintainance of the hotel.The spa next door is the same.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cisVancouver_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Our supplier recommended this hotel due to the proximity of it to their office.

Stayed in Zense Hotel for two nights and enjoyed every minute of it.

Rooms were spacious, very clean and very cozy. Bathroom was huge but would be better if there was a tub. The room also had free Wi-Fi and complementary bottled water which was religiously replenished on a daily basis.

The restaurant was located a few steps outside the hotel. Buffet breakfast was great but service in the restaurant was not that good probably because the staff understood and spoke little or no english.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maku0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I spent a night here with friends. We stayed overnight not in the hotel, but in the spa itself. Upon entering, one is given a locker and wrist band with corresponding number, a huge fluffy towel and shown to the shower area. Afterward, guests are given cotton pajamas and have the choice of a sauna, three jacuzzi pools, and a steam room or you can head directly out to the massage areas. We enjoyed manicures, pedicures, and foot massages in a room filled with enormous cushy chairs, each with an individual TV. There is also a restaurant area, and billiards and movie rooms on different levels. Following the foot massages, we went to another area for three hour body massages. There are single and double rooms for body massages, and a separate wing for Thai massages. I had a Hong Kong massage with oil, while my friends have traditional Chinese massages and all were satisfied. A room in the spa is free with a three hour massage, and we all slept comfortably in a room for six. No beds, but the floor itself was thickly cushioned and we were given luxurious comforters and pillows. The following morning, we showered and changed in the well appointed locker room - no need to bring shampoo, lotion, conditioner, toothbrush or toothpaste. All this for 450 yuan - less than $80 USD. There is a free shuttle to the hotel at the Lo Wu border crossing. We will surely go back. The only catch is that little English is spoken. Take your phrasebook or a friend who can translate as we did.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Nantou
Orange Hotel Shenzhen
Orange Hotel Shenzhen
#78 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
108 reviews
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
895 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#49 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#48 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
230 reviews
Dongmen
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
#128 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
413 reviews
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#41 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shengyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shengyi Hotel

Property: Shengyi Hotel
Address: No.2 Wenjin Middle Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,104 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shengyi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Shengyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing