We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”
Review of Cruise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cruise Inn
Ranked #48 of 2,781 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Mumabi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It's one of a kind hotel in a real cruise ship. The interior is so thoughtful and done with a great taste. The bay area in evening reminds of a board walk in Atlantic City and have world class food options including an Indian restaurant called Bombay. The sports bar in this hotel is also excellent. The breakfast on the top floor of the ship was refreshing and lovely.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjayDedhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
9
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Check-in was fast, the room was clean and staff were polite.

Bed was truly as per what others had commented - hard and not comfortable

Price was pretty high. Perhaps that's the price you have to pay for a clean hotel room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glencch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel is actually a cruise ship, brought when the sea still was there a few years ago, then the place was dried up and now the area is a very modern, up to date walking streets area with very nice eateries, cafe's etc.
The room, as it was born as a ships cabine is relatively small but nice. it has a large window overlooking the piaza (closed with an electric shutter when needed), a smallish bathroom.

my reservations:
You need your magnetic key to activate the elevators, which is annoying.
As the structure is made of steel (a ship), it is very noisy - you hear everything that hits it, being footsteps or moving furniture or whatever. I woke up a few times from thundrous noises when someone arranged the deck furnitures... there was also a singer in the attached hall, the sound traveled evrywhere (and my hearing is not too keen).

The location is AAA though.

Room Tip: Maybe it's better not to be on the fifth floor, as it is the upper one, just under the deck/rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikyheimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Whilst on a business trip the party I was with did a tourist day to She Kou and we had a drink on this ship that is just on the main tourist area, it was fun and very very hot, the place during the day was strangely deserted of tourists, but we enjoyed their hospitality. Worth a visit if you are in she kou

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Do not stay here for the rooms, the service, the location or the food. No, stay here only if you have a true appreciation for over the top "China kitsch" that leaves you shaking your head in bemusement. The hotel is a cruise ship that has had only minimal alterations made, and it feel more "Poseidon Adventure" than "Love Boat". You risk vertigo as you walk up sloping hallways to your small stateroom and look out portholes on the Shekou boardwalk. Starfish and shell motifs abound. The bar is call The "Ex-T-Sea". Decent German restaurant on the Lido deck. You get the picture. It is certainly worth a visit if not exactly "Exciting and New".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mriguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The hotel in in a fantastic location. Food of all varities,Starbucks, bars and shopping are all within walking distance in a nice area of Shenzhen.

It is also a short 5 minute taxi ride to the ferry terminal, if you want to head to Hong Kong or Macau.

The Szechuan restaurant located toward the bow (outside enterance) has great spicey Szechuan food for a reasonable price.

Breakfast buffett is poor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldeesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I went to china with my husband for some business meeting. Since the client stayed near shekou so we had no choice but stay near by. The hotel rooms are clean but the whole hotel stinks like there is lots of stale food around. They really need to invest in some air freshners. Alos the housekeeping needs to learn some or rather lots of manners. If you don't answer the door by second ring they use their master key and just barge in which is so irritating. towards the end i was so irritated, partly because of the language too, that i didnt bother saying anything.
And right, the bed, i dont know what makes them think that people can be comfortable on a water bed or a bed as hard as a rock. Total disaster. I developed a really bad backache. We didnt eat in the restaurants there except for breakfast which i didnt bother eating from second day onwards. And i ate just oats and fruits. So can't really comment on their food quality.
The front office staff is very helpful and cheerful and tries to answer all your queries and concerns in their little english that they know.
Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shekou
Shekou Haitao Hotel
Shekou Haitao Hotel
#183 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
32 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#9 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
678 reviews
Shekou
Ming Wah International Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
No.6 Crystal Garden Hotel
#52 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
26 reviews
Shekou
Honlux Apartment
Honlux Apartment
#42 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
87 reviews
Shekou
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
#30 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruise Inn

Property: Cruise Inn
Address: Sea World Shekou District, Shenzhen 518067, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shekou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 2,781 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cruise Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Cruise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing