We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for foreigners”
Review of Honlux Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Honlux Apartment
Ranked #43 of 2,781 Hotels in Shenzhen
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
235 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Convenient for foreigners”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Good option in Shekou, close to ferry to HongKong international airport and in a neiborhood full of restaurants frequented by tourist and expats.
Hotel is just fine. Breakfast is chinese, few options for pure western people. Staff is mixed of kind people and some not so kind.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiElisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    50
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
12
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I really like the Honlux. I've stayed here a couple of times now, in 2012 and 2011: the rooms were newly-renovated and very clean, it's been very calm and pleasant, and the location is great. It's very close to Shekou port (the best way to enter China from Hong Kong airport, using the ferry, if you ask me), opposite the tube station if you want to get to downtown Shenzhen, and next to Seaworld Square with its restaurants. The staff are very helpful, and Shekou, with its big expat population, is an easy-going introduction to mainland China.

Minor gripe that the rooms overlooking Seaworld Square can get a bit more noise, not that it was really a problem for me, and the double glazing is pretty good, but if you're a very light sleeper maybe ask for another room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is very nice and recently renovated, I was surprised with how light the rooms are. The lighting in most hotel rooms is dismal as best but here their are multiple lights even in the bathroom. The internet is fast and visiting overseas website does not seem to be a problem unlike other hotels in China. The rooms are a little noisy as they only have single glazed windows and being right on the main square with many bars and restaurants, just be aware. 10 minutes walk to Shekou ferry terminal and about 15 minute taxi ride to Shenzhen bay check point. Plenty of Western and Chinese places to eat within a 2 minute walk.

All in all a great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms they are much nicer and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanePev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Having stayed in the Ming Wah for the past 10 years on a regular basis I was very disappointed recently to be told that they could not find me a room at short notice. My agent in Shekou booked me into the Honlux Apartments. I was presently surprised with the Honlux checking in very easy compared to the Ming Wah, also all of the hotel & apartments have recently been refurbished with very tasteful decor.

They also provide free breakfast & 3 free items of laundry daily, staff are very good all speak good English very use of business PC. Breakfast is not a knock down fight and good section. I have now given the "Old Ming Wah " a miss, wish I had found the Honlux sooner....they now have my support on a regular , every month.

Room Tip: Not going to say because you might take mine !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank oimpy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Arrived here late evening and my room was taken. But they upgraded me to a suite. But doesn't matter much though. Was a little noisy at nite because my room was facing the Seaworld Sq. Following day, my room given was neat and pleasant. Location is very close with many restaurants nearby. Close to the Shekou Port...only about 10min in a taxi ride.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CSC1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with students attending a conference nearby. The location was good. There are a lot of restaurants and shops right outside the door. The basic breakfast was decent. We also had a complimentary afternoon tea that was nice. There was a great disparity in hotel rooms. The students had newly renovated rooms that were in great condition. I thought they were a great value for the price. There were many amenities like slippers, shaving kits, free laundry service that upped the score for me. The single rooms we were assigned were pretty old and kind of smoky. Just had an 80s feel to them. We could hear the people on the outside area for most of the night. Luckily, I can sleep through just about anything.The bathrooms were good. I was able to see some of the business suites and they were very nice/updated. The bathrooms were the size of a Hong Kong apartment. We had a few issues in terms of additional charges trying to be added. It was eventually worked out to our satisfaction. We were able to use English for communication with the staff. The beds were a little hard, but the bedding was comfortable. I liked that they had up to 5 drinks per day for free-water, Tsing Tao, Coke, and Sprite. I would stay there again for the prices.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for rooms in the updated section. Look out for the smoking rooms and the rooms that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almhult, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice and clean rooms. Refurbished rooms. Breakfast was rather basic. Good location at Sea World. Very close to restaurants and bars. Near the ferries to Hong Kong. Hotel staff had poor English skills.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shekou
Cruise Inn
Cruise Inn
#48 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
98 reviews
Shekou
Shekou Haitao Hotel
Shekou Haitao Hotel
#160 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
32 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#9 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bao'an District
Hengfeng Haiyue International Hotel
Overseas Chinese Town
Seaview O City Hotel
Seaview O City Hotel
#37 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
320 reviews
Shekou
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
#30 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honlux Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honlux Apartment

Property: Honlux Apartment
Address: No.32 Taizi Road, Shekou, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518067, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shekou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#42 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Honlux Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Honlux Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honlux Apartment Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing