We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel for business or pleasure”
Review of New Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Times Hotel
Ranked #331 of 2,767 Hotels in Shenzhen
United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great hotel for business or pleasure”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

this hotel is my go to hotel when i am in hong kong for business, close enough to the luohu border and within walking distance. centrally located near shops, metro and malls. hotel staff are very courteous and they recognize me each time i visited, learn to know the floor manager and you will be well taken care of. once it was raining, i called the hotel and they send a car out to pick me up at the luohu border. now who does that?

rooms are very clean and large even by china's standards. staff are very responsive to your needs, price is very reasonable comparing to others around the area.

i stayed at this hotel 2-3 times each year and i highly recommend it! but get to know the staff and floor manager, they will take care of you.

Room Tip: non smoking rooms are on the top floors, just ask for them. get to know the floor manager and staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiml549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    75
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the New Times Hotel during a recent trip to the Shenzhen area with a group of colleagues.

Checkin was a bit painful. They lost the reservation for one member of our party and refused to honor non-smoking rooms requests until we complained to the manager.

The room was clean and decently furnished. The bed was a bit firm for my taste, but I still got a decent night's sleep.

Breakfast buffet was just OK, and but I can't really complain too much since it was relatively cheap when compared to the buffet at other area hotels.

Internet service was wired only, no WiFi and provided decent bandwidth.

All in all, I would consider this hotel to be a decent and acceptable choice, but not the best in this price range for the Shenzhen area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank linzerhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elcosmopolitano
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is really average in every way. Unless you have business in the Luohu area I would not recommend it and I would only recommend it for business travelers on a budget. There are a couple of really nice hotels in that same area. The style is distinctive Chinese which can be good or bad depending on your taste. None of the staff spoke English apart from the reception. Service was again.... average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcosmopolitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance to the Shenzhen railway station and major department stores. The local traffic is always busy due to the proximity to the railway station. We tried to hail a taxi around 6pm and after 5 minutes we gave up and walk to the mall 3 blocks away.

The hotel service is average at best. When I asked if there was WIFI the receptionist told me the lobby coffee shop has it. After browsing through nearly 10 hot spots, I gave up. There does not seem to have any WIFI connection in my room either.

The room is average. I had a room overlooking the main street and I was no bothered by the noise. The room interior seemed dated with a tube television. There was CNN, BBC, HBO and other international channels. Aside from the WIFI issue, everything functioned properly in the room. On couple of occasions, I could hear people talking through the wall from the next room.

The next morning I arrived at the buffet breakfast at a little past 10am. I was told that breakfast was served until 10:30. Well, nearly all the food was gone and the staff was already packing the leftovers. It was very disappointing.

I will most likely try another hotel next time when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

very good hotel..well managed and good service...well behaved staff....nice location............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very good location, at the center near shopping malls, close to the border check point.
Big room and furnish with all necessary amenities,
TV set is still CRT but not LCD.
the hotel fail when he provide only one breakfast for a room for two and charge 38RMB for 2nd one.
At the front desk they claim that for that price of room (80US$) additional breakfast will cause them lose :(
What a pity.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zvika_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I have been staying here since last 3 years and do not wish to change my Hotel in Shenzhen
Most convenient for Business people Centrally located , clean , large rooms and helpfull staff .
The rates are reasonable also, they take good care of regular guests.
Always recommend this to my associates .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atul6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Modern Classic Hotel
Modern Classic Hotel
#259 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Luohu Port
Baoxuan Hotel
Baoxuan Hotel
#154 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Hotel Kapok Shenzhen
Hotel Kapok Shenzhen
#151 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#46 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Luohu Port
Shenzhen Friendship Hotel
Shenzhen Friendship Hotel
#583 of 2,767 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Times Hotel

Property: New Times Hotel
Address: No.4018 Jiabin Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 2,767 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Times Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your New Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing