We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only reason to use this hotel is because there is no other choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen
Ranked #3 of 2,792 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Only reason to use this hotel is because there is no other choice”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

You must be considering a business trip to this location because there isn't much else here. The bay would have been very nice before over-development, but now it is spoilt with superficial buildings. The hotel is a dated, albeit newish, monstrosity. LOBBY is oversized and tacky - no personality or intimacy. ROOMS - our room had a putrid stale musty smell that quite frankly felt noxious (eventually they moved us to a damp room that at least didn't smell noxious, probably because they had removed the carped to reveal a 2-tone floor), the wallpaper is peeling and mouldy; the phone speed dial buttons are not programmed correctly, the carpet was wet, as was the case in many rooms (aparently because of a recent typhoon but nothing to do with the terrible quality of construction); BATHROOMS are nice & big but our shower didn't work. Bathroom windows without blackout blinds means it is not possible to get up when dark without waking your partner; STAFF - very nice but in need of attentiveness training except the bar, where they just need training. RESTAURANT - defrosted, BREAKFAST - like feeding free-for-all and the in-room breakfast included very small portions (a quarter danish)

Room Tip: Chose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anglotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_wt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedbacks. The strong typhoon “Vincent” passed by Shenzhen last week. Our resort was experienced some damages which caused some inconveniences to our guests. We sincerely apologize for your uncomfortable experience this time. The resort is now undergoing the process of maintenance; necessary actions are taken to make sure your next stay is pleasant and comfortable.

Regarding your concerns about the service standards and the portion of food, we have immediately notified related departments and will look into the problems.

Again, thank you for your feedbacks in details and we will try our best to make necessary improvements and ensure your next stay is a memorable and pleasant one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    492
    58
    17
    6
See reviews for
124
75
36
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here on business for a few days. Had a great room overlooking the sea. Lovely room with a superb view and very peaceful. Nice gym and good outdoor area to go for a walk.
Excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly but not always competent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for Starwood Preferred Guest level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Change777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you love the hotel ambience, facilities and the view. As you mentioned in comments, Resort is an oasis of Shenzhen, the beachfront location provides stunning views of South China Sea, and is designed for you to a higher level of eather vacation enjoyment or business trip.

We are very pleased that you are satisfied with our excellent breakfast. For your comments about our staff, we’ve communicated with the training department and they will conduct certain training and take actions to improve their service.

We look forward to having you back soon at the Sheraton Dameisha Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

the view from balcony is beautiful! great location; not far from the city.

but the room is kinda humid; I slept ok when I was there

and the food is not impressive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_wt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking your time for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you love the hotel ambience, facilities and the view.

We regret to hear that you were not fully satisfied as the room was humid. The resort is just step-away to the sea, if you open the door to the balcony, the feeling of humid is unavoidable. We hope this did not cause too much uncomfortable.

As for your feedback on the food, the team has well received and will improve the quality of food and service to make sure your next dining here is enjoyable.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The first impression of the hotel was good, inspiring a grand view and friendly staff.
I will write about the incident, which are present in this lovely hotel and we have spoiled our short stay.
First the Chinese for some reason all the time to do something: to clean dirty dishes from the table and put it in a certain definite order, rattling with terrible when you're trying to enjoy a beautiful morning, what a drag equipment and move the tables, although have dinner, and it could be done before the opening of the restaurant, well, a rack of the pier from 7 am until the night I have no words at all, and yet what is at 10 pm under the windows of the royal rooms for $ 250, well in general peace and quiet of their guests a little worried ...
Yeah, forget about vayfay, we must make an appointment to bring you some router. A maid service only after a call to the reception? They come in and cleaned, try to be polite, but forget to hang up the second coat and leave the dirty rag in your bathroom!
Separately Tell about an Italian restaurant - do not go there in any case - badly prepared, and about cocktails and say nothing, in my mojito is not poured rum ...
A hotel with a good design and good location, lovely pool, a kind of charming, but give the same to enjoy it all! How can you spoil it all?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_wt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedbacks and we sincerely apologize for the unhappy experiences during your stay. For your comments about our restaurants, we’ve communicated with the F&B team and they will conduct certain training and take actions to improve their service and the quality of food and beverage. As for your feedback on the housekeeping service, the team has well received and will continue providing proper training for new associates to make sure that they do the right thing. Finally, regarding the problem of the noise, we’ve noticed and communication with related organization has been done to avoid further issue.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed here for three nights for a business trip. The price is absolutely five star level comparing with other ones in Shen Zhen, however, the service is just three star on average. I found a nice magazine near my bed and hope to finish the reading the next night. However, housekeeping simply took it away when s/he cleaned my room without any notice. It is kind of rude since I haven't finished my reading yet. The tennis court is poorly maintained since when we wanted to play we found there were lots of rain on the court, obviously no one mopped it. The tennis balls provided was also used ones though being put in a brand new box. Most of the staffs are friendly except the one who I asked for helping calling the cab for the next morning since I will leave early. He told me I do not have to book it since it will be rather easy to find a cab in the moring. However, when I checked out, I found there was no cab and it took ten miniutes for the other boy to call a taxi for me! What a shame for Sheraton. The main reason for the poor performance is, I guess, the management are locals...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Youhanguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_wt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations.

The examples you have detailed are regrettable, and please rest assured that they have been noted in our efforts for continuous improvement and training.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Personal Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel on least 5 occasions. Despite its varying services and being expensive, I love this hotel. Its unusual architectural design and its sea view justifies a visit. All rooms comes with sea view. Its also the only hotel I have frequented among hundreds that you can literally hear the smoothing roar of the tides. The beach itself however is nothing special.

The hotel can be too popular for its old good. During summer times and especially on weekends, the hotel is as crowded and noisy as a night market. Unless you are living in the executive/clubrooms, expect to join a dragon long queue for breakfasts. In short, not very relaxing when you have to fight your way with running kids, old hags and the retired in fighting for a table to sit on.

The spa/massage area is expensive but you get what you pay for i.e excellent display of massage skills. You will also experience excellent display of upsell and makreting skills as the cashier would usually push you to join some membership or purchase some expensive lotions which can be annoying. Mind you, I am a cheapskate and not into 3000rmb lotions with or without a female companion.

Starwood club benefits for late checkout may not be honored during summer times. With my last stay in January 2012, I was upgraded to an enhanced room (i.e. top floor) as a starwood gold member. From memory, these was the first time I was upgraded as a starwood member.

Staff may not be as attentive as what you may expect from a 1500-2000rmb/night hotel. I don't blame them however as often the ratio of staff to patrons may be 100:1. Okay, I am exaggerating but you get the drift.

In brief, stay here at least once to experience the roaring tides from the comfort of your room. Avoid this hotel if you expect top notch services all day, every day, every time.

Room Tip: During summer months, bring mosquito coils or repellants to the hotel if you want to keep the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymondteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_wt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear SPG Gold Member,

Thank you for your feedbacks.

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in your recent stays. Due to the high occupancy in peak season, our hotel is busier than usual, which may be noisy and difficult to arrange an upgrade. We all understand that we should never give away the quality of our service, no matter how busy the hotel is. We are seeking a better arrangement in the peak season to make sure you feel comfortable during your future stays.

As for the problems you mentioned about your Spa experience, we will report your feedbacks to our Spa team and make sure they are aware of the issue and avoid it in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I will be arriving this property in Dec with my family of 8, ages ranging from 4 to 70. I have not stayed at this hotel but after reading all the reviews, I have some concerns about the service we will receive. It is obvious that this property's management is aware of all the service issues raised by the reviewers and has taken the time to address them but I can't help but notice that guests continue to complain about similar issues (unhelpful staff, poor maintenance of public areas, inattentive service, etc). I'm sure this is not a good forum for discussion but I want to make sure management reads this and addresses future guests' concerns and reservations about staying at this property. Have all of these issues really been addressed and how is it addressed?

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bl181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
899 reviews
Dameisha
Kingkey Palace Hotel Shenzhen
Kingkey Palace Hotel Shenzhen
#60 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#7 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
1,297 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#4 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen

Property: Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen
Address: No.9 Yankui Road, Dameisha, Yantian District, Shenzhen 518083, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dameisha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shenzhen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Shenzhen
#2 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#21 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#59 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the breathtaking Dameisha seashore of Eastern Shenzhen, Sheraton Dameisha Resort is surrounded by Wutong Mountain with picturesque view of the South China. Fusing nature and the beauty of the mountains, the resort is embraced by flourishing subtropical plant and a huge lake-like outdoor swimming pool of around 4000 square meters. The harmony between the architecture and the surrounding nature defines expressive design aesthetics. All 386 guest rooms each feature a large balcony with sea view, where you can sit around, drink tea, free your mind, as well as enjoy spectacular sunrise, sunset and aquamarine sea landscape. The two-kilometer golden beach, where you can step straightly from the base floor, paints a warm and romantic vision outside the city. The 12-storey main structure was designed by the famous Terry Farrell & Partners (England). Inspired by a soaring dragon guarding the South China Sea, the “dragon head” of the building is supported by six huge pillars. With floating auspicious clouds, the “dragon” seems ready to fly up high and glide in the air. The vault design of the lobby depicts a dazzling pearl inlaid on Dapeng Bay. The ingenious idea of a dragon embracing a pearl fully expresses the essence of Chinese traditional culture. When you step inside, the fresh and transparent modern component against a layout of five traditional Chinese elements makes you feel propitious, relaxed and happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Dameisha Resort, Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dameisha Hotel Shenzhen
Sheraton Shenzhen
Shenzhen Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing