We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Ranked #29 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The rooms are very clean and the view from our room was amazing. The staff is very courteous. It's very close to a metro station, which made things so much easier, especially since it is so hot outside in the summer. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    345
    162
    48
    24
See reviews for
66
78
61
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This is a nice hotel, but far from the advertised 5-star. Orignally I was given an occupied room. The housekeeping staff mysteriously stopped cleaning the room halfway. Rooms larger than normal, but ammenity kit was 3-star. Nothing objectionable, but the reason the rate is low is because this is not upscale. Chinese restaurant is ordinary in a city of some great places.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Plus- Check in/out was a breeze. Helpful conceirge. Booked 2 deluxe twin room with a lovely bay view. Requested for adjacent and connecting room but none were granted. Were allocated on the same floor rooms away. Lovely interior decor and plush sofa bed and lightings. Rooms were huge. Lovely beds. The bathroom have separated tub and shower tray. Complimentary newspapers and drinking water. Good selection of TV channels. Rooms are truly 5 star.

Minus- Location was bad for leisure travellers. Although the metro is at the door step, it takes 25min to the main shopping area. Vicinity is purely commercial and not much activities at night except a few eateries at the back of the hotel. Doorman was cold towards us perhaps we were there for leisure and not in business suits. No liftman to hold the lift for us, esp when we have our luggage. One of the safe box was faulty. The other room had faulty air-conditioning which doesn't seem cold. One of the room has cigarette buds left behind by the previous tenant. Bathroom doors are designed can't be locked. Room had no kitchenette area as described by the room desciption in my booking voucher. Lift lobby was small for a 5 star hotel.

Leisure travellers do stay away from this hotel unless you are on business trips. Would not stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanmale_tods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I stayed here for 5 nights in the beginning of April 2009. The reservation was made through the Accor hotel website. I booked a superior queen bed room including breakfast and complimentary internet access as well as daily newspaper, working out to about RMB 3300 all-inclusive over the 5 nights.

I had a bit of a difficult experience getting to the hotel from the Shenzhen Bao'an airport because I didn't have the name of the hotel or address in Chinese but I knew the name of the metro station in Chinese which the hotel is located directly opposite and that proved to be enough.

The bellman and doorkeeper were friendly and helpful upon arrival. The reception staff member could speak English, which was good even though I have reasonable conversational Mandarin.

I was escorted to my room together with my luggage. The room struck me as being very large and spacious, something I've noted to be the case in a few hotels in China. It was nicely decorated and comfortable. The bed was a little firm but that suited my preference.

It was nice to have the complimentary broadband internet on hand, which was efficient and quite fast.

I was able to get access to a wide selection of TV English channels and CNN was also available, although it was unavailable at one stage but only for a short while.

The water in the bathroom gave off an unusual smell and was a little off-colour. It might be best not to consume it either while brushing teeth or having a shower. The hotel provides two complimentary bottles of purified water per day.

The hotel is thoroughly business in character. There were clearly a lot of business people around, some for meetings and conferences. Perhaps the hotel didn't provide the sort of homely feel that I would prefer, since I wasn't on a business trip.

I was able to get breakfast four times at the Monsoon Café and Lounge and the variety was good, there was a fair spread of Western and Asian food. The Monsoon is a spacious dining outlet with a high ceiling and plenty of natural light.

The location of the hotel is quite far from the city centre, assuming that the Luohu area is the centre. However, it's actually closer to the theme parks and tourist attractions in the western area of Shenzhen, such as the Windows of the World or Splendid China theme parks. Besides, the hotel is just across the road from Zhuzilin Metro station and there are quite a few attractions just a few metro stops away. Personally, I found that there were some nice shopping centres directly connected to a few metro stations going along eastwards. Coco Park would be the main one, it's only 3 stops away and has some interesting shopping and food outlets. I've tried both the Korean and Italian restaurants there and they were nice, reasonably priced. Holiday Plaza is 3 stops away going westwards and it's a also a quality shopping centre. There are quite a few more shopping centres along the metro route.

The hotel itself is located in Futian district, which is mainly a business area but the advantage for me, as a tourist, included that it wasn't densely populated and the area had quite new sections but also had a few older sections, which gives an interesting mix. As an example, just behind the hotel you get an older area but in front of the hotel, the area is completely new.

One of the less positive aspects of my stay included my room location. It seemed to be located next to a housekeeping storage or staff base section because I kept on hearing doors opening and closing right next to my door and I could see a door in front of my door. It was getting a bit annoying after a while.

The promotions within the hotel seemed good value but weren't, such as a voucher on the writing desk giving a RMB 50 credit for a haircut within the hotel's salon. It turned out the whole haircut for a male was RMB 200 which is very expensive for a haircut anywhere in the world. So, the RMB 50 credit offers some doubtful value. I just took the haircut, it turned out to be just average. I'd recommend going to a shopping centre for a haircut.

Another problem was with newspaper delivery because even though the rate included an English newspaper, it was only delivered for one day out of four.

Overall, the hotel satisfied and it was reasonable value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

The room was standard 5-star hotel and very clean. Our room was very large and there was a large space between the bed and the window for kids to play on the carpet. However, I found the room was lack of lighting. The bathroom was flooded from the shower water and you have to use your imagination to create a barrier at the end of your bathtub so the water won't be flowing to the floor.

The breakfast was great with so many varieties and several type of cheeses. The table was scarce and we were sharing table with a loud Chinese woman who practically screaming to her mobile.

I would recommend the hotel to other traveller due to its close proximity also with Window of the World and the Chinese Folk Center.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slow elevators
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LivyLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed at the Oriental Ginza in Shenzhen for 2 nights during a business trip, and it was better than I expected. The staff was very helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered plenty of options for even a picky western food only eater like me. The tv system must have been updated, because I was able to get CNN and a few other English tv channels in my room. This hotel is only 10 minutes by car from my company's Shenzhen office, so I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Staff, clean rooms
  • Disliked — slow elevators
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwilliams31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

I have been staying at this hotel almost full time for more than 6 months. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Staff is friendly, responsive and very accomodating. As noted in other reviews, the hotel is right next to the Zhuzi Lin metro station and Shenzen's metro system is excellent, modern and clean. Hotel has an excellent health club facility with friendly staff. Very good restaurant facilities.

However, for American business travellers be aware of two drawbacks: 1.) internet connection speed is very often much slower than experienced in other hotels; and 2.) Mercure cable TV system no longer shows US cable channels ( CNN, CNBC, Discover.)

English language news is available via BBC and occasionally via one of the Hong Kong cable channels. Bloomberg business news available for approximately 5 hours after midnight on one of the Hong Kong cable channels.

  • Liked — Very friendly, responsive, accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Unpredictability of internet connection speed; discontinuance of USA cable channels
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#15 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
281 reviews
Huanggang Port
Four Points by Sheraton Shenzhen
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Che gong miao
Shenzhenair International Hotel
Shenzhenair International Hotel
#32 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
326 reviews
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#19 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Property: Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Address: Shennan Blvd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Zhuzilin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shenzhen
#20 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#20 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza is located in the Futian business district, next to Zhuzlin metro station and only 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel features 481 rooms with a choice of bay or mountain views, 3 restaurants, 4 bars, a nightclub, fitnesscentre, sauna and indoor heated swimming pool. The port of Huanggang and the Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre are only 15 minutes away. Conference and meeting facilites are also available for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Accor Oriental Ginza Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing