We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience of the stay in the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Ranked #26 of 2,844 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in the suite with my wife on 19/F.

My right to access the executive lounge was not recognised and was questioned when I accessed the area.

The reception was not able to locate my membership number when I checked in.

The hotel room did not give me comfort. It needs refurbishment and the design requires upgrading. The balcony view is partially blocked by the walls of adjacent room which I think nothing can be done. Also, toilet did not impressed me at all. The layout looks a bit awkward. Also the the shower area is too small.

During breakfast, I could see flies flying around. As for dinner, quality of food is in acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ngyingpiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. Meanwhile ,we are very sorry to hear some of your dissatisfaction, we've sent your feedback to the relevant departments and follow up, we hope to avoid this problem happen again Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 794 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent 4 nights here and enjoyed the very spacious room. It was clean and well maintained.
The metro station is right in front of the hotel which is very convenient for getting to Luohu, Dong Men, SEG & various other popular shopping areas in Shenzhen.
Found a laundromat on the ground floor of the department store behind the hotel which did a fantastic job with our dirties! We were told there was another on the 4th floor of a supermarket bldg behind hotel but we were not able to find that one. KFC, Bruce Lee restaurants behind the hotel too.
Glass windows are rather thin in the room as we could hear traffic noise from the 17th floor.
We enjoyed our stay and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us.We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's very nice experience that we had when we visit SZ. Hotel located very near with Metro (MRT) entrance gate, just few stop away from Windows of the World and also Splendid of China (good for traveling family). Hotel staff are very friendly even not all of them understand english well, but they're trying to help. Nice and spacious hotel room, very comfortable for family (we're 2 adults with 2 children - teens)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank andretanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located as it is just next to the Subway station.Rooms are good size but only offers free internet and not wi-fi. There are quite a few restaurants around the hotel if one wants to try other foods.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BeijingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent location. It is just next to the MTR station.
Spacious room. Well equipped gym room.
Good quality food serviced in the fish food buffer dinner.
It will be better if the hotel can install 'double layer' window in order to further eliminate the traffic noise from the highway.
The staff are carrying smiling faces most of time. Feel safe during staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hotelHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I usually come to shenzhen for business and i usually stayed in other hotels because i got someone to fetch me all the time. But this time i ask my wife to join me after i have done my business for a little bit of holiday and shopping so choose hotel that are near to MRT for my mobility.

We stayed for 4 nights and we stayed in executives floors. Breakfast is a bit boring after 2 days as it is the same each day. Should have difference dishes on one or two dishes each days.

Everybody is helpful in the lobby area until the last night we want to have late check out as our flight is at 23:20 at night. The reception personnel told us we can have late check out only up to 14:00. We told him that our flight is very late in the night but he told us that the hotel is full. So understand and left. The next morning after breakfast, we didn't give up and ask a different reception and we told her that our plane is very late in the night and to our shock she said "since you stayed in the executive floor you can have late check out at 16:00".

Therefore we knew the previous guy is trying to be nasty to us. If management of the hotel are reading this, please re-educate your staff to be consistent with guest entitlement, especially those that who are really genuine in needs in the foreign land. We are glad to show are tickets to show our genuinity.

As we are frequent flier to shenzhen, this is our first time we stayed in this hotel and overall we are happy with the hospitality and location of the hotel that are very near to the MRT.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Redmarlboroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Meanwhile, we are very sorry to hear some of your dissatisfaction about the whole service and facilities, we've sent your feedback to the relevant departments and follow up. We really apologize for the uncomfortable during your stay. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that there will be another opportunity for us to renew your experience at our hotel.
Yours faithfully,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for 4 years as our company had a rate agreement. As price has been going up, witness the service quality, food , cleanness of the rooms have been going down in past year and a half.

It's a pity because the hotel has really good location, and some staff I got to knew worked very hard.. Another example of bad management ruining an otherwise excellent brand and property?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orbito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. Meanwhile ,we are very sorry to hear some of your dissatisfaction, we've sent your feedback to the relevant departments and follow up,we hope to avoid this problem happen again Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huanggang Port
Four Points by Sheraton Shenzhen
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
321 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Che gong miao
Shenzhenair International Hotel
Shenzhenair International Hotel
#38 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
327 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,844 in Shenzhen
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Address: Shennan Blvd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Zhuzilin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shenzhen
#13 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $80 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza is located in the Futian business district, next to Zhuzlin metro station and only 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel features 481 rooms with a choice of bay or mountain views, 3 restaurants, 4 bars, a nightclub, fitnesscentre, sauna and indoor heated swimming pool. The port of Huanggang and the Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre are only 15 minutes away. Conference and meeting facilites are also available for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Accor Oriental Ginza Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing