We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms OK, convenient location but declining quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Ranked #29 of 2,791 Hotels in Shenzhen
China
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Rooms OK, convenient location but declining quality”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've been going to this hotel for a few years already, mostly because of its very convenient location at the heart of Futian, right in front of the "Zhuzilin" metro station, 10 mn by taxi from Coco park and OCT. Rooms are spacious, facilities are nice (gym, yoga room, indoor pool...) and lunch buffet is a rather good value for money (138 CY plus service charges, including sashimis and a selection of fresh seafood). In summer, they also have a nice outdoor grill restaurant serving barbecued dishes and rose wine. However disappointment comes with service efficiency. Ever since there has been a change in management a few months ago, staffs are now seriously lacking efficiency and training: very average English proficiency, rather long check-in procedure, staff getting easily "lost" with modes of payment (we wanted to pay a part of our stay in cash), unable to understand room service orders through the phone etc...
Lobby could benefit from a little refresher too: dusting-off the yellowish-curtains, replacing artificial flowers by fresh ones, removing the completely useless, out-of-date "souvenirs shop" in front of the lifts (green crystal cabbage anybody...??).
While previous Management Team worked very hard to raise this hotel to 5 star standards, it seems to me now that the new Team in place is living on reputation only, and not striving for quality improvement. Unless you have a corporate rate program, I believe there are much nicer hotel options in the Futian area (JM Mariott, the new Langham etc...), much more in line with the "5 stars" standards you are in right to expect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acidinmyfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Meanwhile ,we are very sorry to hear some of your dissatisfaction about breakfast and carpets and so on,we've sent your feedback to the relevant departments and follow up,we hope to avoid this problem happen again. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that there will be another opportunity for us to renew your experience at our hotel. We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours faithfully,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    345
    162
    48
    24
See reviews for
66
78
61
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A professionally run hotel deserves high praise. Even after a slight oversight, management was quick to compensate. Don't forget the Metro which is within easy walking distance and just across the highway. Courteous staff... what more can one say? ...maybe an extra white by the glass?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wide-eyed1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our environment and service. Your kind words have been passed on to our staff and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This might have been a pleasant stay at one time, but the upkeep is in decline. The carpets need serious cleaning or replacing. The lighting is very dim and the overall feeling dull. I've stayed a dozen times at Grand Mercure hotels apart from this one, though there are still no benefits kicking in for Accor Club membership. Other memberships like IC Hotels (Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inn) are much more rapid and generous in terms of member benefits. There is little incentive to keep choosing the Grand Mercure brand of hotels particularly with surprisingly mediocre offerings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacepandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza during your recent visit to Shenzhen and for sharing your appreciation with us. Meanwhile ,we are very sorry to hear some of your dissatisfaction about Le-Club thing, we've sent your feedback to the relevant departments and follow up,we hope to avoid this problem happen again Once again, we would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

For visitors who are only staying for a night or 2, this hotel will serve its purpose. It is located in a pretty fine location (I got to agree with some that there is really nothing much to do and eat around the hotel but metro station is just right in front of the hotel and few stops away from major shopping malls and food districts) and the room is spacious enough for two. Most of the hotel chambermaids are relatively friendly and helpful.

Other than the abovementioned good points of the hotel, I can't really think of any other compliments for this over-rated hotel.
~ Breakfast is overpriced and they serve almost the same food daily. The cereals taste pretty stale.
~ It is about time to upgrade the elevator... when i say slow, i meant really slow.. nevertheless, the elevators are famous for bypassing your floor.You got to be patient or you may want to leave your room slightly earlier if you have an important appointment to attend to
~ Front desk service is mediocre... they have improved their service (in terms of politeness towards guests) but still slow when it comes to processing.
~ In-room dining food variety is limited and there was once, they even missed my order
~ Pretty dim rooms and carpets definitely need shampoo-ing more often

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoong_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneYuan, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Meanwhile ,we are very sorry to hear some of your dissatisfaction about breakfasts and carpets, we've sent your feedback to the relevant departments and follow up,we hope to avoid this problem happen again. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that there will be another opportunity for us to renew your experience at our hotel. We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to see you again soon.
Yours faithfully,
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huanggang Port
Four Points by Sheraton Shenzhen
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#14 of 2,791 in Shenzhen
283 reviews
Che gong miao
Shenzhenair International Hotel
Shenzhenair International Hotel
#32 of 2,791 in Shenzhen
326 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Seaview O City Hotel
Seaview O City Hotel
#40 of 2,791 in Shenzhen
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Property: Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Address: Shennan Blvd, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Zhuzilin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shenzhen
#20 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#21 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza is located in the Futian business district, next to Zhuzlin metro station and only 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel features 481 rooms with a choice of bay or mountain views, 3 restaurants, 4 bars, a nightclub, fitnesscentre, sauna and indoor heated swimming pool. The port of Huanggang and the Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre are only 15 minutes away. Conference and meeting facilites are also available for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Accor Oriental Ginza Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing