We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Poor communication between the Hotel and the on-line booking agent HotelClub.com” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Shenzhen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Ranked #14 of 2,672 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor communication between the Hotel and the on-line booking agent HotelClub.com”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a room for 3 adults via hotelclub.com, unfortunately we found out that we were given a room with 2 small size beds and the room was so small that there was no space to add an extra bed. The hotel only provided us towels and bathroom utilities for 2 persons. Also, we have indicated that we wanted to have a non-smoking
room in the hotelclub.com web page, but when we check in, the front desk still asked us if we want to have a smoking or non-smoking room. We called hotelclub.com for help, and explained to them we had booked a room for 3 adults but now the hotel had given us a room just fit for 2 adults. They said it was our fault to book such a small room, we should book a bigger one. It was not acceptable to have such answer from a big agency like hotelclub.com. We indicated that we wanted to have a room for 3 adults at the very beginning, and the web site recommend the room for us, we suppose that the room with 2 beds that can fit 3 adults and should have 3 sets of towels. Finally the hotel gave us a corner room, a bit larger, but still with 2 small beds and 2 sets of towels. Later we checked the hotelclub.com web site, we couldn't book a room for 3 adults in this hotel. They have made some change after our case and this indicates that hotelclub.com and the hotel understood that giving a small room for someone booking for 3 adults was not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameskwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    274
    60
    12
    7
See reviews for
20
26
30
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall a pleasant experience with friendly staff, a great location, great breakfast selection, clean and well maintained guest room. Chinese restaurant is not my best pick for authentic Cantonese food, but club lounge has some nice offers to make for a great stay. The gym is well equipped and one of the best places in the hotel, same as the lovely outdoor pool.
Would for sure stay again, specially due to the location and the price compared with nearby competitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifelongExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipa, Ilhas, Macau
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two day Marco polo hotel Shenzhen hotel near bank,shopping center same restaurant and night bar this time in Shenzhen holiday we are very lucky for traffic

I stayed two day Marco polo hotel Shenzhen hotel near bank,shopping center same restaurant and night bar this time in Shenzhen holiday we are very lucky for traffic

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serdar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Once upon a time, the Marco Polo Shenzhen was not only my favorite hotel in Shenzhen, it was my favorite hotel in South China. I travel all over China for business and was always happy to stay at Marco Polo Shenzhen. The staff knew my name. They knew what I liked. Everyone was always friendly. Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. The service has taken a nosedive and on a good day can only be described as "good enough that I didn't have to scream at someone to get what a 5-star hotel should have offered in the first place." Satisfied isn't even a word I am comfortable using. Cafe Marco is the worst of all. I haven't had a trouble-free dining experience there in well over a year (breakfast excluded). The front desk is slightly better, only because they do have occasional good days mixed in with the frustrating debacle days.

The worst part of it all, is that year after year, the hotel keeps raising prices, especially in the restaurants, while service is falling. Restaurant prices are now on par with Shangri-la and other 5-star luxury hotels. In all fairness, Marco Polo has stepped up its buffet offerings, but it is nowhere near Shangri-la or Ritz-Carlton. Unfortunately, the prices are.

The worst part is, I now dread coming because I don't know if it is going to be one of the pleasant experiences of the past or yet another blow up at the staff to fight tooth and nail to get what should rightfully be offered for the prices charged and the name Marco Polo. Really disappointing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchanlifat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
126 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is becoming old and worn down. Upon check in, got informed that no more non-smoking rooms available. As we insisted, 2 more non-smoking rooms magically appeared. Bf buffet is ok and good. Otherwise, not like a real luxurous Marco Polo anymore

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Marco Polo Shenzhen is my choice of stay when I needed to be in Shenzhen for work and have stayed here for 3 other occasions previously. Unfortunately the stay this time round wasnt as comfortable as it used to be. I was informed they are unable to provide me a non-smoking room when I checked in (I had requested for 1 when I booked the rooms). I had to 'volunteer' for a downgraded room in order to get a non-smoking room. I started getting nasty bites on my arms from the 2nd night ownards and the bites started getting worse each subsequent night.
I would advise the bed in room 2211 be changed..

Other than that, location is perfect and the cleaniness is always there...Thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeroless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Marco Polo is a full-service hotel with large, comfortable rooms. The staff speak English pretty well. It's in a good location in the Futian district of Shenzhen, and is more affordable than some of its nearby competitors.

Downsides:
- The thumping beats from the nightclub across the street can be heard in the rooms until at least 2 AM every night. This is not under the hotel's control, but it could be bothersome, and guests should ask for a room on the side of the hotel farthest from the nightclub.
- On the bill, there were several items marked "service charge" that I was told were actually taxes. If they are taxes, they should be listed as taxes.
- The chair at the desk in my room was too short and couldn't be adjusted upward. Only a problem if you're going to be spending a lot of time working in your hotel room (as I did).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side will probably have the least nightclub noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,672 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#11 of 2,672 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Futian
#9 of 2,672 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#7 of 2,672 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#13 of 2,672 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Civic Center
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
#20 of 2,672 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Shenzhen

Property: Marco Polo Shenzhen
Address: 28 Fuhua 1st Road, Futian Cbd, Shenzhen 518048, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#16 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#42 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Shenzhen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Shenzhen is located in the heart of Futian Central Business District, with close proximity to the Shenzhen International Convention & Exhibition Center and Metro Subway Station. It is only 15 minutes to the Lowu Railway Station and Shenzhen Bay Port, 20 minutes to Shenzhen North Railway Station, 35 minutes to Shekou Ferry Terminal and Shenzhen Bao'an Airport, and 10 minutes to Futian/Huanggang Checkpoint. The 391 well-appointed rooms and suites are equipped with broadband Internet access, luxurious bathrooms, state-of-the-art communications and entertainment facilities. Situated on the 35th to 41st floors of the hotel, The Continental Club provides the most luxurious accommodations for travelers. The 31 function rooms including Marco Polo Ballroom and one auditorium, can accommodate up to 3000 people and provide the ideal Shenzhen venue for meetings, seminars, and social events. The hotel has 5 restaurants and bars, including the Cafe Marco, serving a fusion of "Euro-Asian-Chinese" cuisine, Margarita Bar, Connect (Lobby Lounge), Carrianna Chiu Chow Restaurant, Nishimura Japanese Restaurant and Wine & Cigar Bar Le Cru. The hotel's fully equipped Fitness Center includes a gym, sauna, and outdoor swimming pool, and hotel guests can indulge in relaxing spa treatments at the internationally renowned Pure Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Marco Polo Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Marco Polo Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing