We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Ranked #1,335 of 2,829 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here several times and never really anything to complain about.
Check in is efficient, porters and check in staff are polite and courteous.
Rooms are a nice size, but the Wifi reception is very poor, the only thing that really lets the rooms down.
Hotel lobby bar has been upgraded since last stayed there, and is much better, but the waiting area within the reception area needs more seast, especially for early morning and around 5-6 o'clock when people are going and retruning to the hotel.
Location is good for Coco Park which has a number of bars and restaurants in easy reach.
Breakfast is as you would expect from a Chinese hotel, lots of Eastern food with some Western, but it does the job.
Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshjacksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 701 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Enjoyable two night stay in March 2012. Presentation of hotel was excellent and service exceptional. Lunch @ restaurant also good. Great location: short walk to metro and nearby restaurant strip. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geenie_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendamin W, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Marco Polo Shenzhen and taking time to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I know the title of my review is contradictory, but so was the hotel. It was a good hotel and it was annoying. On the surface, everything is beautiful. With the staff, it was a constant annoying up-sell.

Overall, the hotel Hotel is beautiful. It is impeccably designed and styled. It make me do a double take in some spots. 5-stars for appearances, no questions. It was beyond that, it got a bit rough.

The bed was not good. It looked soft, but it was bad. It had been long day of travel and work, and when I sat/dropped onto the bed, I felt a jolt up my back. I got a decent night sleep, but it may have to do more with just sheer exhaustion then with sleeping on a firm mattress.

What was really bad for me was the constant up-selling and nickle and dimming by the staff. I've traveled in China before, and on this trip, I had already been here for a week, but still, I felt the constant push up on prices. This happened on a small scale, like in the hotel restaurant to the large scale, with the concierge. The greatest travesty was when I asked for help with transportation to cross the border to Hong Kong. I asked for the "cheapest" way to get to the border. They tried to sell me their limo services at a cost of 1800 Yuan (US$ 280). I knew there were cheaper options, and I asked about the ferry (they didn't know) or trains (they weren't sure). When another guest, who was in earshot, heard this, she started telling me about taking the bus, then the concierge remembered there was a train to the border which cost just a few Yuan. I got to the border for about US$5. Thanks for nothing.

If I was to do an Organizational Assessment of the hotel staff, I would say they are scarred to death and they have been pressured into up-selling everything. They were all very nervous, and in both meals I had at the hotel, I was handed feedback cards, while they stood over me to make sure I filled them out. I think if hotel management relaxed the pressure on them, this would be a good hotel (and they changed the beds).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgm_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at the Marco Polo Shenzhen for 2wks in March 2012 for busines. The hotel was great.... food was good and reliable (both Western and Asian options), very clean, great location. The bed was hard but this seems to be the norm in Asia I find. Definitely no complaints and it was great hotel I would stay at again. Staff was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lis5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendamin W, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Marco Polo Shenzhen and taking time to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Hotel is in a nice section of the city only a couple of blocks from Coco Park Mall where there are lots of shopping in the evening lots of outdoor cafe/bars. Take advantage of the breakfast in the hotel restaurant, they have both Asian and Western food on their buffet and is done really well.

The spa is nice and is open until midnight.

The hotel wine bar is a little bit weak, but you at least you have an option.

Stayed here a couple of times and would stay there again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Take the walk a couple blocks away and enjoy the evening at one of the outside cafes at the Coco Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendamin W, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Marco Polo Shenzhen and taking time to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Very good international hotel. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Good restaurant for breakfast buffet. I got the "corporate rate" yet paid RMB1,000 per night, so a little on the expensive side. But hey, it is Shenzhen and everything here seems more expensive compared to the rest of China. Only other downside is not many decent restaurants (for business) close by, but there are many a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLfromWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendamin W, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Marco Polo Shenzhen and taking time to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed only one night in this hotel. Overall everything went well besides the fact my room was clearly smelling of cold cigarette although I had asked for a non smoking one. Location was not extremely central or lively - at least that's what I felt during this one night stay. Breakfast was OK. Good point is the free wireless connection in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
Hilton Shenzhen Futian
#19 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
248 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#12 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huanggang Port
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
#61 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
57 reviews
Wyndham Grand Shenzhen
#21 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
154 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Shenzhen

Address: 28 Fuhua 1st Road, Futian Cbd, Shenzhen 518048, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#70 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#199 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $91 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Shenzhen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Shenzhen is located in the heart of Futian Central Business District, with close proximity to the Shenzhen International Convention & Exhibition Center and Metro Subway Station. It is only 15 minutes to the Lowu Railway Station and Shenzhen Bay Port, 20 minutes to Shenzhen North Railway Station, 35 minutes to Shekou Ferry Terminal and Shenzhen Bao'an Airport, and 10 minutes to Futian/Huanggang Checkpoint. The 391 well-appointed rooms and suites are equipped with broadband Internet access, luxurious bathrooms, state-of-the-art communications and entertainment facilities. Situated on the 35th to 41st floors of the hotel, The Continental Club provides the most luxurious accommodations for travelers. The 31 function rooms including Marco Polo Ballroom and one auditorium, can accommodate up to 3000 people and provide the ideal Shenzhen venue for meetings, seminars, and social events. The hotel has 5 restaurants and bars, including the Cafe Marco, serving a fusion of "Euro-Asian-Chinese" cuisine, Margarita Bar, Connect (Lobby Lounge), Carrianna Chiu Chow Restaurant, Nishimura Japanese Restaurant and Wine & Cigar Bar Le Cru. The hotel's fully equipped Fitness Center includes a gym, sauna, and outdoor swimming pool, and hotel guests can indulge in relaxing spa treatments at the internationally renowned Pure Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Marco Polo Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing