We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an alrite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Ranked #143 of 2,829 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Travelled from hongkong and stayed for a night at this hotel. Plus point is definately the location. Its just right outside exit D of laojie station... you wont miss it!

The hotel is undergoing some reno so reception is at level 5. The passenger lift reeked of cigarette smell but we were told by the hotel staff that its a non smoking building as the govt just passed the no smoking regulation.

Check in and out was ok and the staff were quite accomodating. Need to pay rm600 refunable deposit.

Room was big, toilet quite clean ..there's also a sofa area and writing desk in the room. The free WiFi was very unstable, connection keeps dropping and you have to keep reconnecting, its very irritating.

Like what other reviewers shared, no free water given, so please prep your own.

Dongmen shopping district is near and the the dongmen ding f&b complex has many choices. Try the Ye Mei steamboat if you are there. Cheap and good.

If you are into some hong kong food, popular places such as tsui wah, da jia le cha chan teng are also nearby.

Though location is good, I noticed that there are nearer hotels to dongmen shopping district such as hyatt. So will prob consider other options when I next visit shenzhen. If you are a budget traveller, then ztl hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 418 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in early January 2014 for four nights. The location of this hotel is very good, the subway station is opposite the hotel, and there are many eateries in the vicinity of the hotel. You will be spoilt by the choice of restaurants. The famous shopping area, Dongmen is only 5 minutes away by foot. It is an ideal location for food and shopping.

However, the hotel is not very well maintained. On the day of checking in, I spent nearly the whole of the afternoon contacing the hotel front desk to rectify the many defects in the room. The lights, the water tap in the bathroom, the air-conditioning were not in fully working conditions. The plus point is that the house keeping and the technical staff responded to my call swifty and did the rectification professionally. My room rate did not include breakfast, and it cost me RMB 30 per person for it. The choice is rather limited, and the quality really did not match the quality. It would be better to take a short walk around to have your breakfast. Unlike many hotels in China of the same class, this hotel does not offer two bottles of Mineral Water free of charge.

On the whole, my opinion of the hotel is neutral. If I am in Shenzhen for shopping and food, I would probably come back to this hotel. It is not really expensive, as I paid RMB 410 per night for a spacious room.

Room Tip: Take high floor room as the surrounding can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuasiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for a family holiday just last week. Previously when managed by Days Inn was absolutely fantastic with a excellent location. Now it is terrible.

When I arrive with the family 3 luggage bags and 2 backpacks, NO PORTER SERVICE NO BAGGAGE assistance.

I stayed in the Deluxe Suite, good price. Guess what No Water provided not even 2 bottles. Paid RMB 5 per bottle. Not too expensive but why dont they just provide drinking water like everywhere else considering it being at least a 4 Star.

They don't even have the basic tape for boxes and money changing services.

I have to agree with the other travellers about breakfast. Book the room without it and pop by the nearby Mcdonald's for a BIG BREAKFAST.

However location is all it has!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lets start with the positives..the location is excellent..metres from the station...metres from Dongmen. Using the Metro you can get to just about anywhere. Reception staff spoke & understood reasonable English, so another positive. The twin room was spacious and bathroom neat with good water flow. The big downside for us was the breakfast. A very limited choice for Westerners; white bread, boiled eggs, chicken sausage. They even serve peanuts in the shell. No-one's making eggs. Orange juice was warm. The cereal was cornflakes or rice bubbles, not always fresh, though the milk was cold. For a few days, ok. For more than that stay elsewhere. Also, the airconditioning was not very effective.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roachie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stay here for 2 night. I booked 2 room from online site. Arrived at 6pm in Shenzhen, so we just use taxi to take us here. From other review on the online site and this site, I told my brother and his gf not to expect much. Since we just looking for a place to rest at night and spends all day outside. Only one staff can speak english,her name is Lina. But other staff also friendly and try to help a lot if you can speak mandarin. The room is so average, just like 3 star hotel in my country. A little bit weird smell but we don't really care about it. We try to check the bed and bathroom, it's clean. That's enough. This hotel have a great location for shopping and foods. You just have to walk around the area, you can find lot of kind of food. There is free wifi in this hotel, but I can't use it from my room. Ask about it to the staff, they just say that sometimes connection not working well. I end up sit at the lobby to use the wifi. Anyway IMHO I think this hotel prob used as love hotel by local people, because they put and sell some adult stuff in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuiTaiLang69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

ZTL hotel is right smack at the shopping area in Shenzhen. It's very convenient. There's a shopping street just 15 minutes away full of good bargains!

FREE WIFI, i love that a lot. Another thing i want to highlight is they serve great dimsum at their in house restaurant! Delicious, Big portion, Affordable price!

Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms are just average, cleanliness is also just average. It's 40-45 mins away from the airport, it helps if you leave early to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I visited this hotel on 11apr2013 and booked a suite through an online site. When i reached the hotel, the bellboy was extremely friendly and offered a good service.

However, when i entered the room which i was allocated to which was 302, i felt unpleasant. There was a smell of fungus in the room as well as the room looks extremely old with wallpapers falling off on the sides.

That was my experience for the afternoon.

When i returned from my shopping in the dongmen shopping street, i was very tired and wanted to wash up and go to bed. However, when i took a short rest on the sofa, i felt an itch on my leg. slowly, my whole body started to itch and i realize its the sofa being dirty. Well thats alright as i thought not many people would bother. However, when i went to bed after washing up, i realize the same thing happening on the bed. i was itching all over my body and i couldn't take it anymore. I was lucky that i have a anti itch dusting powder to ease the itch.

Throughout the night, there was knocking and furniture moving sound on the level above us. It was so noisy. If the hotel has to renovate their meeting room or prepare for something the next day, i would recommend them not to disturb the guest in the rooms.

The hair dryer was place in a bedside table drawer and i didn't know. when i called the housekeeping i was told off in a very rude manner. Totally hate it and would not stay in this hotel anymore. A good alternative might be Sunon hotel just next to it. Im not very sure as i have not stayed in it.

Totally horrible hotel. Not recommended unless you do not have any other choice.

Currently in HuaQiang Plaza Hotel and the executive rooms are already far above standard for a slightly higher price and its just 2 stops away from LaoJie station.

Room Tip: Rooms are very dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesmondCheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#64 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
236 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#49 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
292 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#41 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
530 reviews
Luohu Port
Kaili Motel
Kaili Motel
#295 of 2,829 in Shenzhen
198 reviews
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhong Tai Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhong Tai Lai Hotel

Address: No.57 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zhong Tai Lai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star, 166-room Days Inn Shenzhen is located in the city’s famous commercial center, Dongmen shopping street. It is about 100m away from the subway and about 5 minutes away from the railway station, and about 40 minutes’ drive from Shenzhen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zhong Tai Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing