We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting hotel- do not stay here.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shenzhen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Master Hotel (Shenzhen Taining)
Ranked #1,269 of 2,769 Hotels in Shenzhen
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disgusting hotel- do not stay here.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one month in a two bedroom 'executive suite' and what a terrible month it was. The air conditioner broke six times and none of the staff spoke English so we had to converse through a translator app. When they would come to 'fix' the air-con it would often take them hours to come and we would have to wait in the sweltering heat in the dark. By the sixth time it broke I finally got to speak to the manage who 'promised' me it would be fixed that night, which it wasn't but did get fixed the next day, just took 3 weeks for them to change it in the first place.
The door to our room didn't close properly so in order to stop the alarm sounding every time you entered the room you had to slam the door so hard the balcony windows rattled, this again took 3 attempts to be fixed.
The toilet broke and didn't flush so again had to get an 'engineer' to fix it.
One of our group's kitchen fan spontaneously caught alight at 3am in the morning on the 31st floor and he was forced to put the fire out himself as the maintenance man took too long to come.
Something was stolen from my room and upon confronting the manager she showed me blurred cctv from the corridor of the floor which showed nothing (no surprise) and left it at that.
Room was cleaned once a week on a Thursday except the day my personal item went missing when my room was cleaned on a Monday even though we were checking out on the Wednesday.
Location is ok about a 15-20 minute walk from Tienbei metro station on line 3 (Longgan line) and there is a supermarket just across the street, and that really is the only positive about the whole place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleM2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at Master Hotel Taining for 15 days in December. We booked a suite with kitchen. The facilities and cleanliness of the Hotel we just ok. Other Master hotel at BaoAn is much better. Once despite our repetitive telling to the waiter to not serve anything with pork, we were served pork. Fortunately we identified it early!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singhshalender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Relative good residential locastion, with nearby shopping. Easy access to town. What's best is the apartment style (living plus bedroom) at a good price! Staff is friendly and efficient. MUST try the Chinese restaurant (breakfast included), and good for lunch and dinner, AS WELL!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

We booked this hotel on (--). We had originally planned to stay at the Metropark on Dongmen as we loved it last time but it was fully booked.

This is a fully serviced apartment hotel with 1, 2, and 3 bedrooms all with kitchens and living rooms although the executive floors had fully fitted kitchens including hob and dishes whilst economy had just fridge and counter with a few cups.

We paid around £170.00 for 5 nights for 5 adults and 2 toddlers.

We were a bit worried as we could not find much information on this place and when at LuoWu station, many taxi drivers did not know where is was!

It was a nice surprise then when we arrived and found it to be quite modern and tastefully decorated. The reception/lobby is medium in size. The staff were slightly stand-offish at check-in and throughout our stay (5 nights) although we fared better with the porters and cleaning staff.

The lifts took forever and considering its about 30 floors or so high with at least 10 apartments per floor, 2 lifts were not enough!

When we reached the room, we were very surprised at how spacious it was. There was a separate kitchen, a living/dining room complete with sofa coffee table, tv, dining table and chairs and also a small baclcony overlooking the side of next door.

There was a small shower/toilet room and 3 bedrooms which ranged from a ensuite large double to small double and then single room.

There was a slight musty smell although the place was very clean. We did not realise that the boiler had to be turned on by ourselves so sent for someone to check on the lack of hot water! Maintenence were quick to respond, also asked about the big gap between bottom of shower frame and floor as water ran all over floor making it very slippery but was told this was normal!

The restaurant was not too expensive, dinner was around 200 RMB for 7 people.

This is a great place to stay if you are a family or have a big group as there was so much space. The real downside though is the distance to the shopping areas such as Dongmen which although is within about 5 minute driving distance, with the traffic took up to 20 mins.

This place is fantastic value and would definately recommend it!

  • Liked — The amount of space and value for money
  • Disliked — Distance to main shopping areas
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#18 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#12 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#7 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Hotel (Shenzhen Taining)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Hotel (Shenzhen Taining)

Property: Master Hotel (Shenzhen Taining)
Address: No.183 Taining Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518020, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Sungang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,269 of 2,769 Hotels in Shenzhen
Number of rooms: 119

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing