We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf - if you can get a start time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen
Ranked #24 of 2,781 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Luxemburg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Golf - if you can get a start time.”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The first thing you have to realise about Mission Hills is that they don't need guests. The main concern is to sell memberships and property to the well-off locals. They seem to be successful in the selling of memberships as there are very few free start times for guests.
As a hotel guest in MH Dongguan, everything about the hotel is good enough, bars are ok, restaurants are not bad, rooms are well enough equiped, spa is good, but the swimming pool is a good 5 minutes walk away from the hotel in a different property. Breakfast is also served in the Golf club - 8 minutes walk away from the hotel - good luck trying to find the breakfast room on the first morning. Don't expect to see many people - very few guests.
Now for the Golf!!!!!
The good - 5 courses played (all from black tees). Annika - good, Leadbetter - Very Good, Nicklaus - Very Good, Norman - Great course - especially for players with low handicaps. Faldo course is awesome - brilliant layout - playable for all golfers - screws with your head and will wear you out mentally every time - a must to play.
Note to MH - please ask the caddies to rake the bunkers and not just throw the rakes at the sand. One bad lie in a bunker can really spoil a round, but 4 bad lies from 4 bunkers is just frustrating.
THE BAD!!!!
Try to book a start time not previously arranged - impossible. No start times - all reserved for members. We reserved a time the following day, only to have a note passed into the room at 9pm telling us we cannot play golf due to no start times - even though we booked. Luckily another course had 'A' start time, but why did no-one tell us that.
When checking in for your start time you have to pay a deposit covering your round + RMB 500 for any drinks out on the course. This would be ok if anyone could explain this to the golfers prior to paying. Staff gave lots of smiles, but no information. Frustrating. After round credit card refunded in full, then charged for the round and drinks. Crazy system, but trust me - THEY DON'T CARE.
Now lets go find our golf bags. Initially chaotic and unorganised - no bags. After the first day when our bags were numbered, went like clockwork, but too late - worried every day about where our clubs were.
So fight with golf reception, get a caddie, sit in a buggy, wait for permision to drive to the 1st tee - welcome to production line golf. You also have to sign a form promising to be a good boy and keep up with the speed of play.
Caddies have little command of English, but are helpful to your average golfer on clubbing and putt lines. I tested all my (golden) caddies and constantly got wrong distances. One exception was Zhang #11010 who gave me good distances most of the time, but admitted when she didn't know.
Summary - I would go back to play golf, but would not look forward to navigating through the entire golf check in system. Also very expensive. (St Andrews Old Course is cheaper to play!!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gaz_Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    68
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
23
7
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at Mission Hills during a recent trip to China and took advantage of the golf, hotel and spa offer for one night. Firstly the hotel- its is vast with many different lounges and room but because of that lacks any real atmosphere or charm. It's very comfortable but even on a Saturday night there were only 3 or 4 other guests around which made the place feel empty.
The spa is very nice and I had a good massage as part of the package which was very professionally done. The room I stayed in was huge- the bathroom was bigger than most bed rooms and bed and sitting area enormous and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.
I played golf of the Sunday on the Olzabal course- it was a really good test with some excellent holes but not a course for a novice golfer.The caddies were good fun, spoke some English and we had a good time but overall the round took 5 hours so there was a lot of waiting,
I enjoyed the golf but would try to stay elsewhere and book a tee time next time

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Playing golf is an ok experience. We played the Ozaki course. I was not very impressed with the design of the course, a lot of not-logical placed bunkers. The course is well kept though and in the evening, you can even play on this course as it is lit. The caddies were friendly but not able to speak properly English and therefore to really be an assist.
I was not satisfied with the hotel accomodation. The rooms are outdated, and many of them have wood floors, which makes a lot of noise when furniture in other rooms is being replaced. The worst part is the fact that this hotel has a lot of connecting doors between hotel rooms and as a result you can literally hear what the guest next to you is doing and saying. Unacceptable for a hotel with such a premium image.
Hotel staff is friendly and hospitable. Food is good.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with a connecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Database M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I would have to say that I did'nt expect such a vast green enviornment could have existed in Shenzhen but then if you are not a golfer, there is really no much one can do there. I went there for tennis but besides having to wait for the shuttle to get to the tennis center, the courts were poorly maintained and very expensive to rent, I ended up playing lots of squash instead becasue the gym is small and there is no jogging paths despite such beautiful surrounding.
I went on weekdays and the place was peaceful and quiet. Service was wonderful, next time I shall bring a good book.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
271 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I've read other reviews complaining about the cost, quality and the caddies.
My experiences are very different.
The hotel amenities are excellent - not as swank as the HK Peninsula - and great value for money.
The best food at night is in the Chinese restaurant. Breakfast is sumptuous.
The caddies DO understand simple English - speak slowly and do not use slang expressions.
Try to get a "golden" caddie - more experience, but not necessarily better English.
Stay calm.
We found the best rates on the ausgolf.com.au website - they are a small Australian Company specialising in Mission Hills Golf Travel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank beachsideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Mission Hills is a golfing destination that has 12 great courses fun caddies that make the golfing experience unique. However let's compare Hong Kong golf club where we had spent a week. Your golfing day starts with a with a practice session, pyramids of clean balls (free) Your cart is equipped with 2 fresh towels 2 drinks in an ice box tees and a free course guide book. You finish your round and are given ice towels. Fabulous experience.
Mission hills golf day starts with the filling in of forms at one desk then more forms at another desk followed by a third set for what I am not sure. Like to hit a bucket of balls forget it even if you can find the range you will be charged 30 cents a ball. Finally after your clubs magically appear you arrive at the first tee where you are greeted with typically Chinese regimentation and told you must play in a certain time. if you fall behind you a tracked even though there is no one behind you.
The hotel is so large to walk to breakfast and return seems like you have already played 2 par fives, fancy a swim after golf requires a further par five.the staff are friendly and try very hard but as far as a wonderful golf experience it left much to be desired.
Maybe the hierarchy should stay a week at Hong Kong Golf Club and see how a golf experience should be after all it is only 40 minutes away
Terry Cleal

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

As far as "5 star" chinese hotels go, this would be the closest ive come to a proper 5 star resort/hotel. Stayed in the dongguan hotel and the room was excellent. Staff were friendly and the meals including breakfast were very good offering a great variety of proper western options.

The golf was great, played els then duval (at night). Greens were alittle sandy and slow but tee boxes, fairways and bunkers were postcard like. Brought shoes, gloves and balls with me and hired clubs (400RMB) had Taylor Made R9 set irons to driver, not bad and could choose steel or graphite. All in all the golf is expensive considering your paying 1380rmb a round (mid week) then 300 for a cart, 400 for clubs and another few hundred in caddy tips (caddys were great).

Massages and tranfur services also top notch, would recommend this to china business travelers or holiday makers!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#13 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
276 reviews
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#18 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#6 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
1,263 reviews
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
876 reviews
Castle Golf Hotel
#54 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen

Property: Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen
Address: No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua New District, Shenzhen 518110, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Guanlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#22 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#38 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the National 5A-level Tourist Attraction and surrounded by 12 world-class championship golf courses designed by the greatest golfers and legends, Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen offers an alluring combination of 5-star luxury accommodation plus some of Asia’s finest sporting, spa and leisure facilities. Free Wi-Fi and parking are provided.Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen is reachable from the city centers of Shenzhen and Dongguan within 30 minutes and from Central in Hong Kong within 1.5 hours. Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport is only a 30-minute drive away. The sister, Mission Hills Resort Dongguan is also just a 15 minutes shuttle-bus ride away. Set among the lush landscapes and rolling hills, the resort offers panoramic views of golf course and natural greenery. Elegant and spacious, all rooms feature interactive HD TV system with cable and pay-per-view programs, minibar and iPod docking station for your entertainment. Special inter-connecting rooms as well as children themed rooms are also available - ideal for families and friends alike.Guests have access to 2 outdoor swimming pools with a fun-filled obstacle water park, a fully-equipped gym and a state-of-the-art spa and wellness center for your leisure and relaxation. The resort also offers 13 multi-functional venues to meet your business, event and wedding banquet needs. A country club within the resort offers even more activities and leisure facilities including a 51 tennis courts and an ecology tour/trail. The resort also features a great variety of dining experiences offering some of the finest culinary selections from around the world. Guests can discover the savory tastes of local Cantonese cuisine, or indulge in a variety of eastern and western cooking traditions at 4 different dining options, including Cinnabar, Imperial Court, Mountain Café, and Shiki Japanese Restaurant.What's more, a 500,000sqm retail-tainment shopping mall (Q4 2014) is also within the resort - surely an unmissable shopping experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Mission Hills Resort Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hills Hotel At

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing