We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com$40
Vio.com
Agoda.com$38
Destinia.com$38
StayForLong
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
40
107
44
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
40
107
44
5
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 202 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Kaili hotel is a 2 to 3 star hotel. English is quite scarce (that applies everywhere in China). Only the front desk and a few bell man speaks "some" english. The ones in their cafe don't know a single english word. As for the hotel in general, it's quite difficult to find if you are coming in by foot. There is no sign or name of the hotel. Instead, look for the Gold Coast Club sign. It's the spa inside the hotel. I think it's more advertised than the hotel itself. Location is very near the Metro exit. Choose the exit on the left that says Jiabin Road (there are 2 exits leading to Jiabin Rd), connecting to a mall. Go to the ground floor and exit the mall. Across the road is Kaili Hotel.

The lobby is quite gloomy (lacks lighting). The room (standard twin) is an average one, with average area (a lot bigger than Hong Kong hotels). Every room comes with a computer that's free to use and an in-room wifi. It has a safe inside the room, and a 32" lcd tv (with only 1 english channel). Cleanliness of the room is about 3.5 in a scale of 1 to 5 with 5 as the highest. Some reviews say they have hard beds, well it's not really that hard. I think the proper word is firm. They have firm beds and I quite like it.

Breakfast is another story. Very few choices (a la carte and not buffet), with non-english-speaking staff, but in fairness to them, the one I ordered was delicious (fried rice, ham & egg).

Overall, for the price, I think it's okay. Be informed though, that in the immediate vicinity, you can't find any 7-11's, mcdonalds, kfc or other western fastfood outlets and convenience stores. There is a burger king about 2 blocks away but that's it.

There is a mall right across the hotel, a very high-end mall with shops of famous brands (chanel, burberry, prada, and the like).

Room tip: Even though there are a number of disco bars nearby, you won't even know they are there as what other reviews said "you hear the thump of the music". Just make sure you confirm with reception that your room comes with a pc.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We just stayed here one night because we had a flight from Shenzhen. Overall, Hong Kong is a much more interesting city, but if you're in Shenzhen for business (or shopping), this would be an adequate place to stay. We decided to walk from the border...it's doable, but a bit of a jaunt. The hotel itself is relatively easy to find if you have a map, and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The reception had very limited English, but were relatively friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit dated, some stains on the carpets, and a broken faucet in the shower that required some prying to get to work. The room was huge, however, compared to the room we had in Hong Kong, and there was free wi-fi. The prices are also much lower than Hong Kong. Overall, an okay place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northropfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very good accomadation in Shen Zhen, it worth more than the price, highly recomended

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buitenzorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Summary: The hotel is in an excellent location being near the GuoMao metro station, Downtown and the Louho border crossing. It is relatively clean, the rooms are large and the condition decent. The noise at night was pretty bad for a number of reasons: 1. It is right next to the crossing and the pedestrian crossing beeper bangs on all night like a jack hammer in a nearby building site (exactly what I thought it was on the first night) 2. The crossing is on a main road and the buses pulling away constantly from the lights make a hell of a roar from their engines and 3. There is evidently some sort of night club next door as the thump of music coming through the building went on every night past 1am. (We were on the 7th floor of 9 so do not imagine we were right down close).

Detail

Location: Excellent. We were visiting on business and the metro is close and extremely good. The area has all the shops and restaurants/bars you could hope for and the streets are well lit, clean and felt very safe.

Hotel: Run of the mill business stop. The rooms are large but tired and the aircon loud. Communal areas are tidy and well kept. The safe in the room is excellent and large (2 lap tops and 2 iPads secure plus papers, passports etc. The associated sauna is a total rip off with the staff essentially bullying and begging for tips. I had a massage and it was adequate but the staff put me off going again for sure. They demand tips throughout yet the establishment also charges a 'service charge'.

Conclusion. You can find better. Choose this area for sure but spend a bit more and go upmarket.

Room tip: If you do stay here go for a room as far from the crossroads as possible
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

For those of you who are considering to book KAI LI HOTEL in Shenzhen (Add: No. 2027 Jiabin Road,Shenzhen City, China.), BEWARE they will just take your money and do not care if you have encountered any disturbances or inconveniences while you are checked-in. After we complained regarding the noise disturbances we had encountered, they just kept on transferring us on different person and each person cannot offer any assistance/resolution until they hanged-up on our phone call. The worst of all was when we complained in front desk they were speaking in fine English language and the hotel Manager was around, but pretended she cannot hear us until we raised our voice regarding the huge disappointment we have encountered during our stay. The front desk lady kept on saying the Manager is busy, but the Manager was just on phone right beside her and does not seem to be talking to anyone but probably hopefully waiting for the other line to pick-up so she will not have to deal with us. After waiting for the Manager to hang-up the phone, she was just giving us this stupid smile and said “I charge you this much only, is this OK? Since you enjoyed most of the time anyway and disturbance started only for few hours.” We were shocked with what she said, and after arguing that no one has informed us when we checked-in that there will be any repairs during our stay and loud noises will be heard intermittently - we could have refused to accept the room then and the fact that it was a Deluxe Room and charging us with very steep price! They just kept on saying sorry and the Manager left leaving us with unresolved dispute. The front desk lady who initially attended to us, just kept on saying “Manager said you pay this much since there was no disturbance yesterday when you checked in only started today so you have to pay” then she looked away and started attending another guests. We were stunned with how rudely they all acted towards our complaint. I HOPE THIS CAN BE A WARNING TO EVERYONE TO THINK & CHOOSE WISELY BEFORE BOOKING THIS HOTEL. THEY WILL PRETEND THEY ARE NICE AND AMICABLE, BUT ONCE THEY TAKE YOUR MONEY, THEY WILL NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR STAY ANYMORE OR WHATEVER DISTURBANCES OR INCONVENIENCES YOU MAY ENCOUNTER.

Room tip: Always confirm with them if there are any scheduled repairs as you do not want to take a room that will interrupt your goodnight sleep
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yeahsure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ZLX, Manager at Kaili Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to misunderstanding. Hope you can understand, we seriously apologize again.

We want to take this unfortunate opportunity to thank you for your constructive criticism and apologize for your unpleasant stay. We intend using your criticism to improve our services by improving the knowledge of the English language by our receptionists and all staff on the lobby floor there by improving our customer relationship.
In future we will advise all our guests, at check in, of any impending maintenance work that might be planned. We will also reschedule all future works to be done from 10.30 to noon and 14.30 till 19.00
Our receptionist was on the phone to our Ceo trying to reach an amicable solution to your problem by offering you a discount of RMB80 per night of your stay and also supply you with vouchers for 2 free breakfasts per night of your stay. We also offered you a very late checkout time of 18.00. At no time was her intention to ignore you or play dumb towards you.
We again apologies for any inconvenience caused and hope to see you again the next time you come to Shenzhen.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews