We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but don't eat here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia
Ranked #133 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Novotel Bauhinia is a nicely appointed hotel in Shenzhen, and the room prices are very good for the quality level of the room. The bathroom is very nice, and the big shower is rather nice as well. The hotel is nice looking overall, and clean. The room is very conformable and the internet service is solid. However, the lobby is unpleasantly cold, with what feels like a steady breeze blowing through there. If I did not need to eat here, I would have liked it a lot more. I arrived around 8:30PM and had to leave early the next day, so did not have much choice. We tried to eat in the Chinese restaurant but it was saturated with a gross smoky smell (at least it was last night 1-21-2014), so much so that we could not stay there.

Both the food the service in the lobby restaurant were pretty bad. I think I had the worst hotel burger I have ever had and that is saying a lot as I have had many hotel burgers. This one was basically burned to a crisp and had large gristle chunks inside. It was super salty too. Eeash. The fries were decent, but then the ketchup came with unknown chunks of foreign material in there. My Chinese colleague was grossed out too. I asked for mayonnaise and it never came. At breakfast the next day, they were still setting up the buffet 15 minutes after opening and then had a big attitude about cooking me some eggs which were scrambled with a very large amount of cooking oil. Imagine your eggs floating on a lake of oil. Gross. While walking from the buffet to my table with my hands full of food and juice, the manager chased me down to get me to sign the bill while I was still trying to eat. Pretty rude, especially when the place was pretty much empty.........not cool.

Room Tip: Don't eat here.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_M_D8663XT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotel b, General Manager at St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Matt,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia. I am sorry that we did not meet your high expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a optimum service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns and deeply hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 285 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank albertau
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotel b, General Manager at St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Che C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotel b, General Manager at St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

You can smell the bad odor upon you step out from the lift to the room. The same odor full in the room. The extra pillow in the wardrobe with stain. It is just horrible and not justify with the room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank angeline_131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotel b, General Manager at St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Angeline,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia. I am sorry that we did not meet your high expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a optimum service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns and deeply hope that you will give us an other opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Though the hotel is a bit far from city center, the nearest subway station is just a few minutes walk or a taxi trip is a good and cheap option. Since the weather is relatively dry and pleasantly cool in november, this season is ideal for walks (see pics taken in november).

I had a standard room with a garden/swiming pool view, it was clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff had a poor english even at the reception but were very helpful. Lack of Wi-Fi in the room was a surprise (had to use LAN cable). In general, I was satisified with the stay in that hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are a good choice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pribeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotel b, General Manager at St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Pribeli,
We appreciate your comments very much regarding your stay at the Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. Your feedback will certainly be served like an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. With regards to Wi-Fi connection, all our guestrooms were normally covered by WI-Fi signal. We will still make an investigation to check if any bad connection in any area.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a good relatively low cost hotel. The facility is in a good location, however is in need of a remodel / face lift. The prices for the rooms is good and the staff is friendly, however the English proficiency is extremely low. The restaurant in the lobby is not very good for dinner or lunch as it takes way too long for service and food delivery. Overall good lower cost hotel with no frills.

Room Tip: Try to be pool facing or traffic could keep you up.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotel b, General Manager at St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Jimmy P,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia. I am sorry that we did not meet your high expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a optimum service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that the staff's English communication skill had been improved a lot, all guest rooms has been re-decoration, including the bathroom, wallpaper, carpet and bedding upgrades.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns and deeply hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The environment of the hotel was good. The room was big, comfortable, quiet, and with and wifi available. The staff was nice and helpful, but just had to wait for them to tidy-up the room, even after the check in hour. And there was some problem with the flushing of the toilet. Apart from it, everything was fine. The breakfast was nice also with variety of choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotel b, General Manager at St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Alice C,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia. I am sorry that we did not meet your high expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a optimum service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns and deeply hope that you will give us an other opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Overseas Chinese Town
Seaview O City Hotel
Seaview O City Hotel
#39 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
322 reviews
Zhuzilin
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
Civic Center
Wuzhou Guest House
Wuzhou Guest House
#80 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Overseas Chinese Town
The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen
Huaqiang North
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
Novotel Shenzhen Watergate
#170 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
294 reviews
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
#9 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia

Address: No.2002 Qiaocheng East Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China (Formerly Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia)
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#71 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#83 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $74 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located in the OCT Zone ,only twenty minutes drive from Shenzhen Airport , 5 minutes from Mangrove Forest , Folk Culture Village , Window of World and OCT Bay . Hotel has 8 function conference rooms , free beverage in Minibar and free local call in room . The quiet living environment could make the business trip more comfortable and easeful . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St.Helen Shenzhen Bauhinia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bauhinia Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Novotel Shenzhen
Accor Bauhinia Shenzhen
Shenzhen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing