We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations Exceeded”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #36 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A colleague and I stayed here for three nights in June 2014, and our expectations were certainly exceeded. It was great value and the quality of the hotel décor and fittings together with the service we received were excellent.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Our rooms on the eighth floor were modern, large and comfortable, and very well appointed. The bed was big and comfortable with a selection of pillows. There was a desk and small seating area. The bathroom had a tub, double sinks and a large walk-in rain-shower. There were good toiletries and extra towels. In the closet an ironing board was provided as standard.

Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet with a wide choice of both Asian and European items, and an egg-station for freshly cooked eggs and omelettes. Quality of the breakfasts and the service were very good.

Location might be a downside for some. It was sometimes slow to get a taxi, and the nearest Metro station at Shenzhen University was about fifteen minutes walk away.

It’s not often that one’s expectations are so comfortably exceeded and I will certainly stay again the next time I visit Shenzhen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mack321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel and for your nice, very detailed, comments!
We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with hotel’s service, decorations, breakfast buffet food selsction, as well as the room.
However the most important for us is your willingness to return here when you come to Shenzhen next time.
Then we will do our best to ensure you another great stay with us!

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for L'Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 104 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

A modern and nice hotel. I like the room layout where you can go from the bathroom to the closet. The room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. The Tv has enough channels to entertain you and the free wifi is working good. On reservation we got a voucher for a free drink and snack. All staff members were friendly and helpful.
One negative is the location. There is no metro or entertainment in the neighborhood. You have to get a taxi to get anywhere. A lot of the times the taxidriver doesn't know where the hotel is.
Overall, they deserve their 5 star.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimaYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share the comments about staying with us.
We are very happy to hear you liked our modern and nice hotel, especially spacious rooms
as friendly and helpful staff.
We always recommend to all of our Guests to have hotel card with our address, map and telephone number, just in case taxi drivers don’t know the hotel’s location well.

We will do our best to keep the standards of our services and quality to ensure the best accommodation, breakfast and other facilities when you come to L’Hermitage Hotel next time.
We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

As others have mentioned the cab drivers have a hard time finding this hotel. Make certain you have the map they give you on how to get there with you (in Chinese) and the number of the hotel that the drivers can call to get directions.

Staff (especially Marta) are very nice. Many speak very good English. Rooms are nice and beds are very comfortable.

WiFi can be hit or miss at times.

Good selection of restaurants in the hotel that are not too overpriced.

Good Value for the Money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plum9195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and also for sharing your comment and tip with the other tripadvisor website users.
We also recommend to all of our Guests to have hotel card with our address, map and telephone number, as it is very useful for the taxi drivers.
It is great to hear that you met your expectations, especially about the staff, communication level, rooms,bed and also our restaurants.
We are really sorry for the temporary inconvenience with the wifi.
It will be a real pleasure to serve you again.
We are looking to see you soon,

Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks, the hotel itself is nice, the rooms are great and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is good too, they have a lot of food variety western and chinese food. Wi-fi is kinda glitchy, I can't pin point the problem, we had a strong signal but it doesn't work all the time. Since we were in a business trip we constantly do IP calls, but with their wifi the calls are hard to go through. Internet browsing and emails are ok though. When we complained about it, they are fast in trying to resolve the problem, what they did helped but didn't completely solve the problem. The only major complain the I have with this hotel is their location. Thank goodness that the staff are very helpful, we had to call them every time we have to go back to the hotel because the taxi drivers doesn't know where it is. They have to explain to the drivers in Chinese where the hotel is, and what roads to take even though we already hand the driver the business card with the map of the hotel. So we always make sure that we have the hotel's phone number handy every time we get a taxi.

Overall we are happy in staying in this hotel and we will be staying again when we go back to Shenzhen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannie65_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us, at L’Hermitage Hotel. We appreciate your comments, especially your willingness to return here when you will be in Shenzhen next time. It is great to hear you had a very good stay, and that you liked our rooms with comfortable beds, breakfasts( with a variety of western and chineses food ) and our helpful staff.
We are really sorry for the temporary inconvenience with the wifi.
We hope to welcome you soon.

Warmest Greetings,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is as good as any of the five star hotels I've stayed in anywhere in Asia. The rooms are nicely appointed, beds are super comfy and the wifi works well. The staff are really nice and some speak English perfectly. The western food is great. Located towards the west of Shenzhen, the hotel is perfectly located between the airport and the main expat areas in Shekou and coco park. For visitors from HK entering via Lo Wu as we did the location is a bit out of the way to be honest. Taxis are cheap but expect to spend at least 30 mins in a taxi on a 10 lane freeway to get anywhere ( it'll cost US$10 to get anywhere but you get a bit sick of taxis after so while). Forget the Shenzhen Metro, it takes at least half an hour to walk to university station, is poorly signposted and is rammed with people.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dumbledore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you so much for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel and sharing your opinion with the other tripadvisor website users.
We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were especially satisfied with hotel’s western restaurant,staff and comfortable room.
Also, we are glad to read you were pleased with our location.
When you come back to L’Hermitage, we will do our best to ensure you another great stay here.
We hope to see you soon!
Warmest Greatings,

Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed there for two weeks. The hotel is part of L'Hermitage group and recently changed its name to LVGEM - you won't find it under the old name anymore.
It is conveniently located in Futian area and close to metro (if you ever need to catch metro as taxis are quite cheap).
It is an excellent 5 start hotel without the price tag. If you are planning to stay longer (a month or two) you can get a monthly deal which includes a lot of free extras (e.g. breakfast, dry cleaning and etc.).
There are direct shuttle services from the Hotel to Hong Kong - you don't even need to change cars at the boarder.
Staff are very friendly and make sure you get the breakfast deal as it is quite good.

Room Tip: The room service food was quite nice too - if you are late to go out. there are 2 or 3 restaurants i...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Decoration, rooms, service, breakfast - all equal to the 5* international chains but without throngs of people walking through the lobby . Lovely quiet and relaxing atmosphere - a haven in the hectic city and generally frenetic country. A real gem - will be using this for all future trips

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank CBontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jie c, Guest Relations Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all,we would like to thank you for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel and also for sharing your opinion with the other tripadvisor website users. It was great to read so positive feedback!
We are exremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with hotel’s decorations, room, service as well as our “lovely and quiet atmosphere”.
We appreciate your very nice comment, especially your willingness to return to L’Hermitage Hotel when you will come to Shenzhen next time. The we will do our best to ensure you another great stay here.
Thank you one more time. Hope to see you soon!
Best Regards,
Marta Czuba-Miturska
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
No.6 Crystal Garden Hotel
#48 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
29 reviews
Bao'an District
Hengfeng Haiyue International Hotel
Lia Charlton Hotel Shenzhen
#180 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shekou
No photo provided
Xiangmei Hanlin Business Hotel
#118 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
1 reviews
Shenzhen Bay Port
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
#28 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
734 reviews
Che gong miao
Shenzhenair International Hotel
Shenzhenair International Hotel
#34 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: No.3031 Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518052, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: $88 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing