We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our regular haunt for lunch and refreshment.”

George & Dragon British Pub
Ranked #36 of 4,149 Restaurants in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: George & Dragon is an authentic British Pub located in Shekou Shenzhen China. G&D is your good old quintessential British pub with an interesting selection of draft beers, ales, stouts, and ciders, as well as bottled brews. The food is exactly what you would expect and would want from a British pub. Good no nonsense food in hearty portions, such as; Ribs eye steak, fish & chips, beer-can chicken, shepherd’s pie, and roast beef with Yorkshire pudding... the list goes on. The interior is 100% British with wooden beams, horse brasses, and other trinkets to give our Pub just the right feel. But not to worry, there are plenty of flat-screen TV’s throughout the bar on which to watch the sports. The G&D also has its own outdoor beer garden to enjoy the fine Shenzhen weather, and where we host various events such as single malt whiskey tastings, pig in the box, and weekend BBQ’s. We can cater events for you here or bring the eats to you. Looking forward to seeing you! Cheers!
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our regular haunt for lunch and refreshment.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a little bit of English, run by an American, in China! Great selection of beers, excellent food, friendly and efficient staff giving great service.

What's more, they show the sports channels; US Sport, Soccer and Rugby - League and Union too! Well done guys, you get my vote!

Sunday lunch is right out of the English Pub book - as it used to be anyway - Roasts with all the trimmings.

There is a special on most days, you have to be hungry when you sit down or you will never get through it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Go for Beer and Good Company”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

George and Dragon is a mixed bag for me. The chinese staff is quite friendly, lots of beers to choose from, not too smoke filled inside, and a nice seating area outside.

On the other hand, the food is just awful... I go there a few times a week for beers, but have quit eating the food. Sure, the portions are large (huge), but the food all seems to be frozen then microwaved. Other than that, it is bland, unimaginative, and unhealthy. Last evening, five friends ordered, and each had the same opinion; they said it was tough, cold, and tasted strange, they each ate less than half their entree. As with all ex-pat eateries, the prices are steep compared to the local fare.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chinese New Year and Pig Roast - AWESOME!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived to Shenzhen on the first day of Chinese New Year. After spending some time in mainly Beijing, was really looking for a meat feast. The pig was cooked perfectly and with the knife and fork I was able to enjoy the meat without all the fat that often accompanies traditional Chinese food. To top it off, the augratin potatoes and corn were fabulous and my husband was very keen on the Tiger drafts! Only two recommendation I could make is the rum and cokes were too heavy on the ice - two to three sips per cocktail, so felt like home in the US. And second one is the rugby game that came on was just too loud - had to yell to converse with our new friends we met at the table. Fireworks went off later in the evening. Was a really great find - we will definitely be back next time we are in Shenzhen! For Metro riders, take the first street to walk behind Taizi Hotel - it's a close walk and we were fortunate to hear British speaking, so followed them ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank AsiaTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Atmoshpere”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

After numerous visits to George & Dragon I can say it has become my favorite place to eat in Shekou. A large menu with something for every taste, with huge American sized portions. It was a little too cold to sit outside on my recent visit, which is normally my preference as the outside seating is a little oasis in the midst of the Sea World area. Service, as always, was quick and pleasant with the girls remembering our drinks from previous visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank prcmeiguoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Dragon British Pub also viewed

 
Shenzhen, Guangdong
Shenzhen, Guangdong
 

Been to George & Dragon British Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing