We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice oasis of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #19 of 2,755 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice oasis of luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just made it in time for Happy Hour in the Exec Lounge. Lovely room , excellent service, prices OK for the standard of hotel. Would recommend for overall comfort and location. Down town and access to shps and not far from the Lo Hu station for Hong Kong

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianinwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear laninwinchester,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen, as your choice. We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay with regards to our rooms and location of the hotel, as well as the service in our Horizon Club Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    1,014
    220
    58
    22
See reviews for
109
121
79
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This review is mainly to highlight how well I was treated in my last visit to Shenzen.
Having stayed here several times I have to say its a nice hotel , rooms could improve, but overall is a nice experience. But as I said before I want to reiterate the good service I have received having had an incident with a suitcase. I forgot one of my suitcases at the airport and only realized when I got the hotel. I was supported at all times by the staff who kindly phoned to the airport for me and even offered themselves to go and collect it.
Want to say big thanks to Sheldom who was incredibly nice and helpful and also to the young lady who helped me too.
Mo matter how small or big the rooms are , every time I have to come back here, I ll be returning to shangri la for the amazing staff they have, thanks again .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MARSITA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear MARSITA9,

Thank you for staying at Shang-ri La Hotel, Shenzhen, and sharing your pleasant experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and service at the hotel. We also appreciate your support and recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

You will not be inspired by this hotel but you will not be let down either. Best way to describe this hotel is old but reliable. Internet was good, coffee good so as a travelling worker life is ok. Its more like a little city than a hotel but again, consistant in there delivery. Room clean, bed good and evey food offering you could want. Dont ask fir anything out of the ordinary or not scripted as you will simply not get it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australia1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Glenn A,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen, as your choice. We are thrilled to know that you had a nice stay in regards to the facilities and food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

very poor by shangri la standards but a lot nicer than most in Shenzhen.
staff are great but the rooms badly need refurbishing! rooms are also quite small bathroom is basic and rooms smell of smoke. however very limited options in SZ so will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Matthew H,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen and sharing your experiences with us. We would like to apologies for the poor experiences you mentioned, we would like to thank you in advance by providing more details via e-mail at slz@shangri-la.com so we can investigate, and follow up with our appropriate team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spacious and comfortable bed. Room is old and smelt aweful. I booked a non-smoking room but smelt like a smoking room.

Perfect location, easy walk from train station and convenient for Commercial City.
Check-in was a disaster, took a long time and needed to pay RMB 500,- cash deposit.

English of Staff was really poor, especially in the restaurants. You wouldn't expect this from a 5 star hotel. I mean: hello it's Shangri-la!

Anyway, dinner at Shang Palace was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8TTYL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear 8TTYL8,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen and sharing your experiences with us. We would like to apologies for the poor experiences you mentioned, we would like to thank you in advance by providing more details via e-mail at slz@shangri-la.com so we can investigate, and follow up with our appropriate team members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms are very basic for the price paid. They are very basic and have not been renovated for many years. The hotel is trading on its convenient location. The service is average and not what one would expect of a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear BoroughMark,

Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your experience. Our apologies for the poor experiences you have mentioned, we would appreciate if you could provide more details via e-mail at slz@shangri-la.com so we may investigate and follow up accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

First time stay at this hotel and was not disappointed. Stayed second week February for 2 nights.

Hotel is walking distance to the Lo Wu/ Hong Kong/Shenzhen border and Shenzhen underground system and it was the main reason for our booking this hotel, very convenient.

Check in and out fast and efficient and the large scented lobby area a most welcoming and picturesque sight.

We found the hotel staff to be friendly and the use of English more than acceptable.

We did not eat in the hotel as we knew of several places close by where we could dine, but the hotel does have many eating outlets and at reasonable prices.

The room was large, clean and well appointed with all expected amenities. The large bed was just a little hard for my liking, but not hard enough to be back breaking. Hot shower and good water pressure. No noise from either inside or out.

Will definitely stay at this hotel again when next we find ourselves in Shenzhen and well worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear WizardMelbourne,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen, as your choice of stay. We are thrilled to know that you had a nice stay with regards to the location, service and facilities. We also appreciate your support and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#5 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#13 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Luohu Port
Best WESTERN Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen

Property: Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Address: East Side, Railway Station, 1002 Jianshe Road, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#26 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen is ideally located in the Lo Wu district adjacent to the busy Hong Kong border. The hotel offers incredible views of Hong Kong’s New Territory and Shenzhen’s own majestic skyline while to discerning travelers who seek elegance, comfort and convenience when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing