We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at Shangri-La, Shenzhen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #18 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The service and friendliness of the staff make this hotel a stand out! I travelled with two other ladies, staying for five nights. We were always greeted with smiles and friendly conversation and our names were always remembered. The rooms are very comfortable, especially the pillows (would have loved to have been able to purchase one) and the bathroom products are L'Occitane. Yes, you have to negotiate some stairs - upon arrival from the underground train station and also when walking to and from the Lowu shopping centre, but this is a minor issue. We are mature age females and never found it a problem. We booked into the Horizon Club level, which provides breakfast, afternoon tea (which we treated as lunch) and then happy hour of an evening, with once again hot and cold foods available. The hotel is easy walking distance to everything. We went to Guangzhou by train for a day trip. We wanted to visit the wholesale markets in that city, but after going to a few 'shops' in the Baiyun Leather Market, we decided it was not worth the effort and we went sightseeing for the rest of the day. One night, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant - Shang Palace. Peking Duck and numerous dishes - absolutely delicious and the cost was minimal. We will definitely be returning to Shangri-La next year. For location, service and comfort, you can't go past it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLZ-GM, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear kayyzee,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, as your choice in Shenzhen. We are grateful for your feedback with regards to our service, room, amenities, location and restaurant. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay in the near future.

Best regards,

George Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Avoid at all cost , pay less and get better
Old rooms , not refurbished and poor maintainance
We were trapped in paying for a Horizon Club room , which is worth than any 3 star hotel room in any city I stayed in China
The only good thing was the WiFi in the car which took us to Shenzhen Airport

Room Tip: The Horizon club supplement is a bad deal , don't fall for the trap !
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Claude N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel since it was started operation around 21 years ago. Many staffs have known me for years and it makes my every stay to be very comfortable. However, the room facility is a kind of out of fashion, such as the temperature control is not workable !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank DavidYangHIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLZ-GM, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear DavidYangHIT,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen as your residence in Shenzhen. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the temperature control you have mentioned, would you please provide more details via e-mail at slz@shangri-la.com so we may check and follow up accordingly? We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Sincerely,

George Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Shenzhen has a lot more 5 star hotels everywhere, but the old Luohu Shangri-La has for me a smell of history, in 1994 I used the Hong Kong GSM network in their lounge, when in China no digital communication network was set up yet.
Located directly at the Luohu Railway Station, connected by an - improvable - underground pedestrian way to subway, border control and railway station, this hotel is just the first choice for business travelers, when using railway to Guangzhou or border control to Hong Kong. Just stay in a room facing to Hong Kong you can still call through Hong Kong networks.
Restaurants are - like in every Shangri-La Hotel very good to excellent, and this hotel has a western pub and restaurant opened until early morning, so that you still can have a draft beer and a meal, when you arrive very late.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLZ-GM, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Ralf M,

Thank you for your kind review of our property and sharing the details of your enjoyable stay and experiences. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your business trip at our hotel as always.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Best Wishes,

George Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent service, Great friendly staff. Good facilities and rooms. Always go for horizon club and the suite is only a bit more but very very worth the extra money for twice as much space. Very close to Luohu shopping centre, bank machines and train station. Proper shops also within walking distance.

Room Tip: Horizon Club a must, regular food and drinks and comfortable lounge included. Go for the bigger room...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLZ-GM, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Gareth N,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our service, location and facilities of our hotel, especially the Horizon club and suite room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

George Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

In March, I made my way to Shenzhen, China to meet up with friends, do some shopping and a lot of eating. I also made The Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen, my home for ten nights.

I can't say enough abou the staff and how they made me feel like I was a guest and I was welcome in their home. From making sure I was informed for my safety, to making sure I wasn't being raked over coals by shopkeepers and street vendors - I felt like I was part of their family. A huge bonus is that the staff all spoke great English.

The property is right across the street from the train station and is close to some "border" shopping as well as short taxi rides to great eating. I'd stick with the train to get to the attractions that Shenzhen has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLZ-GM, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Ran C,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen as your home during your trip, we indeed appreciate your positive comments and praise. we noticed you also reviewed our Chinese Restaurant Shang Palace. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel food and service, this made you feel at home which we intend for all our guests.

We warmly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our hotel!

Warmest regards,

George Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I know this hotel is a but costly but so worth it if you are shopping in Lo Wu Mall. Close enough to make trips back and forth and do the bathroom stops in comfort! After a hard day shopping, so nice to sit in the lobby bar and listen to the singers while sipping a cool drink. Splurge on this one with the money you save on shopping in Shenzhen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear catj a,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen and for sharing all the details of your stay and experiences. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel's location and the atmosphere of the Lobby Lounge during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

George Baird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#13 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
998 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#12 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
750 reviews
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
960 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen

Address: East Side, Railway Station, 1002 Jianshe Road, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#28 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $103 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen is ideally located in the Lo Wu district adjacent to the busy Hong Kong border. The hotel offers incredible views of Hong Kong’s New Territory and Shenzhen’s own majestic skyline while to discerning travelers who seek elegance, comfort and convenience when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing