We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellwnt hotel with good staff and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #13 of 2,671 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellwnt hotel with good staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the club room. Broadly speaking, this is one of the best hotel in this area. 1. The breakfast, tea time, dinner with drink at the club lounge was very good quality and the staff was super kind with good english. 2. The bath salt and L'occitane amenities are satisfactory in the room. 3. The free pressing service is good. 4. late check out after 3:00PM makes my personal time cotrol easy. The old smell in the room and relatively old interior would be minor disadvantage.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmkim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear mmkim88,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen. We are pleased we were able to enjoy your stay and make it memorable with our food, service, and room amenities. We truly appreciate your high esteem us and we look forward to welcome you to our hotel again.

Warmest regards,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    996
    215
    56
    18
See reviews for
98
110
78
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hideous room. No shower. Fitness center awful. Outdated. Food marginal. 5 star prices. 1 star quality. Taxi needed 40 minutes to find the hotel , easy by train only. Everything outdated. Really an Asian business hotel not western





  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank 511Chrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear 511 Chrisp,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen. My apologies for the poor experiences you have mentioned, would you please provide more details via e-mail at slz@shangri-la.com so we may investigate and follow up it accordingly?

Again, we do greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback on our page and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back next time.

Warmest regards,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few times during the past 2-3 years for my business trip, and I can see they always tried hard to provide best service quality. The staff were super friendly, and room was nice and clean. The breakfast was superb and getting even better for my last visit, in terms of selection and quality. The 360 on top floor has very nice view of the city and Hongkong. I also had a chance to enjoy the best Café Latte I had for a long time at the hotel lounge, served by their super friendly staff there (I think the name of the charming young lady was Sandy). Definitely a great experience there and I would not hesitate to stay there for my next business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ShawnY,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen as your residence during your business trip. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am sure Sandy appreciates that her efforts are noticed. We are lucky to have many great people such as her at Shangri-La, Shenzhen. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Sincerely,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Definitely the least impressive hotel I've stayed at while on business travel throughout China and Hong Kong.
Bath tub wouldn't drain, things felt grimy to the touch, and my sheets smelled like men's deodorant and body odor in spots upon getting in.
The location is pretty good, but I would travel an extra 5 minutes to be able to sleep comfortably.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify Non-Smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaEgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear AndreaEgan,

Please accept our sincere apology for your disappointing experience during your recent stay. I was deeply concerned to learn that your staying experience is not according to the level that you expected from a Shangri-La Hotel. I have instantly addressed matter of your concern with our Director of Rooms and corrective actions have been taken to avoid the reoccurrence in the future.

AndreaEgan, thank you again for giving us the opportunity to improve upon our quality and service by providing us with your valuable comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen in the near future.

Sincerely,
Phlip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

exactly what you would expect of a hotel in this chain. Good location, great service, particularly from the concierge, comfy and clean rooms, and i thought the buffet breakfast was superb! Champs bar offers good western food and cold beer from when you ant to escape from teh busy streets outside. What isn't there to like..........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpenceinHonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SpenceInHonkers,

Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen and sharing your pleasant experience with us.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our service, facilities and breakfast, and we are delighted to see your praise of all the joyful details, especially the food of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Phlip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I visited The Shangri La on a recent tour to the Lo Wu shopping centre. In appearance the Hotel is 5 Star. Alas the purpose of my visit was lunch! Poor quality food served at random is not what I know to be the perceived 5 star billing. I suggest finding an alternative source of food when visiting Lo Wu

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelCityOwl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SteelCityOwl_12,

I do regret that the food quality at restaurant did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. I have instantly addressed matter of your concern with Mr. Jeno Friedl, our Executive Chef as we want to ensure that we will improve our food quality.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to improve upon our quality and service by providing us with your valuable comments and suggestions.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Shenzhen in the near future.

Philip Dewar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is just next to the Luohu train station, metro station, Luohu shopping centre and the custom building to Hong Kong. As like all other Shangrila hotels, their staff were friendly and efficient; and the room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was also good with many choices, so do take the bed and breakfast package when you book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Anne C,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La hotels as your choice in Shenzhen. We are grateful for your feedback with regards to our location, service and breakfast. We look forward to your return and hope your experience is just as nice.

Best regards,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#11 of 2,671 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#4 of 2,671 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,671 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Luohu Port
Best WESTERN Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#16 of 2,671 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen

Property: Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Address: No.1002 Jianshe Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#30 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen is ideally located in the Lo Wu district adjacent to the busy Hong Kong border. The hotel offers incredible views of Hong Kong’s New Territory and Shenzhen’s own majestic skyline while to discerning travelers who seek elegance, comfort and convenience when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing