We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #19 of 2,811 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here on one of the Horizon Club floors where you have a Club check-in (and out!) desk. The rooms are lovely, well furnished and spacious. The staff in the Horizon Club Lounge are sooo nice, remembering everyone's names (I don't know how they do it!) and making every effort to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast is very widely catered for, and Happy Hour from 5pm-7pm also has a wide range of food. It is very convenient for the train, and also Luowu shopping centre, and after being set upon by numerous traders wanting you to buy their wares, it's good to have the hotel so close to sit down and recover! I would certainly want to stay in this hotel again because of the position, but mostly because of the really nice people working there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    1,032
    227
    59
    23
See reviews for
115
130
84
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The lobby bar, this is most likely the best place to sit down work a bit and enjoy the great service of the staff. A big compliment to James and nothing beat the great smile from Flora Kong, she is the one who will make it happen you will feel at home very easy. She is the best!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've been there many times and really enjoy their drinks and snacks...people are very nice and provide excellent service, especially, Eva, Angel, Sandy, Flora, James, Mike. Every time I pass through Shenzhen to Hong Kong, I like stop by and have a drink there...it's very comfortable meeting people either for business or freind-gathering there...I'll keep coming back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchan738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The main reason to stay here with all the spanking new hotels in town is to be walking distance to Luowu Commercial center. It's a 5 minute walk via and underground passage way through the train station. So you can go back and forth a few times during a stay if you want. If you stay somewhere newer and take at taxi it's okay as well as there are lots of taxis waiting.

The rooms are not shabby and are comfortable but they are a bit dated and dim. Could do with some new furniture and fabrics.

The lobby is bright and renovated but there are no sofas for waiting.

The spa is a bit old fashioned. Needs upgrading.

Shang Palace has some excellent and reasonably priced dishes for a hotel restaurant especially compared with the more recent Shenzhen hotel restaurants.

Overall staying here is mainly for the Luowu Commercial complex otherwise it's a bit old fashioned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I go to Shenzhen every two months. I always have an after dinner drink in the lobby lounge.
The first thing that amazed me, after the great service, was that my drink preference was remembered two months later! Even my table preference was remembered!
Thanks to Marlene ( my server ), Sandy ( Supervisor), and Mike ( Bartender ) I always have a very pleasant and enjoyable time at the Shangri-la lobby lounge!

I look forward to having my after dinner drink there, every trip, because of these fantastic employees!

Ralph

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent service in hotel lobby lounge by Sandy, Ada & Angel. Lovely atmosphere and great food. You should give it a try. It's situated close to Louhu border and in the heart of Shenzhen.................

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Attractwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was a little perplexed when I recently read a negative review on the Shangri -la Hotel Shenzhen, My wife and myself has stayed there on three occasions and each time we found the Hotel excellent , the staff very polite and helpful, the food was of a high standard , the staff even helped us to get to our next destination in Guangzhou , We have booked in for another stay in March 2013 and are looking very much forward to that , it will be just like coming home.
Derek & (Vicky)
Australia.

Room Tip: We always choose to stay in the Horizons Rooms as service and food are excellent, and there is no st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmacBenalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#14 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
929 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#10 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
916 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
385 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#16 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen

Property: Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Address: East Side, Railway Station, 1002 Jianshe Road, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Luohu Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#30 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Shangri-La Hotel, Shenzhen is ideally located in the Lo Wu district adjacent to the busy Hong Kong border. The hotel offers incredible views of Hong Kong’s New Territory and Shenzhen’s own majestic skyline while to discerning travelers who seek elegance, comfort and convenience when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing