We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Nan Hai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nan Hai Hotel
Ranked #318 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Although this is one of the longer established hotels in Shekou, it has a certain individuality. Rooms are reasonably maintained and the breakfast is comprehensive. We stayed for 14 nights and the Nan Hai proved to be a good base for our business and leisure purposes. Its main attraction is the location next to Shekou Ferry Terminal and access to Hong Kong although the bus route from Shenzhen Bay and across the nearby Shenzhen/Hong Kong bridge is now a cheaper and a faster crossing.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJG1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Nan Hai Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Supposedly the Nan Hai was the first five star hotel in China. For it's age I'd say it's holding up well. The best part though is the convenience to the Hong Kong and Macau ferries. The pier is literally a two minute walk from the door. The staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are clean if a tad dated. My only complaint (as always) are the fitness facilities. Not a priority in Chinese hotels they include older equipment that does not always operate properly.

There are few shopping and restaurant options nearby the property, but downtown Shenzhen is close and easily accessible by taxi.

For having a mid-morning flight from Hong Kong the Nan Hai is an ideal location and price point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water. Nice little balcony, but mosquitos can be a problem.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandSaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I lived at "Nan Hai Hotel" for three weeks during april 2012, and that was one of my worst experiences ever.

Some examples...
- The breakfeast buffet was real bad
- The cleaning knocked my door several times before 08:30. When I hang out the "Do Not Disturb"-sign, they called instead....
- People spitted at the floors in front of cleaning but no one cared at all
- The rooms and the hotel are getting quite old

The good part was the door/taxi guys which had a great service mind.
But I would never stay at this hotel again.

The reason why I didn't change hotel during my visit was because of different shippings to the hotel at different dates.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Customer service right from welcoming to hotel from taxi to chrck out on the day of the departure was excellent.

Room price - online rate for single room was very good Lunch Buffet was excellent. They accommodated my vegetarian diet.

While departing, it was raining, a person from hotel walked with me up to ferry station holding my luggage and giving extra umbrella was a very nice gesture from the hotel. I think this was definitely 'going extra mile' services.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yatri006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Not a 5 star but a solid 3*. The rooms are dated. Bed is hard but sleep-able. Washroom's old. The staff is attentive and polite. They are the stars of this hotel. 

Take a pass on the dinner buffet unless you are too lazy to eat outside. The best part was the diluted self-serve beer. Breakfast was better and offers lots of variety but quality is still lacking. 

Steps from Shekou Ferry Terminal, you can get to HKIA in 30mins, 1hr to Macau or HK Central. 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever experienced!

The rooms stink, the bed is rock hard and the breakfast was one of the worst I've experienced in China.

There are far better options in Shekou to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Located in Shekou, seems to be a most peaceful hotel location I've stayed in Shenzhen - territory immersed in green and in evening time you can hear some chirring (crickets? toads?), which acts better than any sleeping pill . Strange thing - although it's located on a Shenzhen bay coastal line, there's no direct access to shore (there's a fence, separating hotel from shore), probably, due to ferry terminal customs zone, which is located nearby. Ferry terminal is a second (and probably, the last one) big advantage of Nan Hai hotel - you can appear in Hong Kong just in one hour after checking out from hotel.
As for the negatives:
- Rooms haven't been renovated for a long time (probably, since the hotel grand opening)
- It's a huuuuge problem to find English-speaking staff in this hotel (foreign management trainee was our savior) - it's a typical problem for all Chinese hotels, but I've never felt so helpless, like here.
- Problems with transportation to other parts of Shenzhen, especially, in the morning time (taxi drivers don't seem to like this far away part of Shenzhen), so. you can't predict how long it would take you to arrive to some other part of Shenzhen in the morning
- Hotels surroundings look rather strange - road construction works with loads of dust on one side, "special" bar area with really scary "girls" inside, on the other side.

Room Tip: I liked waterfall-view room more than sea-view room, but some might be annoyed by cricket chirring s...
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shekou
Shekou Haitao Hotel
Shekou Haitao Hotel
#206 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
32 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#10 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
752 reviews
Shekou
Cruise Inn
Cruise Inn
#46 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shekou
Fuzon Hotel
Fuzon Hotel
#1,275 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
48 reviews
Shekou
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
#34 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
136 reviews
Shekou
Hanting Express Shenzhen Haishang Shijie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nan Hai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nan Hai Hotel

Address: No.1 Gongye 1st Road , Shekou Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518067, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shekou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#114 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Hotel Class:4 star — Nan Hai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nan Hai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nan Hai
Nan Hai Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing