We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay”
Review of Nan Hai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nan Hai Hotel
Ranked #242 of 2,769 Hotels in Shenzhen
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had a package deal which was a room, 3 meals , coupons for massage & use of facilities. Excellent service with a surprisingly good command of English. Advertised as 5 star - facilities clean and tidy but beginning to age a bit. Buffet meals were very nice with good variety of Asian and Western food. Rooms comfortable - beds firm ( normal for China) no complimentary shampoos etc though. Pool was very nice though on the 2nd day was closed due to apparent thunderstorms - difficult to understand as the morning was perfectly fine. To get to this hotel from the ferry terminal turn right directly as you come out and walk through past he Police station - much quicker than walking around road to main entrance.

Room Tip: water view rooms look like they'd be lovely - we had hillside - ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    119
    44
    11
    3
See reviews for
3
6
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The reception is all great, and the checkin was easy and no issues. The room are large, but they are getting dated now with old carpet, and a lack of management on the "non smoking" issue, so the hallways and passages all smell of stale smoke from the rooms. Luckily I did not have a smelly room.

The bathrooms are really horible. They are looking every bit the age, with mould sowing in the grout and silicone.

Ther free LAN interent is good, and had no issues with speeds. The breakfast is totally overrated, and should be avoided. The rate charged is too high, for a very basic selection. If the dim sum is cheap and poorly presented.

The location is good for the ferry and some area for business, but it is a LONG way from the train station, so give your self at least an hour if onward by bullet trains.

Room Tip: Take no breakfast package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpatBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The location is perfect, it is near Shekou ferry terminal 2-3 minutes to walk. The hotel is quite old. I have travelled with my wife. We book thru hotel web site special offer, which includes breakfast or lunch, foot massage, afternoon tea and free transfer to boarder and to window of the world. There is a high speed internet in the room thru ethernet. Internet is free of charge. We have two rooms and big balcone. There is a tea and coffee in the room. There is a guy in the hotel which speak english perfect, he is always near the portie. He can help you with transport, some basic translation to Chinese. Some girl on reception understand english. Other staff do not speak english. There is swimming pool. We have stayed in october and every evening at 9pm we went swim. The weather was perfect. The currency exchange in reception. The rate is good enought. All ATMs accept Visa cards some there is not a problem to withdraw money.

We advised do not use public transport if you don't have name of the station (place) written on the paper in Chinese. If you take a Taxi be prepared that price will be 3X time bigger than usual, prepare some written words in Chinese. Do not go to factory distinct alone - is is not safety.

Please be advised that nobody speak english in shenzhen. if you want to go somewhere to eat - prepare name of dish in Chinese. There is a menu on english in sea world, but price is 3X time bigger than anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The rooms are getting old (stained carpets) and the amenities are a bit on the short end for a hotel that wants to be "high end." Compared to an American hotel, the rooms would be 2-stars or 3-stars. The bathroom doesn't have separate soap and shampoo. There's a dispenser attached to the wall of the bathtub that serves a generic soap for everything (hair and body). It's perfectly OK, but when you pay for a 4-star hotel, you feel like something is missing. The beds are a bit hard (Chinese-style), but that wasn't a problem for us. We had our two young children with us, and that went fine. The breakfast is very nice. The lobby is quite beautiful, the service is fine, and the location is good if you want to be close to the water. Free internet (via Ethernet cable). Otherwise, there are other better locations in Shenzhen for fun and commerce. The short story: overpriced, otherwise OK.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCal-Traveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Earlier I have stayed at Nan Hai twice, and I was very pleased both times. Have written a review about last year's stay, where I praised the hotel as one of my favorites. Sadly, one year after I was there last, the standard had declined significantly! I arrived at the hotel, and had booked a deluxe sea view room. Well inside, the carpet looked really worn, and the bathroom porcelain was chipped and looked very discouraging. Bed was comfortable as usual (very hard), and laundry service was quick and fine.

My room was very noisy, and one night (11.30 PM) the room above was playing really loud music. I phoned Front Desk to ask them to do something about it, and they said that the music may be coming from the lobby. I asked what time they stopped playing music, and the man on the other end quickly said he would check, and then put the phone down. Five minutes later, he phoned back, and told me that they turned it of at 10 PM. I asked if he really thought that it was the lobby's music I was hearing, and he agreed on that it most likely was not. So he sent someone up to my room to listen for where the sound came from. Ten minutes later, a girl knocked on the door. I opened, and she stood there, waving her arms, trying to gesticulate. The bright guy at Front Desk had sent someone that spoke no English what so ever. Clever! I phoned him back, asked him if he thought it was appropriate to send someone that spoke no English, and he agreed it was not. Ten minutes passed, he phoned back, and I was so tired of all that mess that I told him the music had stopped, just so I could at least have some peace and quiet in my own room. It was getting very late and I had an early business appointment the following day. Went up one flight of stairs, to ask the person to keep quiet. Never found the room though, as ventilation was too noisy in the corridor to be able to hear anything from inside the rooms.

When I arrived for breakfast, I was informed that breakfast was not included in my room fee. Never before has this happened, as all bookings I have previously made have included breakfast. This was something they never even mentioned at my arrival. Well, I had to eat, so I billed it to my room. What a mistake that was! Breakfast here used to be so good, but this time it was really poor. Selection was pretty wide, but instead of the broad Western selection, breakfast consisted of mainly Chinese hot dishes and white bread with jam. Do not misunderstand, I'm not complaining about Chinese dishes in China, I'm just annoyed they took away so much of the Western alternatives. Restaurant staff had no sense of when to offer tea or take away a plate, they consistently chose to do it while I had something in my mouth.

I do not know if I will be staying at Nan Hai again. It feels like they are in need of a long overdue renovation, and also some English courses for their employees.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zojx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shekou
Shekou Haitao Hotel
Shekou Haitao Hotel
#162 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#6 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Shekou
Cruise Inn
Cruise Inn
#51 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shekou
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
#28 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Shekou
Honlux Apartment
Honlux Apartment
#41 of 2,769 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nan Hai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nan Hai Hotel

Property: Nan Hai Hotel
Address: No.1 Gongye 1st Road , Shekou Nanhai Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518067, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shekou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#97 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Hotel Class:4 star — Nan Hai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nan Hai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nan Hai
Nan Hai Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing