We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Um... well, kitsch but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #34 of 2,755 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Um... well, kitsch but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was in the hotel for a three day conference as keynote speaker, so I had the best room in the place - a suite overlooking the city.

It was all VERY nice, lots like an American international hotel all a bit "done"... and curiously decorated. The pillars are wrapped with gold lame cloth, the door staff are dressed as Gondoliers (poor sods) and there are two faux mechanical gondolas outside the main entrance surrounded by coy carp... you get the idea.

Apart from the "Venice-as-designed-by-someone-who-has-never-bee-to-Venice" theme park aspect of the place it was fine. Hugely overstaffed (five people came to replace the batteries in my TV remote!), really quick room service (although I thought the laundry was VERY expensive). Food was fine and with several options, and there's a high-end mall literally over the street which also has good restaurants on the upper floors.

If someone else is paying, or you're on business, this is fine. And if you're a traveller who doesn't like travelling then you will be pleasantly reassured by the familiar international blandness of it all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    385
    63
    16
    5
See reviews for
13
12
28
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed in Venice Hotel for a week in the middle of November, 2013. I find this hotel very nice with veeeery good location. I'm not a big fan of Chinese food that's why I lost 7 pounds in two weeks during my trip to China. I was surviving with normal food I could eat in the restaurant which was serving breakfasts just beside the lobby. Room was good it had everything I needed. "Window of the World" is just across the street. I spent a whole day there. Hotel staff is very friendly. I recommend this hotel and will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitaly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a normal stop for me while staying in Shenzhen. This hotel is very conveniently located, which is why I keep coming back. I have reviewed this hotel in the past after it changed ownership from the Crowne Plaza to the Venice Hotel. Since the ownership change, there had been a lot of decline in quality at this hotel. Fortunately I think the owners are realizing this and starting to invest. I learned recently that now the 12th and 13th floors have been updated with new decoration. So this means new carpet, new furniture, new wall decor. Fixtures and other things still stay the same. They have also down some upgrades in the cafe Zentro over time. I got to know one of the staff there name Hin, who was very helpful in getting anything you need or special request. So please ask for him if you need something, he is happy and willing to help. There is still a lot do upgrade at the hotel, but I'm glad they are seeing this need and addressing it before it is too late.

Room Tip: If you want something with new decor, choose 12th or 13th floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
365 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had stayed at the Venice hotel 3 years earlier when we first arrived in Shenzhen. We wanted to stay here again as we ended our 3 year China adventure. Kind-of like closing the chapter... Our arrival was classic: taxi dropped us off and we entered the lobby for checkin where we were greeted pleasantly. The next minute, Patrick (now Quality Manager), dashed around the counter to give us a personal hug and welcome back! How SPECIAL! And he also upgraded us so we enjoy our stay even more.,

In 3 years, many things have changed and many have remained the same. Many of the people we knew are now gone, but many young new staff are working hard to make the Venice a special place to stay. English skills are still quite good and service overall was excellent.

The room renovations are an excellent upgrade: rooms are spacious, 'rich" colors, thick rugs, new wall paper, upgraded baths -- all great. LOVE the balcony. Our room over looked Window of the Worlds so we were treated to fireworks a couple of nights.

The outdoor pool is just outstanding. Several events happening around the pool, but not intrusive. My husband enjoyed the attached V-bar for live entertainment and late night fun.

The location is great:
- Holiday Plaza right next door for shopping, restaurants, and Ole grocery
- Window of the World metro stop at Holiday Plaza
- Across from Window of the Worlds on one side & Happy Valley on the other.
- Splendid China right down the road.

New additions:
- Nightly turndown service. We LOVED it. Great little "refresh" for the room
- Bikes for loan are available to tour the area. We did not have time this trip, but will try if we get back! Portafino area is lovely for walking and jogging. I bet the bikes would be good there.

Only area for improvement: service and quality of food on the club floor was not great. Staff was pleasant -- just very slow, forgetful and rather clueless. Seems to be a training issue. Patrick joined us for a drink one night and immediately noticed. I am sure that is now being addressed most proactively.

All in all a GREAT stay. Fun to see all the improvements from our previous long term stay. I am sure the Venice will continue to do well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Window of the Worlds on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spend little over a month in this hotel. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast is worth having. It's close proximity to the metro rail is excellent. Also it's walkable distance to the window of the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, within walking distance to Happy Valley and Windows of the World. The hotel amenities including their breakfast buffet and the very large pool are excellent. Rooms were very spacious, many with large balconies. Bathrooms are clean and beds are extremely comfortable. the hotel staff are most attentive and very friendly. great hotel for families. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby was a treat, and the Air Conditioning worked fabulously in the hot summer heat of mainland China.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. It was the size of a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeFlacco_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I brought my entire China team to the Venice Hotel in August for three nights. As a director, I was upgraded to a suite, which gave me fantastic views over 'Windows of the World'. It also gave me access to a private breakfast and free happy hour (which seemed to be ignored by the other guests).
The breakfast had a wide selection, although attracting the wait staff at times involved generous exertion at times. The dinner at Blue was excellent, although miscommunication between their sales department and restaurant floor staff meant resulted in a couple of minor hiccups.
Slight problems aside, this is an ideal hotel for team building, given it's access to Shenzhen's attractions, large swimming pool and lively bar.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite with a view of the Window's of the World if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
#15 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Seaview O City Hotel
Seaview O City Hotel
#37 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#4 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Overseas Chinese Town
Hong Bo Hotel
Hong Bo Hotel
#662 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia
Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia
#160 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Yafeng Hotel (Huaqiao City)
Yafeng Hotel (Huaqiao City)
#916 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen

Property: The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen
Address: No.9026 Shennan Road, Overseas City, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#27 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#51 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Venetian charm and business success at the Venice Hotel ShenzhenLocated in the southwest of Shenzhen city, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen is within 5 minutes walk from the famous theme parks and shopping malls – Window of the World, Splendid China, Happy Valley, China Folk Culture Village, and Yitian Plaza. Moreover, we are just just 10 minutes drive from Futian Centre and the Hi-Tech Zone, 15 minutes drive from Shekou Harbour Passenger Terminal and Shenzhen Bay Port, and 20 minutes drive from Luohu Port and Shenzhen International Airport.Being the first international Venetian style hotel in China, The Venice Hotel Shenzhen represents a unique and distinctive Venetian theme. The hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and suites; eight function rooms and a 685 square meter pillar-less ballroom; seven restaurants and bars including the award-winning Blue Italian Seafood & Grill Restaurant and V Bar, the coolest venue in town for evening entertainment and live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Venice Raytour Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing