We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key word is Bargain”

Dong Men Pedestrian Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$780.49*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Shenzhen from Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 124 Shopping in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dong men pedestrian street is an area which consist of a lot of shops and mini stalls where you can find whatever you want ranging from souvenirs, clothes, bags and hand made curtains... All are sold at a very cheap price and in good quality. plenty of food stalls, hawker stalls and restaurant as well as fast food restaurant available and it is very near the lao jie metro station. It is the best place to shop if you are interested in shopping.
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Key word is Bargain”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

During the my trip I paid many visits to this street... interesting..you can always find new shopantiquesmarket. . Good for budgeted shopping .. the key word is bargain. .the shop owners are all friendly and wants to sell the goods as much higher as they can... nothing there called "fix price"..
Hints:
-be careful from pick pockets. .although I got this warning from my local friends but I didn't -either my friends-faced any incidents. . But it's better to be careful.
-don't under estimate small stairs or corridors. .it may show you a big market of cloths , antiques.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Duler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    148
    68
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be really careful”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

There are many traps in Dong Men so ignore strangers which try to talk to you. Beware of pick pockets, avoid dark or dim lighted restrooms and small tiny food stores. There are lost of fashion stores but make sure you bargain. People there can be very rude.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank littlechiichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
726 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Join the throng - shop and bargain”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just around the corner from my hotel, my local friend took me there on May 1st - very busy - lots of inexpensive clothes and nick knacks. Tee shirts on sale from 10RMB (about $1.70 Aud) - just be comfortable that the quality reflects the price you pay.
There are many food options along the street - we had a great selection for lunch from a basement food hall - left well satisfied after walking amongst the throng.
The only caution is to take care of your belongings - be aware that pickpockets can be active.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Budget shopping paradise”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

It was a Sunday and sky was overcast with intermittent light drizzle. But it didn't stop people coming here for bargain goods like apparel, bags, shoes and everything imaginable (plastic surgery!). If you don't mind the ambiguous brand, this place is made for you!

You can buy single item as well as in bulk, like the electronic goods offered in Saige.

Despite such big crowd, rarely you see unruly behavior.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ljsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good place to shop and make curtains”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is easy to travel from HK to Shenzhen. Simply take the HK mtr to Lo Wo Station and cross the border into Shenzhen. After clearing immigration checks both sides and you'll get into Shenzhen Metro to Laojie Station (Metro entrance is just outside the immigration check point). You will be right there in Dongmen Shopping District in about 45 minutes. That is the place where shoppers will go crazy.

You will find anything that you need there, from electronic to clothing. Nearly everything that you need even things like curtain. My group of six had a good time there shopping for clothing and shoes.

I made curtain there. There are many curtain makers that offer quick services. They can normally turn around within 24 hours for your orders. Just give them the measurement and select the materials, pay up and return the next day to collect your order. The curtain makers group themselves in two buildings to the East of the district after the main road junction. Worth the try.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Yapahloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Men Pedestrian Street also viewed

 

Been to Dong Men Pedestrian Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing