We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Music! Service and the food only fair (and expensive)”

Champs Bar & Grill Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #99 of 4,140 Restaurants in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Luohu Port
Description: Champs Bar and Grill is a typical American neighbourhood sports bar and restaurant, and provides great quality comfort food and a grand selection of local and imported beers, selected wines, oversized cocktails and so on. A special Happy Hour is also available at night.Champs Bar and Grill not only provides genuine and high-quality food, but also value and a friendly, casual service while you sit back and catch the latest game on our big screen. The theme of the outlet evolves around popular sports.The Champs interior revolves around popular sports like basketball, football, tennis, golf and, to a lesser extent, baseball and American football. Old time favourites, oldies and international pop are played as background music. There is also a pool and billiard table, and a dart board.
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
365 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“GREAT Music! Service and the food only fair (and expensive)”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The good:
- The music is really good: lots of tunes we knew and had us tapping our feet and singing along.
- Initial service when we came in: Server was very attentive, pleasant and very enthusiastic (and very PROUD if what she considered really good Western favorites!)
- Layout: nice combination of booths, tables, and seating at the bar. Good lighting. Decor is classic typical Western bar,,,
- Fish and Chips was really good! Steaming hot with just the right level of "crispy".

The not so good:
- The place was pretty empty. And we went by a couple nights before we decided to give it a try, Clearly not a "happen' place".
- Wine: good but expensive.

The Ugly:
-- Combo platter appetizers: Pretty bad overall. It was not "real Western pub food" -- but it was also just not very good <period>.
-- Cheeseburger -- yuck. And expensive, 'nuff said
-- Service: After the food was delivered, the server disappeared and it was hard to get anybody's attention.

All in all, not memorable and lots room for improvement.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Bar in Shenzhen”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting this bar for 17 years, I can highly recommend the service which is great and the staff can speak English.
I found Grace, the manageress, to be very warm and welcoming.
Gary

Helpful?
Thank GDadlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, General Manager at Champs Bar & Grill Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear GDadlani,

Thank you for your review of our Champs Bar & Grill. We appreciate your great support as always and your high esteem of our friendly and accommodating staff. We warmly welcome you to experience our restaurant again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

George Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“When you need a break from Chinese food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Champs Bar and Grill provides really good American food in an atmosphere that almost would make you think you were back in the States (sorry, soccer and other European sports just don't cut it for me, but they do for others). The food is cooked very well although the prices are on the steep side. For me, the grilled salmon or the Champs burger are what I need. My wife likes the Fajitas and the salads are excellent.

The waitstaff and management of Champs are professional, friendly and attentive. There is a smoking area just inside the front door on the far side of the bar, but the non-smoking area is smoke free and nice.

Since we live in the city and have found that real good Western food is as rare as real good Chinese food in the USA, we go to Champs about once a month to relax and let someone else do the cooking. Champs is easy to get to by bus (1, 82, 102 or any bus going to the train station) or Metro. Just take the underpass and come out at the front of the hotel.

The only bad thing is that Champs is not open for lunch. Other than that go get a burger and a beer away from expats and tourists.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Champs Bar & Grill Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Greg R,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing your experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience with your family at our Champs Bar & Grill with food, atmosphere and service. I trust we will be able to welcome you beck again to our restaurant.

Warmest regards,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice Atmosphere for a Bar , Lovely Food and my daughter loved the Pork Ribs :) Staff were very helpful and attentative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Champs Bar & Grill Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Paul V,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your great feedback to our Champs Bar & Grill. I noticed you’ve reviewed our hotel page on TripAdvisor and we indeed appreciate your valuable comments and praise. I am very pleased your daughter enjoyed our Pork Ribs. Looking forward to your return with your family soon.

Sincerely,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“A ghost bar!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been here on four occasions and at all times it was on a weekend night. I have never seen more than half a dozen people in here, even when the band is playing on a Saturday night. It is a shame because the staff at Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen are always so friendly and accommodating. Maybe this is just the nightlife in Shenzhen? Champs is a quiet bar, with great cocktails and a pool table for entertainment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank choobsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdewar, General Manager at Champs Bar & Grill Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear choobsta,

Thank you for your review of our Camps Bar & Grill. We are appreciate with your great support as always and your high esteem of our friendly and accommodating staff. Warmly welcome you to experience our restaurant again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champs Bar & Grill Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen also viewed

 

Been to Champs Bar & Grill Shangri-La Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing