We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
Ranked #32 of 2,812 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice room”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed in a studio room, it was so nice, I loved the design and the bathroom! It has a modern feel, just as the whole place. Located uphill a 15 minutes walk from the metro station, I can't say location is so great but reasonable. In the same area with the metro there is a bar street, I went to a nice tapas bar with live band music, it was so cool!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arashicchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
16
4
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

When I reached the hotel lobby, I like the luxury and zen touch to the overall ambiance. The lobby looks spacious and inviting. I also like the lotus-design seats at the lobby, although they look more comfortable the looks.

During my check in, the hotel staff gave me a free upgrade, which came as a pleasant surprise. When I reached my room, I like the overall design. The room was spacious, comfortable, homely with a luxury touch to it. Also, I like the balcony. What I really love most was the rain shower bathroom with L'occitane bathroom amenities. The sky window design added a nice, romantic touch as there was moon light at night.

What I feel can be improved:
1. The swimming pool seems to be operated by an external vendor, and there were kids learning to swim. The decor and feel of the gym and swimming pool appear to be different from Ascott residences.
2. The quality of the breakfast needs to improve. I was making my way to the cakes when I noticed flies swarming on top of them. Having said that, the price was good.

Overall, the stay was very pleasing and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I went to the hotel to celebrate our anniversary. It was not the first time we stayed at the hotel/ serviced apartment of this group. The overall experience is great. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. At the same price, we enjoyed larger space compared with the other hotels. The environment is unexpectedly good. The most inspired thing was that, when the staff knew it was our anniversary, they prepared us a bottle of wine and a card with greetings signed by hotel staff. We think it is so sweet.
I am sure that I will stay at this property again and when we plan for our trips in future, this group will be one of our top choices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I enjoyed a 2 week stay here in October-November 2013.
I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment since their 1 bedroom apartments was sold out. I really enjoyed the apartment and the accommodations.

My only negative remarks would have to be that a lot of work was being done on the property which was a bit noisy and I was missing water a couple of days - at daytime.
AND - the breakfast. It was not of a western standard and quality. Example: The bacon was not real bacon.
However, I really did enjoy my stay here. Actually planning on booking a months stay here within the next week or so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, Athens
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one night. Upon arrival and check-in I went to the room that was a total mess! No sheets on the beds, towels thrown everywhere etc. I called the reception, told them the room was a mess and after 5 mins they brought me the key to another room that was prepared and ready ! Not happy about it, especially after a long trip.
Room was good. Free wi-fi was totally hopeless, however with the Lan cable provided at the room there was descent internet.
I visited the gym that was ok, there was an indoor pool also beside that I did not use. Smell of chlorine was far too strong.
Buffet breakfast was poor.
Hotel is close to the seaworld area with plenty of bars and restaurants and some more new and modern hotels nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerDok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that this incident left you with a negative impression. I wish to extend to you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We acknowledge the discomfort you have experienced in the apartments due to the cleaning standard and I had personally addressed this error with the Housekeeping Department.

I hope that you will reconsider staying with us or any of our other serviced residence, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Book for 3 days for this hotel and they upgrade me to 1 bed room apartment. The Apartment is more than I expected, its clean with a calming color pallet.
Its a nice and quiet surrounding, but also walking distance to sea world where there's a lot of shops and eateries and 5 minutes to Shekou ferry terminal.
The Staff is very friendly and helpful, they can help you to book a ferry ticket from Shekou to Hongkong Airport.
The only thing that I feel need to upgrade is their breakfast, not many choices and no variations in 3 days I stay there.
But over all, its very recommended to stay here if you visiting Shenzhen and definitely I will come back to this hotel if I am visiting Shenzen again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I have shared your compliments with my colleagues. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is located not too far from the metro station 'Haishangshijie'. Actually there are several similar hotels around that place, where I find that Ascott is nearly the newest-opened hotel among them. The most amazing thing is the bathtub in the room and the balcony with the view of mount and sea(which wasn't mentioned when I made the booking). But there also are some tiny problems. The breakfast cost too much while it may not worth that price. And I didn't see any 'service' but still be charged 'service fee'.
Generally speaking, Ascott is a really nice place to stay and it does meet my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTsuiCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis T, General Manager at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing Ascott Maillen Shenzhen as your accommodation during your holiday in Shenzhen. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#8 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
714 reviews
Shekou
Cruise Inn
Cruise Inn
#47 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
100 reviews
Wyndham Grand Shenzhen
#20 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shekou
Shekou Haitao Hotel
Shekou Haitao Hotel
#184 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
32 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#16 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
288 reviews
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#39 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Maillen Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Maillen Shenzhen

Property: Ascott Maillen Shenzhen
Address: No.3 Yanshan Road, Shenzhen 518067, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shekou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 2,812 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Maillen Shenzhen 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascott Maillen Shenzhen is a collection of ten blocks of luxury serviced residences and well-appointed boutique hotel rooms. Designed for international executives and their families, each private apartment is spacious with sophisticated and refined decor. The residence is located in the heart of Shekou's commercial district and offers access to the Maillen Club facilities and restaurants. Also easily accessible are the vast entertainment and commercial venues in the surrounding area like Sea World, New Times Square and Finance Centre. Take the subway from Sea World subway station to downtown Shenzhen or throughout the city and then hop over to Hong Kong using either the Shekou Ferry, or the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Western Corridor, a bridge which links Shenzhen to Hong Kong.Once home, relax in the sauna and take a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool. A welcome alternative to a hotel, the residence provides the opportunity to explore and discover the intricacies of Shenzhen and Hong Kong while indulging in a complete lifestyle experience at Ascott Maillen Shenzhen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Maillen Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing